Whitesburg KY
Mostly clear
Mostly clear
69°F
 

Coming events




This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

In Whitesburg

WINTERPILLS; Fri., March 27 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

X-PLICIT; Sat., March 28 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

PETE KARTSOUNES; Thu., April 9 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

KEVIN ABERNATHY; Sat., April 11 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

HALFWAY TO HAZARD; Rescheduled until October from April 30. 633- 2715.

TIM EASTON (with full band) and FOLK SOUL REVIVAL; Sat., May 2 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

RAGING RIVER BAND; Sat., May 9 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

LAUDERDALE with ABRAHAM; Fri., May 15 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

CHRIS JANSON; Sat., May 16 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

CARLA GOVER; Thu., May 21 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

DON DOKKEN; Sat., Oct. 17 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

Elsewhere

JONAS BROTHERS; Sun., Aug. 23 at 7 p.m. in Lexington at Rupp Arena. Ticket sales begin Sat., March 28 at 10 a.m. 1-859-233-3535.

JAKE & ELWOOD; Tue., June 23 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 4 at 9 a.m. 1-937-296-3300.

JOE COCKER; Tue., June 30 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 4 at 9 a.m. 1-937-296-3300.

DIANA KRALL; Tue., July 7 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 11 at 9 a.m. 1-937-296-3300.

BEACH BOYS; Wed., July 8 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 4 at 9 a.m. 1-937-296-3300.

STEVE MILLER BAND; Tue., July 21 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 11 at 9 a.m. 1-937-296-3300.

BILLY SQUIER with BLUE OYSTER CULT; Fri., July 31 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 18 at 9 a.m. 1-937-296-3300.

GEORGE THOROGOOD & THE DESTROYERS with JOHNNY LANG; Thu., Aug. 6 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 25 at 9 a.m. 1-937- 296-3300.

LOGGINS & MESSINA; Fri., Sept. 4 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 18 at 9 a.m. 1-937-296-3300.

KID ROCK with LYNYRD SKYNYRD; Wed., July 22 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). Ticket sales begin Fri., May 20 at 10 a.m. 1-513-232-6220.

AMOS LEE; Sat., May 2 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

OPETH; Fri., May 22 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

LEON REDBONE; Sat., May 30 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

X; Wed., June 10 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). Ticket sales begin Fri., March 27. 1-865- 522-0832.

X; Thu., June 11 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

COLDPLAY; Thu., June 4 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). Ticket sales begin Fri., May 20 at 10 a.m. 1-513-232-6220.

AVENGED SEVENFOLD & BUCKCHERRY; Sat., March 28 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828-251- 5505.

HEART; Fri., June 12 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1- 888-766-2648.

STEVE MILLER BAND; Fri., Aug. 7 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1-888-766-2648.

DENGUE FEVER; Sun., April 19 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

ALL THAT REMAINS; Tue., April 21 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

DINOSAUR JR.; Sun., April 26 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

DAVE MATTHEWS BAND; Tue., June 16 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

THE FRAY; Mon., June 29 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513- 232-6220.

DEF LEPPARD with POISON and CHEAP TRICK; Wed., July 15 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513- 232-6220.

CRUE FEST 2 featuring Motley Crue, Buckcherry, Papa Road, Sixx:A.M. and Trapt; Fri., Aug. 14 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

NICKELBACK; Wed., Aug. 19 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

TODD RUNDGREN; Wed., April 8 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater. 1- 859-491-2444.

THE CORDURORY ROAD; Fri., March 27 in Wise, Va., at the Steelwater Coffee Bar (Main Street). 1-276-328- 6040.

DRIVE-BY TRUCKERS; Thu., March 26 in Lexington at The Dame (367 East Main St.). 1-859-231-7263.

JUNIOR BROWN; Sat., March 28 in Lexington at The Dame (367 East Main St.). 1-859-231-7263.

PERPETUAL GROOVE; Tue., April 21 in Lexington at The Dame (367 East Main St.). 1-859-231-7263.

REV. HORTON HEAT; Sun., May 3 in Lexington at The Dame (367 East Main St.). 1-859-231-7263.

