2010-06-30 / Entertainment

Coming events

This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

In Whitesburg

THE FELICE BROTHERS with DAWN LANDES & THE HOUNDS; Mon., July 12 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

DALLAS ALICE; Sat., July 3 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

STOLL VAUGHAN; Wed., July 7 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

MIC HARRISON & THE HIGH SCORE; Sat., July 10 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633- 2715.

TIM LEE 3; Sat., July 24 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

SONS OF BILL; Fri., July 16 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

EDGEHILL AVENUE; Sat., Aug. 14 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

AUTOMATA; Sat., Aug. 21 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

Elsewhere

SMASHING PUMPKINS; Fri., July 23 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

HALESTORM; Wed., July 7 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-522- 2820.

DARK STAR ORCHESTRA; Thu., Sept. 9 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

FOREIGNER; Sat., Aug. 21 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino Resort and Spa (777 Belterra Dr.). www.ticketmaster.com

TED NUGENT; Tue., July 27 in Prestonsburg at Mountain Arts Center (50 Hal Rogers Pkwy.). www. macarts.com

LITTLE FEAT; Thu., Sept. 23 in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859-233- 3535.

JOAN BAEZ; Tue., July 20 in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859-233-3535.

THE BLACK KEYS with THE WHIGS; Tue., Sept. 14 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

BUILT TO SPILL; Sun., Aug. 8 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

B.B. KING; Sun., July 4 at Horseshoe Casino (across Ohio River from Louisville) in Elizabeth, Ind. 1-888-ROMAN-4-U.

BUDDY GUY with JONNY LANG; Sat., Oct. 9 ; Sun., July 4 at Horseshoe Casino (across Ohio River from Louisville) in Elizabeth, Ind. 1-888-ROMAN-4-U.

CHUBBY CHECKER; Tue., Sept. 28 in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859-233- 3535.

AL GREEN; Sat., Oct. 30 in Danville, Ky., at Centre College’s Norton Center for the Arts. 1-859-236-4692.

OF MONTREAL; Mon., Aug. 2 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

COHEED & CAMBRIA; Sat., Aug. 21 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800-745-3000.

DARK STAR ORCHESTRA; Fri., Sept. 10 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800-745-3000.

BLACK CROWES; Wed., Sept. 15 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865- 656-4444.

TOMMY EMMANUEL; Fri., Oct. 8 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865- 656-4444.

BACKSTREET BOYS; Sat., Aug. 28 in Cincinnati in PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. THE SMASHING PUMPKINS, THE FLAMING LIPS, WIDESPREAD PANIC, SPOON, DEVO, CAKE, SHE & HIM, DRIVE-BY TRUCKERS, UMPHREY’S MCGEE, MODERN ENGLISH, LUCERO and many more; Fri., July 9 through Mon., July 12 in Louisville at Waterfront Park (300 E. River Rd.) for the Forecastle Festival. 1-800-745-3000 or www. forecastlefest.com

PETER FRAMPTON; Fri., Aug. 6 in Louisville at Brown Theatre. 1-502-584-7777.

JUSTIN BIEBER; Wed., Nov. 10 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745-3000.

THE EAGLES; Sat., Oct. 16 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745-3000.

AEROSMITH with SAMMY HAGAR & THE WABOS; Thu., Sept. 2 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

STONE TEMPLE PILOTS; Wed., Aug. 25 in Cincinnati in PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

THE BEACH BOYS; Sat., July 31 in Rising Sun, Ind., at Grand Victoria Casino (600 Grand Victoria Dr.). 1-800-GRAND-11.

KISS; Fri., July 30 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

SHERYL CROW; Wed., Aug. 18 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865- 656-4444.

X Fest 2010 featuring Shinedown, Chevelle, Puddle of Mudd, Sevendust, and 10 Years; Fri., July 23 in Knoxville, Tenn., at Knoxville Civic Coliseum. 1-877-995-9961.

NATALIE MERCHANT; Tue., Aug. 31 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-656-4444.

GOV’T MULE; Fri., July 23 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park on the Ohio River. 1-304- 696-5990.

DARK STAR ORCHESTRA; Tue., Aug. 3 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park on the Ohio River. 1-304-696-5990.

THE SPINNERS; Fri., Aug. 13 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park on the Ohio River. 1-304-696-5990.

CROSBY, STILL & NASH; Sat., Sept. 11 in Louisville at Louisville Palace (625 Fourth St.). 1-502-583- 4555, ext. 221.

WIDESPREAD PANIC (three evenings); Mon.-Wed., July 26-28 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865- 656-4444.

SANTANA with STEVE WINWOOD; Tue., July 6 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

AMERICAN IDOL LIVE; Fri., Sept. 3 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

COWBOY JUNKIES; Fri., July 22 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

GUY CLARK & JESSE WINCHESTER; Thu., July 15 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

COWBOY JUNKIES; Sat., July 23 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

CROSBY, STILLS & NASH; Mon., Sept. 20 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-656-4444.

BROKEN SOCIAL SCENE; Thu., Sept. 9 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

HANSON; Fri., July 30 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

JONAS BROTHERS; Tue., Aug. 10 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220.

ERIC CLAPTON with ROGER DALTREY; Wed., June 30 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

CREED; Fri., Aug. 13 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

THIRD DAY; Fri., Dec. 3 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800-745-3000.

SHINEDOWN; Mon., Aug. 9 in Pikeville at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1-606-444- 5500.

MERCYME; Tue., Aug. 24 at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606- 324-3175.

