Whitesburg KY
Showers
Showers
61°F
 

Coming events



LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN THE ONLY SONS; Sat., April 23 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715. ROSE HILL DRIVE; Fri., April 29 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715. THE CUR DOGS; Sat., April 30 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715. KEVIN ABERNATHY BAND; Sat., May 7 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715. BENT SENSES; Sat., May 21 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715. MALCOM HALCOMBE; Thu., May 26 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. CHRIS JANSON; Fri., May 27 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715. WOODY PINES & THE LONESOME TWO; Sat., June 11 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN SLEIGH BELLS; Wed., May 4 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. DANZIG; Wed., May 11 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. CRACKER & CAMPER VAN BEETHOVEN; Thu., May 12 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. PAUL THORN; Fri., May 13 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. BETWEEN THE BURIED AND ME; Sat., May 14 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. BRETT DENNEN; Sun., May 15 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. DEFTONES; Thu., May 19 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. HACKENSAW BOYS; Fri., May 20 in Asheville, N.C., at the Grey Eagle (185 Clingman Ave.). 1-828-232-5800. LITTLE FEAT; Tue., May 24 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. MUMFORD & SONS; Tue., June 7 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium (87 Haywood St.). 1-800- 745-3000. ADELE; Sat., June 18 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium (87 Haywood St.). 1-800-745-3000. DRIVE-BY TRUCKERS; Fri.-Sat., June 24-25 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. PSYCHEDELIC FURS; Fri., July 8 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. ELVIS COSTELLO; Tue., July 19 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800-745- 3000.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. RYAN BINGHAM & THE DEAD HORSES; Mon., June 6 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. IRIS DEMENT; Sun., July 17 in Asheville, N.C., at the Grey Eagle (185 Clingman Ave.). 1-828-232-5800.

STAGE & COMEDY BILL MAHER; Fri., April 22 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium (87 Haywood St.). 1-800- 745-3000.

ASHLAND, Ky.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. MARTY STUART; Sat., April 30 in Ashland, Ky., at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606-324-3175. DARIUS RUCKER; Thu., June 16 at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606-324-3175. MERLE HAGGARD; Sun., July 31 at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606-324-3175.

BRISTOL, TENN.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. RALPH STANLEY & THE CLINCH MTN. BOYS; Sun., June 19 in Bristol, Tenn., at Paramount Center for the Arts (518 State St.). 1-423-274-8920.

STAGE & COMEDY BUDDY VALASTRO: CAKE BOSS; Thu., Dec. 1 in Bristol, Tenn., at Viking Hall. 1-423-764-0188.

CHARLESTON, W.VA. ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN JACKSON BROWNE; Sun., May 8 in Charleston, W.Va., at the Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences (One Clay Square). 1-304-561-3570. JAMES TAYLOR; Fri., May 13 in Charleston, W.Va., at Charleston Municipal Auditorium. (200 Civic Center Drive). 1-304-345-7469. SUGARLAND; Thu., June 16 in Charleston, W.Va., at Charleston Civic Center. (200 Civic Center Drive). 1-304-345-7469.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. STEVE MARTIN with STEEP CANYON RANGERS; Fri., May 20 in Charleston, W.Va., at the Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences (One Clay Square). 1-304-561-3570.

CINCINNATI/ NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN CROSBY & NASH; Tue., April 26 in Cincinnati at Taft Theatre (317 East 5th St.). 1-513-721-8883. THE NEW PORNOGRAPHERS with THE WALKMEN; Tue., April 26 in Cincinnati at Bogart’s (2621 Vine St.). 1-513-872-8801. NEIL YOUNG with BERT JANSCH; Tue., May 3 in Cincinnati in the Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall (650 Walnut St.). 1-513-621-2787. SOCIAL DISTORTION; Sun., May

8 in Cincinnati at Bogart’s (2621 Vine St.). 1-513-872-8801. SEETHER; Tue., May 10 in Cincinnati at Bogart’s (2621 Vine St.). 1-513- 872-8801. INSANE CLOWN POSSE; Sat., May 14 in Cincinnati at Bogart’s (2621 Vine St.). 1-513-872-8801. ELVIS COSTELLO & THE IMPSTERS; Mon., May 16 in Cincinnati at Taft Theatre (317 East 5th St.). 1-513- 721-8883. THE TWILIGHT SINGERS; Mon., May 16 in Newport, Ky., at the Historic Southgate House (24 E. Third St.). 1-859-431-2202. JASON ISBELL & THE 400 UNIT; Tue., May 24 in Newport, Ky., at the Historic Southgate House (24 E. Third St.). 1-859-431-2202. NEON TREES; Thu., May 26 in Cincinnati at Bogart’s (2621 Vine St.). 1-513-872-8801. JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE; Sun., May 29 in Newport, Ky., at the Historic Southgate House (24 E. Third St.). 1-859-431-2202. PHISH; Sun., June 5 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. RAY LaMONTAGNE & THE PARIAH DOGS with BRANDI CARLILE; Sun., June 12 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. THE BEACH BOYS; Sun., June 12 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. URIAH HEEP; Fri., June 17 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. EARTH, WIND & FIRE; Mon., June 20 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. STEVE MILLER BAND; Thu., June 23 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. MOTLEY CRUE and POISON with THE NEW YORK DOLLS; Sun., June 26 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220. K.D. LANG; Wed., June 29 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. KC & THE SUNSHINE BAND; Fri., July 1 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. DEF LEPPARD; Thu., July 7 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. BRIAN CULBERTSON; Thu., July 7 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. 311 with SUBLIME and ROME; Sat., July 16 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. STEELY DAN; Tue., July 19 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. .38 SPECIAL; Sat., July 30 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. VANS WARPED TOUR; Tue., Aug. 2 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220. JOURNEY with FOREIGNER and NIGHTRANGER; Wed., Aug. 3 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220. THE TURTLES with THE ASSOCIATION, THE GRASS ROOTS, MARK LINDSAY and THE BUCKINGHAMS; Thu., Aug. 4 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. BRUCE HORNSBY with BELA FLECK & THE FLECKTONES; Sat., Aug. 6 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. HIPPIEFEST 2011 FEATURING DAVE MASON (formerly of Traffic), MARK FARNER (formerly of Grand Funk Railroad), GARY WRIGHT, RECK DERRINGER and FELIX CAVALIERE’S RASCALS; Sat., Aug. 20 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. JIMMY BUFFET & THE CORAL REEFER BAND; Tue., Aug. 23 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. CHICAGO; Fri., Aug. 26 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. PETER FRAMPTON; Sun., Aug. 28 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. DOOBIE BROTHERS; Tue., Aug. 30 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. LYNYRD SKYNYRD; Fri. Sept. 2 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. JASON ALDEAN with ERIC CHURCH and JaneDear GIRLS; Fri., May 20 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. KELLIE PICKLER; Fri., May 27 in Florence, Ind., near Cincinnati, at Belterra Casino Resort (777 Belterra Dr.). 1-812-427-7777. BRAD PAISLEY with BLAKE SHELTON and JARROD NIEMANN; Thu., June 16 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. KENNY CHESNEY with BILLY CURRINGTON and UNCLE KRACKER; Thu., June 30 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. TRACE ADKINS; Sat., July 16 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. TIM MCGRAW with LUKE BRYAN and THE BAND PERRY; Sun., July 31 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6925 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220. MOUNTAIN HEART; Tue., Aug. 9 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300.

KEITH URBAN with JAKE OWEN; Thu., Aug. 11 in Cincinnati at U.S. Bank Arena. 1-513-421-4111. WILLIE NELSON & FAMILY; Thu., Aug. 11 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC. DAVID SANBORN, GEORGE DUKE & MARCUS MILLER; Fri., June 24 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.). 1-937-296-3300. JOSH GROBAN; Fri., July 15 in Cincinnati at U.S. Bank Arena. 1-513- 421-4111.

STAGE & COMEDY SESAME STREET LIVE: ELMO’S GREEN THUMB; Sat.-Sun., April 30- May 1 in Highland Heights, Ky., near Cincinnati at Bank of Kentucky Center. 1-859-442-2652. BOB NEWHART; Sat., May 14 in Florence, Ind., near Cincinnati, at Belterra Casino Resort (777 Belterra Dr.). 1-812-427-7777.