SAME AS IT EVER WAS (Talking Heads tribute); Sat., May 23 in Lexington at The Dame (367 East Main St.). 1- 859-231-7263.

BAND OF HORSES; Tue., June 16 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

AVENGED SEVENFOLD with BUCKCHERRY and PAPA ROACH; Thu., March 26 in Johnson City, Tenn., at Freedom Hall Civic Center (1320 Pactolas Road). 1-423-461-4884.

COREY SMITH; Fri., March 27 in Johnson City, Tenn., at Freedom Hall Civic Center (1320 Pactolas Road). 1- 423-461-4884.

AS I LAY DYING; Mon., May 4 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-656-4444.

GWAR; Sun., May 17 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-656-4444.

JARS OF CLAY; Fri., May 15 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

NORTH MISSISSIPPI ALL STARS; Thu., April 2 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865- 522-0832.

WILCO; Sat., April 18 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-684-1200.

BUDDY GUY; Fri., May 1 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-684-1200.

BONNIE PRINCE BILLY; Tue., May 26 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

WILCO; Tue., April 21 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828-251-5505.

SUSAN TEDESCHI; Thu., April 16 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

MOGWAI; Thu., April 23 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

311; Mon.-Tue., May 4-5 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

ERIC CLAPTON & STEVE WINWOOD; Mon., June 15 in Columbus, Ohio at the Schottenstein Center (555 Borror Drive). 1-614-292-2624.

TODD RUNDGREN; Tue., April 7 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Road). 1-502-584-8088.

THE FELICE BROTHERS; Fri., April 24 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Road). 1-502-584-8088.

LUCERO; Sat., April 25 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Road). 1-502-584-8088.

JASON MRAZ; Sun., April 26 in Lexington at the University of Kentucky Student Center. 1-859-257-8427.

EDGAR WINTER BAND; Sat., May 30 in Prestonsburg, Ky., at Mountain Arts Center (50 Hal Rogers Drive). 1- 606-889-9125.

THE JIMMIE VAN ZANT BAND; Fri., Sept. 4 in Prestonsburg, Ky., at Mountain Arts Center (50 Hal Rogers Drive). 1-606-889-9125.

DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE with COLD WAR KIDS and RA RA RIOT; Fri., April 10 in Louisville at the Louisville Palace (625 Fourth Ave.). 1-502- 583-4555 ext. 221.

THE TEMPTATIONS; Wed., April 15 in Louisville at W.L. Lyons Brown Theatre (315 W. Broadway). 1-502-562- 0191.

RAY LaMONTAGNE with JESSICA LEA MAYFIELD; Sat., April 25 in Louisville at W.L. Lyons Brown Theatre (315 W. Broadway). 1-502-562-0191.

NEWFOUND GLORY; Mon., April 20 in Cincinnati at Bogart’s (2621 Vine St.). 1-513-562-4949.

ROBIN TROWER; Sat., June 13 in Cincinnati at Bogart’s (2621 Vine St.). 1- 513-562-4949.

HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Wed., March 25 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater. 1-859-491-2444.

OF MONTREAL; Thu., April 24 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater. 1- 859-491-2444.

BONNAROO MUSIC & ARTS FESTIVAL 2009 featuring Bruce Springsteen & the E. Street Band, Phish, Beastie Boys, Nine Inch Nails, Wilco, Merle Haggard, Al Green, David Byrne, Animal Collective, Lucinda Williams, Mars Volta and many others; June 11-14 in Manchester, Tenn. www.bonnarootickets.com.

KINGS OF LEON; Tue., May 12 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

BRET MICHAELS; Thu., March 26 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1-888-766-2648.

BRET MICHAELS; Fri., March 27 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-656-4444.

COREY SMITH; Thu., April 2 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-656-4444.

JIMMY BUFFET; Thu., Aug. 6 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

AVENGED SEVENFOLD with BUCKCHERRY and PAPA ROACH; Fri., March 27 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233-3535.

RAY LaMONTAGNE; Fri., April 24 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828- 251-5505.