RINGO STARR & HIS ALL STARR BAND; Fri., July 9 in Cincinnati in PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

CREED; Fri., Aug. 13 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

THREE DOG NIGHT; Fri., July 23 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

MODEST MOUSE; Sun., July 18 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-522- 2820.

BILLY IDOL; Fri., Sept. 3 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

ROCKSTAR MAYHEM FESTIVAL featuring KORN, ROB ZOMBIE AND OTHERS; Wed., July 21 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

REO SPEEDWAGON with PAT BENATAR; Thu., Aug. 19 in Cincinnati in PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

JOHN MAYER; Tue., July 27 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220.

VANS WARPED TOUR; Wed., July 28 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

KINGS OF LEON; Sat., Sept. 4 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220.

STING with the Royal philharmonic Concert Orchestra; Tue., July 20 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

CHICAGO & THE DOOBIE BROTHERS; Tue., July 13 in Cincinnati in PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

HUEY LEWIS AND THE NEWS; Sun., July 25 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

TOM PETTY & THE HEARTBREAKERS; Thu., July 15 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

WEIRD AL YANKOVIC; Fri., July 2 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

HULLABALOU MUSIC FESTIVAL featuring 65 classic rock, country, adult contemporary, rock and bluegrass music bands; July 23-25 in Louisville at Churchill Downs Racetrack (700 Central Ave.). 1-502-636-4400.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

DARYLE SINGLETARY; Sat., Aug. 21 in Whitesburg at River Park for River Days.

EARL THOMAS CONLEY; Sat., Aug. 28 in Jenkins at Jenkins City Park for Homecoming Days.

CONFEDERATE RAILROAD; Mon., Sept. 6 in Whitesburg at River Park for City of Whitesburg Labor Day Celebration.

BLUE HIGHWAY; Thu., Sept. 9 in Whitesburg at Appalshop Theater for WMMT’s Bluegrass Express Live. 633-0108.

RALPH STANLEY & THE CLINCH MTN. BOYS; Sat., Aug. 14 in Wise, Fa., at Wise County Fairgrounds for Nathan Stanley’s Bluegrass Festival.

RICKY SKAGGS; Sat., Sept. 11 in downtown Louisa, Ky., for Louisa Septemberfest.

JAKE OWEN; Sat., Sept. 18 in downtown Hazard for Black Gold Festival.

KENTUCKY HEADHUNTERS with CONFEDERATE RAILROAD; Sat., Oct. 2 in Jackson, Ky., at Breathitt Heritage Fairgrounds for Breathitt Heritage Fair.

GEORGE STRAIT with REBA McENTIRE and LEE ANN WOMACK; Fri., Sept. 10 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233-3535.

COLT FORD; Sat., July 31 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park on the Ohio River. 1-304-696- 5990.

KENNY ROGERS; Thu., Oct. 7 in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859-233- 3535.

CHARLIE DANIELS BAND; Fri., Oct. 8 in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859- 233-3535.

TRACE ADKINS; Fri., July 16 ; Sun., July 4 at Horseshoe Casino (across Ohio River from Louisville) in Elizabeth, Ind. 1-888-ROMAN-4-U.

RASCAL FLATTS; Fri., Aug. 6 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220.

SUGARLAND; Sat., Aug. 14 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). Ticket sales begin Fri., July 9. 1-513-232-6220.

TOBY KEITH with TRACE ADKINS; Fri., Aug. 27 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). Ticket sales begin Sat., July 31. 1-513-232-6220.

LADY ANTEBELLUM; Fri., Oct. 8 in Louisville at Louisville Palace (625 Fourth St.). 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221.

TIM McGRAW; Sat., Aug. 21 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

TRAVIS TRITT; Thu., Aug. 12 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park on the Ohio River. 1-304-696-5990.

SUGARLAND; Thu., Aug. 19 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

TANYA TUCKER; Sat., July 24 at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606-324-3175.

PAM TILLIS & LORRIE MORGAN; Sat., Aug. 28 at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606-324-3175.

WYNONNA; Fri., Sept. 24 at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606- 324-3175.

MARY CHAPIN CARPENTER; Wed., July 21 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

SUGARLAND; Thu., Sept. 16 in Huntington, W.Va., at Big Sandy Superstore Arena (1 Civic Center Plaza). 1-304-696-4400.

RASCAL FLATTS; Sun., Aug. 29 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

BLAKE SHELTON; Thu., Aug. 19 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

SUGARLAND; Thu., Aug. 12 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800- 745-3000.

BROOKS & DUNN ‘The Last Rodeo’ tour; Sun., July 18 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

HULLABALOU MUSIC FESTIVAL featuring 65 classic rock, country, adult contemporary, rock and bluegrass music bands; July 23- 25 in Louisville at Churchill Downs Racetrack (700 Central Ave.). 1-502- 636-4400.

STAGE & COMEDY

JOHN LITHGOW; Tue., Oct. 5 in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859-233- 3535.

JERSEY BOYS; Wed., July 28 thru Sun., Aug. 15 in Louisville at Kentucky Center for the Arts (Whitney Hall). 1-502-584-7777.

GARRISON KEILLOR; Thu., Aug. 12 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

SINBAD; Thu., Aug. 5 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC.

MOWCOW BALLET; Thu., Dec. 2 in Charleston, W.Va., at Charleston Municipal Auditorium (200 Civic Center Drive). 1-304-345-7469.

OTHER

ADVANCE AUTO MONSTER JAM 2010; Sat., July 10 in Cincinnati at Paul Brown Stadium. 1-513-621-8383.

WWE RAW WORLD TOUR; Sun., July 11 in Huntington, W.Va., at Big Sandy Superstore Arena (1 Civic Center Plaza). 1-304-696-4400.

Return to top