Whitesburg KY
Sunny
Sunny
82°F
 

Coming events



About this guide

This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN VELVET TRUCKSTOP with REAGAN BOGGS & THE COAL MEN; Fri., Sept. 23 in Whitesburg at Summit City. THE STEEPWATER BAND; Sat., Sept. 24 in Whitesburg at Summit City. THICK AS BLOOD with LEGEND; Wed., Sept. 28 in Whitesburg at Letcher County Tourism Building at 7 p.m. NO BRAGGING RIGHT with THIS WORLD WILL FALL; Fri., Oct. 7 in Whitesburg at Letcher County Tourism Building at 7 p.m. LAUDERDALE; Fri., Oct. 7 in Whitesburg at Summit City. MARK KNIGHT & THE GREAT SOUTHERN; Sat., Nov. 19 in Whitesburg at Summit City.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. FOGHORN TRIO; Thu., Sept. 15 in Whitesburg at Summit City. BLUE HIGHWAY; Thu., Nov. 17 in Whitesburg at Appalshop Theater for Bluegrass Express Live. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN MELISSA FERRICK; Wed., Sept. 21 at the Grey Eagle. MEAT PUPPETS; Thu., Sept. 22 at the Grey Eagle. THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS; Wed., Sept. 28 at The Orange Peel. EXPLOSIONS IN THE SKY; Fri., Sept. 30 at The Orange Peel. BRUCE COCKBURN; Sat., Oct. 1 at The Orange Peel. FLEET FOXES; Tue., Oct. 4 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. EDDIE MONEY; Fri., Oct. 7 at Biltmore Estate. ADELE; Tue., Oct. 11 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. DAWES with BLITZEN TRAPPER; Fri., Oct. 21 at The Orange Peel. THE JAYHAWKS; Tue., Oct. 25 at The Orange Peel. UNKNOWN HINSON; Fri., Oct. 28 at the Grey Eagle. TRUTH & SALVAGE CO.; Sat., Oct. 29 at the Grey Eagle. CHRIS KNIGHT; Wed., Nov. 2 at the Grey Eagle. REVEREND HORTON HEAT with SUPERSUCKERS; Wed., Nov. 2 at The Orange Peel. SEBADOH; Tue., Nov. 8 at the Grey Eagle. TAD LEO & THE PHARMACISTS; Thu., Nov. 10 at the Grey Eagle. CHRIS HILLMAN & HERB PEDERSON; Sat., Nov. 12 at the Grey Eagle. JOHN HIATT & THE COMBO; Wed., Nov. 16 at The Orange Peel. moe.; Thu., Nov. 17 at The Orange Peel. JORMA KAUKONEN (of Hot Tuna); Fri., Nov. 18 at the Grey Eagle. SAM ROBERTS BAND with ZEUS; Tue., Nov. 29 at the Grey Eagle.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. THE BLIND BOYS OF ALABAMA with JIM LAUDERDALE; Fri., Oct. 7 at The Orange Peel. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232-5800; Asheville Civic Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745- 3000; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800)

ASHLAND, Ky./ HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN CARNIVAL OF MADNESS tour featuring Theory of a Deadman, Alter Bridge, Black Stone Cherry, Adelitas Way and Emphatic; Sun., Sept. 11 at Harris Riverfront Park. Ticketmaster.com. THE MONKEES; Fri., Sept. 2 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. REBA McENTIRE; Sat., Oct. 15 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324- 3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304- 696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington. )

BRISTOL, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN BLUE OYSTER CULT; Sat., Nov. 5 at Viking Hall.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. BRISTOL RHYTHM & ROOTS REUNION featuring Mary Stuart, Jim Lauderdale, Dale Watson, Robert Randolph & The Family Band, The Seldom Scene, The Tony Rice Unit, Blue Highway and others; Fri.-Sun., Sept. 16-18 on State Street in downtown Bristol. 1-423-573-4898. GENE WATSON; Sun., Nov. 20 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

STAGE & COMEDY BUDDY VALASTRO: CAKE BOSS; Thu., Dec. 1 at Viking Hall. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN BRUCE HORNSBY; Fri., Oct. 14 at Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences Z.Z. TOP with LYNYRD SKYNYRD; Sun., Oct. 30 at Charleston Civic Center. CHRIS TOMLIN with LOUIE GIGLIO; Sat., Nov. 5 at Charleston Municipal Auditorium. AIR SUPPLY; Fri., Nov. 18 at Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. JASON ALDEAN with CHRIS YOUNG and THOMPSON SQUARE; Sat., Oct. 1 at Charleston Civic Center.

STAGE & COMEDY WANDA SYKES; Sun., Oct. 2 at

Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/ NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN MARC BROUSSARD; Sat., Sept. 17 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater. JOHN HIATT & THE COMBO with BIG HEAD TODD AND THE MONSTERS; Fri., Oct. 7 at Taft Theater. WIDESPREAD PANIC; Sun., Oct. 16 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. CYNDI LAUPER & DR. JOHN; Sat., Oct. 29 at Taft Theater. SONNY LANDRUTH; Thu., Nov. 10 in Newport, Ky., at the Historic Southgate House.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. ROBERT EARL KEEN; Fri., Sept. 9 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater. TOBY KEITH with ERIC CHURCH; Thu., Sept. 29 at Riverbend Music Center. DARIUS RUCKER; Sat., Oct. 22 at U.S. Bank Arena.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC. AL JARREAU; Sat., Oct. 1 at Taft Theatre.

STAGE & COMEDY DISNEY ON ICE: MICKEY & MINNIE’S MAGICAL JOURNEY; Fri., Oct. 28 at U.S. Bank Arena. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872-8801; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Historic Southgate House, 24 E. Third St., 1-859-431- 2202; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, TENN.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. LUKE BRYAN with LEE BRICE, JOSH THOMPSON and MATT MASON; Thu., Oct. 13 at Freedom Hall Civic Center (1320 Pactolas Rd.). 1-423- 461-4884. LORRIE MORGAN; Sun., Dec. 4 at Freedom Hall Civic Center (1320 Pactolas Rd.). 1-423-461-4884.

KNOXVILLE, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN ATTACK ATTACK!; Mon., Sept. 26 at The Valarium. WIDESPREAD PANIC; Mon.- Wed., Sept. 26-28 at Tennessee Theatre. BONNIE PRINCE BILLIE; Tue., Oct. 4 at the Bijou Theatre. B.B. KING; Fri., Oct. 14 at Tennessee Theatre. BRETT DENNEN; Fri., Oct. 21 at the Bijou Theatre. THE JAYHAWKS; Wed., Oct. 26 at the Bijou Theatre. LOTUS; Mon., Oct. 31 at The Valarium. AMY GRANT with MICHAEL W. SMITH; Sat., Nov. 5 at Tennessee Theatre. PIXIES; Thu., Nov. 10 at Tennessee Theatre. JOHN HIATT & THE COMBO; Tue., Nov. 15 at the Bijou Theatre. moe.; Thu., Nov. 17 at the Bijou Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. ALISON KRAUSS & UNION STATION featuring Jerry Douglas Sat.- Sun., Sept. 24-25 at the Tennessee Theatre. SUGARLAND with SARA BAREILES; Thu., Oct. 16 at Thompson- Boling Arena. TONY RICE & PETER ROWAN; Wed., Oct. 26 at Bijou Theatre. LORETTA LYNN; Thu., Nov. 3 at Tennessee Theatre. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656- 4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656-4444; Thompson-Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877- 995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865-522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865-656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN PSYCHEDELIC FURS with TOM TOM CLUB; Sun., Sept. 25 at Buster’s. 3 DOORS DOWN; Sat., Oct. 1 at Rupp Arena. PETER FRAMPTON; Tue., Oct. 4 at Eastern Kentucky University in Richmond. UNKNOWN HINSON; Fri., Oct. 21 at Cosmic Charlie’s. TRUTH & SALVAGE CO.; Thu., Oct. 27 at Cosmic Charlie’s. AVETT BROTHERS; Thu., Oct. 27 at Rupp Arena. Ticket sales begin Fri., Aug. 26. JUDY COLLINS; Fri., Dec. 2 in Danville, Ky., at Norton Center at Centre College. JIM BRICKMAN; Mon., Dec. 26 at Lexington Opera House.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. WYNONNA; Sat., Sept. 24 at Eastern Kentucky University in Richmond. JOHN MICHAEL MONTGOMERY COUNTRY FESTIVAL featuring John Michael Montgomery, Troy Gentry, Jake Owen, Exile, Colt Ford, George Molton, and others; Fri.-Sat., Sept. 23-24 at Lykins Park in Winchester. 1-859-771-9612. TAYLOR SWIFT; Sat., Oct. 29 at

Rupp Arena. DAILEY & VINCENT; Fri., Nov. 4 in Danville, Ky., at Norton Center at Centre College.

STAGE & COMEDY PETER PAN; Sun., Sept. 25 at Lexington Opera House. YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN; Sat., Nov. 5 at Lexington Opera House. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309-9499; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN RICK SPRINGFIELD; Fri., Sept. 23 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville at Horseshoe Casino. FLEET FOXES; Wed.-Fri., Oct. 5-7 at Louisville Palace. JONNY LANG; Sat., Oct. 8 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville at Horseshoe Casino. PRIMUS; Mon., Oct. 10 at Louisville Palace. B.B. KING; Thu., Oct. 13 at Louisville Palace.

THE JAYHAWKS with JESSICA LEA MAYFIELD; Fri., Oct. 14 in Louisville at Brown Theatre. DAWES with BLITZEN TRAPPER; Thu., Oct. 20 at Headliner’s Music Hall. THE BLACK ANGELS; Fri., Oct. 21 at Headliner’s Music Hall. LOTUS; Wed., Nov. 2 at Headliner’s Music Hall. THE PIXIES with SURFER BLOOD; Wed., Nov. 9 at Louisville Palace. JOHN MELLENCAMP; Sun., Nov. 13 at Louisville Palace. CHICAGO; Wed., Dec. 7 at Louisville Palace. RACHEL YAMAGATA; Sat., Dec. 17 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. JAMEY JOHNSON; Fri., Sept. 16 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville at Horseshoe Casino. BUDDY MILLER with PATTY GRIFFIN; Wed., Oct. 5 at Headliner’s Music Hall. TAYLOR SWIFT; Tue., Oct. 11 at KFC Yum Center. Rescheduled show. AMY GRANT with VINCE GILL;

Thu.., Dec. 15 at Louisville Palace. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231- 8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502-484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN-4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583- 4555, ext. 221)

PIKEVILLE, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. BILLY CURRINGTON with BRANTLEY GILBERT; Fri., Sept. 30 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1-606-444-5500. DARIUS RUCKER; Sun., Oct. 23 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). Ticket sales begin Sat., Oct. 20. 1-606-444-5500. LADY ANTEBELLUM; Sun., Nov. 13 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1-606-444-5500.

STAGE & COMEDY DISNEY ON ICE: 100 YEAR OF MAGIC; Sat., Oct. 15 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.).



Leave a Reply