Whitesburg KY
Mostly sunny
Mostly sunny

12 now seeking 3 mayoral seats

A total of 12 candidates met this week’s filing deadline to run for the three mayoral seats in the Letcher County towns of Fleming-Neon, Jenkins and Whitesburg.

The deadline for candidates to file to have their names on the ballot in the November General Election in city, school board, and other local government races was Tuesday.

In Fleming-Neon, Mayor Susan Polis is being opposed by Joe Brown and Gwen Johnson.

In Jenkins, incumbent G.C. Kincer will face challenges from former town council member Terry Braddock, Letcher County Economic Development Director Joe DePriest, City Manager Todd DePriest, Stevie Joe Litts (brother of late council member Carol Ann Litts), and former Letcher County deputy jailer John Wyatt.

In Whitesburg, incumbent James W. Craft, a Whitesburg attorney, is being challenged by Letcher County Central High School band director Jason Griffith and Whitesburg dentist David Narramore.

Six incumbent members of the Whitesburg City Council also filed for re-election. They are Jimmy Bates, Larry Everidge, Tom Sexton, Shelia Shortt, Robin Watko and Earlene Williams. Earlene Williams was appointed to the council to finish the term of her late husband, John Williams. Other candidates for the Whitesburg council are Derek Barto, Eddie Bentley, John Cunniff, Mike Enfusse and Cody Sexton.

Six current members of the Jenkins City Council have also filed for another term of office. Robert Adams, Rebecca Terrell Amburgey, Chuck Anderson, Richard Damron, Roy Triplett and Kyle Walker all submitted their paperwork to Letcher County Clerk Winston Meade. Other candidates for the Jenkins council are Linda Baldwin, Christopher Bentley, Mikey Dingus, Toni Jenkins, Willie Stanley and Kim Webb.

Five incumbents — Jeff Breeding, Linda Cantrell, James D. Collins, Tom Haynes and Trey Quillen — make up the complete list of candidates who have filed for Fleming-Neon City Council.

In other local government races, Brian Johnson and Lena Parsons are running for the District One seat on the Letcher County Board of Education. Erica Scott is the only candidate for the board’s District Five seat.

Long-time school board members Terry Cornett and Sam Quillen Jr. did not file for re-election.

Candidates for seats on the Jenkins Independent Board of Education are incumbents Brenda DePriest, wife of mayoral candidate Joe DePriest, current board chairman Durward Narramore and Eileen Sanders. Also running are Sara Brown and Rodney Rose.

Incumbents Randy Bailey, Ronald Brunty and Tom Dollarhide have filed to run for another term on the Letcher County Soil Conservation District Board.

The drawing for ballot positions will be held at 2 p.m. on August 14 in the Letcher County Clerk’s Offi ce.

Leave a Reply