Whitesburg KY
Clear
Clear
63°F
 

Coming events



LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN MARK KNIGHT; Sat., Nov. 19 in Whitesburg at Summit City. BLACK BOTTOM ROAD; Sat., Dec. 3 at Summit City. FOLK SOUL REVIVAL; Sat., Dec. 10 at Summit City. X-PLICIT; Sat., Jan. 7 at Summit City.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. BLUE HIGHWAY; Thu., Nov. 17 in Whitesburg at Appalshop Theater for Bluegrass Express Live. HALFWAY TO HAZARD; Sat., Nov. 26 in Whitesburg at Summit City. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN JORMA KAUKONEN (of Hot Tuna); Fri., Nov. 18 at the Grey Eagle. THE STRING CHEESE INCIDENT; Fri., Nov. 25 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. MASTADON; Tue., Nov. 29 at The Orange Peel. SAM ROBERTS BAND with ZEUS; Tue., Nov. 29 at the Grey Eagle. DIGITALISM; Wed., Dec. 7 at The Orange Peel. JARS OF CLAY; Sat., Dec. 3 at The Orange Peel. 23rd WARREN HAYNES CHRISTMAS JAM; Sat., Dec. 10 at Asheville Civic Center. www.ticketmaster.com. BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Fri., Dec. 16 at The Orange Peel. HALESTORM; Wed., Dec. 28 at The Orange Peel. BASS CHURCH featuring Mindelixir; Sat., Jan. 14 at The Orange Peel. DONNA THE BUFFALO; Sat., Jan. 21 at The Orange Peel. ANI DiFRANCO; Thu., Feb. 2 at The Orange Peel. RAILROAD EARTH; Fri., Feb. 3 at The Orange Peel. DARK STAR ORCHESTRA; Wed., Feb. 22 at The Orange Peel. LEMONHEADS (perform It’s a Shame About Ray); Sun., March 4 at The Orange Peel. MUTEMATH; Sun., March 11 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. THOSE DARLINS; Sat. Feb. 4 at The Grey Eagle. DON WILLIAMS; Thu., Feb. 16 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232-5800; Asheville Civic Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745- 3000; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800)

ASHLAND, Ky./ HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN MICHAEL McDONALD; Thu., Nov. 17 at Keith-Albee Theatre in Huntington. ALICE COOPER; Sun., Nov. 27 at Keith-Albee Theatre in Huntington. GARY PUCKETT & THE UNION GAP with HERMAN’S HERMITS; Fri., Dec. 2 at Keith-Albee Theatre in Huntington. CHRIS ISAAK; Tue., Dec. 6 at Paramount Arts Center in Ashland. MERCYME; Thu., Dec. 8 at Paramount Arts Center in Ashland.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. GLEN CAMPBELL; Sun., Dec. 11 at Keith-Albee Theatre in Huntington. LADY ANTEBELLUM with DARIUS RUCKER and THOMPSON SQUARE; Fri., Feb. 3 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

STAGE & COMEDY LARRY KING; Thu., March 1 at Keith-Albee Theatre in Huntington. HARLEM GLOBETROTTERS; Wed., March 7 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324- 3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304- 696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656.)

BRISTOL, TENN.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. GENE WATSON; Sun., Nov. 20 at Paramount Center for the Arts. RONNIE MILSAP; Fri., Dec. 16 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

STAGE & COMEDY BUDDY VALASTRO: CAKE BOSS; Thu., Dec. 1 at Viking Hall. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN AIR SUPPLY; Fri., Nov. 18 at Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. RASCAL FLATTS with SARA EVANS; Thu., Jan. 12 in Charleston Civic Center. BLAKE SHELTON; Fri., Feb. 10 in Charleston Civic Center.

STAGE & COMEDY RODNEY CARRINGTON; Fri., Jan. 6 at Charleston Municipal Auditorium. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/ NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN PAUL SIMON; Tue., Nov. 22 in Highland Heights, Ky., at Bank of Kentucky Center. THURSDAY; Thu., Dec. 1 at 20th

Century Theatre. GUNS N’ ROSES; Fri., Dec. 2 at U.S. Bank Arena. PUDDLE OF MUDD; Sat., Dec. 10 at Bogart’s. ALICE COOPER; Mon., Dec. 12 at Taft Theatre. OVER THE RHINE; Sat., Dec. 17 at Taft Theatre. THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA; Sun., Dec. 18 at Bogart’s. TEA LEAF GREEN; Sat., Jan. 21 at 20th Century Theatre. FOREIGNER (acoustic); Fri., Jan. 27 at Taft Theatre. HOT TUNA; Thu., March 15 at 20th Century Theatre. COLIN HAY; Thu., May 17 at 20th Century Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. LEE GREENWOOD; Fri., Dec. 9 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC. TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA; Thu., Dec. 1 at U.S. Bank Arena. RAY CHEN; Fri.-Sat., Dec. 2-3 at Cincinnati Music Hall. CHRIS BOTTI; Sun., Feb. 26 at Cincinnati Music Hall.

STAGE & COMEDY LEWIS BLACK; Fri., Feb. 4 at Taft Theatre. CESAR MILLAN; Sun., Feb. 5 at Taft Theatre. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872- 8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Southgate House, 24 E. Third St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2202; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN ACOUSTIC CHRISTMAS featuring The Fray, Colbie Caillat, Andy Grammer, Matt Nathanson and Breathe Carolina; Sun., Dec. 11 at 6:30 p.m. at Freedom Hall Civic Center (1320 Pactolas Rd.). 1-423-282-1257.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. LORRIE MORGAN; Sun., Dec. 4 at Freedom Hall Civic Center (1320 Pactolas Rd.). 1-423-282-1257.

STAGE & COMEDY SESAME STREET LIVE: 1-2-3 Imagine!; Fri.-Sat.-Sun., Jan. 6-8 at Freedom Hall Civic Center (1320 Pactolas Rd.). 1-423-282-1257.

KNOXVILLE, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN LUCERO; Fri., Dec. 2 at Bijou Theatre. DELBERT McCLINTON; Sat., Dec. 10 at the Bijou Theatre. THE CIVIL WARS; Mon., Dec. 12 at the Bijou Theatre. DONNA THE BUFFALO; Fri., Jan. 20 at the Bijou Theatre. RAILROAD EARTH; Thu., Feb. 2 at the Bijou Theatre. LEMONHEADS (perform It’s a Shame About Ray); Sat., March 3 at the Bijou Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. A SKAGGS FAMILY CHRISTMAS; Fri., Dec. 2 at Tennessee Theatre. LORRIE MORGAN with THE WRIGHT KIDS; Sat., Dec. 3 at Knoxville Civic Coliseum. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865- 656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544-4199; Thompson- Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865-522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865-656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN JUDY COLLINS; Fri., Dec. 2 in Danville, Ky., at Norton Center at Centre College. LUCERO; Sat., Dec. 3 at Buster’s. JIM BRICKMAN; Mon., Dec. 26 at Lexington Opera House. SUPERSUCKERS; Sun., Feb. 12 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. DARELL SCOTT with THE Mc- CRARY SISTERS; Mon., Nov. 21 at Kentucky Theatre. MIRANDA LAMBERT with CHRIS YOUNG and JERROD NIEMANN; Fri., Jan. 20 in Rupp Arena. BRAD PAISLEY with THE BAND PERRY and SCOTTY McCREERY; Sat., March 3 at Rupp Arena. TEMPTATIONS and THE FOUR TOPS; Sat., April 14 at EKU Center for the Arts. ARETHA FRANKLIN; Sat., April 28 at EKU Center for the Arts.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL JANE MONHEIT; Sat., Jan. 28 at EKU Center for the Arts. WINTON MARSALIS & THE JAZZ AT LINCOLN CENTER ORCHEDSTRA; Sat., Feb. 25 at EKU Center for the Arts. CHRIS BOTTI; Thu., March 1 at EKU Center for the Arts.

STAGE & COMEDY JERRY SEINFELD; Wed., Dec. 14 in Richmond at EKU Center for the Arts. 1-859-622-7469. CIRQUE D’OR; Thu., Jan. 19 at EKU

Center for the Arts. GARRISON KEILLOR; Tue., Feb. 14 at EKU Center for the Arts. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231- 7924; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN BOB SEGER; Thu., Nov. 17 at KFC Yum Center. SOCIAL DISTORTION with CHUCK RAGAN and SUEDEHEAD; Fri., Nov. 25 at Expo Five. JASON ISBELL & THE 400 UNIT; Sun., Dec. 4 at Headliner’s Music Hall. 311; Mon., Dec. 5 at Louisville Palace. CHICAGO; Wed., Dec. 7 at Louisville Palace.

CHRIS CORNELL; Thu., Dec. 8 at Brown Theatre. ALL THAT REMAINS with HATEBREED; Thu., Dec. 8 at Expo Five. CHRIS ISAAK; Sun., Dec. 11 at Louisville Palace. RACHEL YAMAGATA; Sat., Dec. 17 at Headliner’s Music Hall. JJ GREY & MOFRO with SHANNON McNALLY; Fri., Jan. 20 at Headliner’s Music Hall. CHILDREN OF BODOM with ELUVELTIE; Fri., Feb. 24 at Expo Five. THE LEMONHEADS; Mon., March 5 at Headliner’s Music Hall. BLUE MAN GROUP; Wed.-Sun., April 11-15 in Louisville at Whitney Hall. ROGER WATERS performs Pink Floyd’s ‘The Wall’; Sun., June 6 at KFC Yum Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. AMY GRANT with VINCE GILL; Thu.., Dec. 15 at Louisville Palace. THE DEL McCOURY BAND; Sat.,

Feb. 25 at Headliner’s Music Hall. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502- 645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502- 484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN- 4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221); Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777.)

PIKEVILLE, KY.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN AVENGED SEVENFOLD; Tue., Nov. 29 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1-606-444-5500.

STAGE & COMEDY SINBAD; Sat., Feb. 4 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center.

About this guide

This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.



Leave a Reply