Whitesburg KY
Mostly clear
Mostly clear
69°F
 

Coming events



LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN CRUZ CONTRERAS (of Black Lillies) and JOSH OLIVER; Fri., Jan. 27 at Summit City. STATIC; Sat., