Whitesburg KY

63 are running for local offices in May primary

Sixty-three candidates have filed to run for county offices in the May primary election. The filing deadline for partisan races was Tuesday.

Incumbent Letcher County Judge/Executive Jim Ward has no opponent in the primary, but will face Republican opposition in the fall. Incumbent County Attorney Jamie Hatton, a Democrat, has no opponent in primary or general elections. County Surveyor Richard Hall is the only other incumbent running unopposed in both elections.

In races for state offices, incumbent 94th District State Representative Angie Hatton has filed for a second two-year term. She also is running unopposed in both the primary and general elections.

Candidates will draw for ballot positions for the May 22 primary on Thursday. All county offices are up for election this year.

Candidates will also face off in state and federal races this year, with races ranging from state Court of Appeals to U.S. Representative. Those candidates filed with the Secretary of State’s office in Frankfort.

Candidates for local offices are:

County Judge/Executive: Jim Ward (D) (i), Terry Adams (R), Mica Johnston (R)

County Clerk: Winston Meade (D) (i), Patty Wood (D), Hatler Kiser (R)

County Attorney: Jamie Hatton (D) (i)

Jailer: Luther Tackett (D), Kenny Anderson (D), Bert Slone (D), Jeffery L. Mullins (D), William Gibson (D)

Sheriff: Shawn “Mickey” Stines (D), Carlus Eugene Slone (D), D.L. Hammonds (R), Roland Craft (D)

Circuit Clerk: Larry Adams (D) (i, appointed for unfinished term), Mike Watts (D), Janet Ratliff (R)

Property Valuation Administrator: Rick Rose (D), Richard G. Brown (R) (i, appointed for unfinished term), Randy Blair (D)

Commonwealth’s Attorney, 47th Judicial District: Edison G. Banks II (R) (i), Ellis Keyes (D)

District Judge, 47th Judicial District: Kevin Russell Mullins (i)

Coroner: Renee Campbell (D) (i), Clifford Wade Fields (D)

County Surveyor: Richard Hall (D)

Magistrate District 1: Bobby Howard (D) (i), Jack Banks (R), Benjamin Fields (D)

Magistrate District 2: Michael Hall (D), Sherry Sexton (D), Therman Begley Jr. (D), Don McCall (D), Curtis King (D), Roger Nease (R), Brad Collie (R), Jessica Brown (R)

Magistrate District 3: Emory “Fudge” Mullins (D), Codell Gibson (D), Woody Holbrook (D) (i), Maverick Cook (R), Dallas Adams (R)

Magistrate District 4: William “Cheddy” Smith (D), Robert Howard (R), Roger Back (D), Kenny Whitehead (R), Melody Coots (D), Junior Banks (D), Houston Meade (D)

Magistrate District 5: Bennie McCall (D), Steve Addington (D)

Constable District 1: Roger Eldridge (D), Chris Caudill (R) (i)

Constable District 2: Robert Collins (R), Austin Blaine Johnson (R), Brian Collins (D), John Amburgey (D) (i)

Constable District 3: Jesse Bates (D)

Constable District 4: Harvey B. Campbell (D) (i), Terry Perkins (D)

Constable District 5: John Wyatt (D)

Candidates for state and federal offices not already listed are:

U.S. Representative in Congress, 5th District: Kenneth S. Stepp, Manchester, (D); Scott Sykes, Elkhorn City, (D); Harold “Hal” Rogers, Somerset, (R) (i); Gerardo Serrano, Tyner, (R).

Judge, Court of Appeals, 7th District, Division 2: David Allen Barber, Morehead; Donald Howard Combs, Pikeville; Kevin P. Sinnette, Ashland; Gene Smallwood Jr., Whitesburg, (i, appointed for unfinished term); Larry E. Thompson, Pikeville; Jim G. Vanover, Prestonsburg; Marcia L. Wireman, Jackson.

Leave a Reply