COEBURN, VA.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. DR. RALPH STANLEY’S 41ST MEMORIAL WEEKEND BLUEGRASS FESTIVAL featuring DAILEY & VINCENT, BLUE HIGHWAY, RALPH STANLEY & THE CLINCH MTN. BOYS and others; Fri.-Sun., May 27-29 at Hills of Home Park between Coeburn and McClure, Va. 1-423-357-1623.

JOHNSON CITY, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN B.J. THOMAS & BILLY JOE ROYAL; Sat., June 4 in Johnson City, Tenn., at Freedom Hall Civic Center (1320 Pactolas Rd.). All tickets, $25. Show benefits the Tri-Cities Firefighters Associations. 1-423-282-1257.

KNOXVILLE, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN AMOS LEE; Mon., April 25 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-656-4444. TOM JONES; Thu., April 28 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-656-4444. GODSMACK; Thu., May 5 in Knoxville, Tenn., at Knoxville Auditorium (500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave.). 1-865- 656-4444. JACKSON BROWNE; Mon., May 9 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-656-4444. JAMES TAYLOR; Mon., May 23 in Knoxville, Tenn., at Knoxville Auditorium (500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave.).

1-865-656-4444. LITTLE FEAT; Wed., May 25 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832. THE BLACK LILLIES with TIFT MERRITT; Sat., May 28 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. STEVE MARTIN with THE STEEP CANYON RANGERS; Tue., May 24 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-656-4444. WILLIE NELSON’S COUNTRY THROWDOWN TOUR 2011 featuring Jamey Johnson, Randy Houser, Brantley Gilbert, Craig Campbell, Lee Brice, and Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real; Sun., June 19 in Knoxville, Tenn., at World’s Fair Park. 1-865-656-4444.

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN SEETHER; Wed., April 20 in Lexington at Buster’s (899 Manchester St.). 1-859-368-8871. HINDER with RED; Sun., May 8 in Lexington at Buster’s (899 Manchester St.). 1-859-368-8871.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. KENNY CHESNEY with BILLY CURRINGTON and UNCLE KRACKER; Sat., May 14 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233-3535. TAYLOR SWIFT; Sat., Oct. 29 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233-3535.

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN LOW; Fri., April 22 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Rd.). 1-502-484-8088. SOUTHERN CULTURE ON THE SKIDS; Sat., April 23 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Rd.). 1-502-484-8088. JEFF BECK; Tue., April 26 in Louisville at Louisville Palace (625 Fourth St.). 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221. ALICE COOPER; Thu., May 12 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Dr. SE). 1-888-ROMAN-4-U. BRETT DENNON with DAWES; Wed., June 1 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Rd.). 1-502-484-8088. MICHAEL BUBLÉ; Sat., June 4 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745-3000. NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK & BACKSTREET BOYS; Wed., July 20 in

Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745-3000. STEELY DAN; Wed., Aug. 17 in Louisville at Louisville Palace (625 Fourth St.). 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221. MAROON 5 with TRAIN; Sun., Aug. 28 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). Ticket sales begin Fri., April 15. 1-800-231-8085. KATY PERRY; Sat., Sept. 10 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). Ticket sales begin Fri., April 22. 1-800-745-3000.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. ALLISON KRAUSS & UNION STATION FEATURING JERRY DOUGLAS; Sun., June 4 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745- 3000. TAYLOR SWIFT; Sat., July 2 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745-3000.

STAGE & COMEDY JEFF FOXWORTHY with BILL ENGVALL and LARRY THE CABLE GUY; Sat., April 23 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800- 745-3000. MARTIN LAWRENCE; Sat., May 21 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745-3000. CIRQUE DU SOLEIL: ALEGRIA; Thu., June 9 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745- 3000.

PIKEVILLE, Ky.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN NEWSBOYS; Sat., April 23 in Pikeville at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1-606-444-5500.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. TIM McGRAW with LUKE BRYAN and THE BAND PERRY; Tue., May 10 in Pikeville at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1-606- 444-5500.

PRESTONSBURG, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. BLUE MOON MOUNTAIN BLUEGRASS FESTIVAL featuring RICKY SKAGGS, J.D. CROWE, JOE DIFFIE and many others; July 27-31 in Prestonsburg at Prestonsburg Equine Center at Stone Crest. 1-877- 435-9849.

WISE, VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN B.J. THOMAS; Sat., May 7 in Wise, Va., at Tavern On Main. 1-276-328-2208.



Leave a Reply