PHISH; Wed., June 10 in Knoxville, Tenn., at Thompson-Boling Arena. 1- 865-656-4444 or phish.com.

BRIAN JONESTOWN MASSACRE; Wed., April 8 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828- 299-9532.

PHISH; Tue., June 9 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828-251-5505 or phish.com.

BONNIE RAITT; rescheduled to Tue., Oct. 13 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828-251-5505.

BONNIE RAITT; rescheduled to Wed., Oct. 14 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865- 684-1200.

KATHLEEN EDWARDS; Fri., Oct. 14 in Knoxville, Tenn., at The Square Room (4 Market Square). 1-865-544-4199 or www.ticketweb.com

JOHN PRINE; Sat., March 28 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828- 251-5505.

UMPHREY’S McGEE; Thu., April 16 in Cincinnati at Taft Theatre (317 E. 5th Street). 1-513-721-8883.

KREATOR; Fri., May 15 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

In Whitesburg

RICH AND THE PO’ FOLK; Thu., March 26 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

JOHN COWAN BAND; Thu., May 7 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

Elsewhere

VINCE GILL; Fri., May 22 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1- 888-766-2648.

WILLIE NELSON; Sat., June 6 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1-888-766-2648.

KELLY CLARKSON; Thu., Aug. 20 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

JOHN COWAN BAND; Thu., May 7 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

DR. RALPH STANLEY’S 39th Annual Memorial Bluegrass Festival; May 21-23 in Coeburn, Va., at Hills of Home Park.

SUGARLAND; Fri., May 22 in Johnson City, Tenn., at Freedom Hall Civic Center (1320 Pactolas Road). 1- 423-461-4884.

PAT GREEN; Wed., April 22 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-656-4444.

ALAN JACKSON; Sat., April 18 in Pikeville at the Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main Street). 1-606-444- 5500.

JOSH TURNER; Thu. April 23 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1-888-766-2648.

GEORGE STRAIT with JULIANNE HOUGH and BLAKE SHELTON; Fri., May 22 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

BRAD PAISLEY with DIERKS BENTLEY and JIMMY WAYNE; Fri., June 19 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

KENNY CHESNEY with MONTGOMERY GENTRY, SUGARLAND, MIRANDA LAMBERT and LADY ANTEBELLUM; Sat., May 30 in Louisville at Papa John’s Stadium. 1-502-361- 3100.

KEITH URBAN with TAYLOR

SWIFT; Fri., June 5 in Cincinnati at U.S. Bank Arena (100 Broadway). 1-513-421- 4111.

RALPH STANLEY & THE CLINCH MOUNTAIN BOYS; Fri., April 3 in Prestonsburg at Mountain Arts Center (50 Hal Rogers Drive). 1- 606-889-9125.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC.

YANNI; Sat., June 6 in Cincinnati at U.S. Bank Arena (100 Broadway). 1-513- 421-4111.

STAGE & COMEDY

PRARIE HOME COMPANION; Fri., June 12 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). Ticket sales begin Mon., April 20. 1-513-232- 6220.

LOUIS CK; Sat., April 4 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

DOUG STANHOPE; Sat., Aug. 15 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

LARRY THE CABLE GUY; Fri., April 24 in Corbin, Ky. at The Arena at Southeastern Kentucky Agricultural and Expo Center. www.ticketmaster.com

RODNEY CARRINGTON; Fri., April 24 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859- 233-3535.

LILY TOMLIN; Thu., April 2 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-684-1200.

JEFF DUNHAM; Sat., May 16 in Huntington, W.Va., at Big Sandy Superstore Arena (1 Civic Center Plaza). 1-304-696-4400.

OTHER

HARLEM GLOBETROTTERS; Sun., April 19 at 2 p.m. in Corbin, Ky. at The Arena at Southeastern Kentucky Agricultural and Expo Center. www.ticketmaster.com

RINGLING BROS. and BARNUM & BAILEY: Boom a Ring; Thu.-Sun., April 2-4 in Corbin, Ky. at The Arena at Southeastern Kentucky Agricultural and Expo Center. www.ticketmaster.com


Leave a Reply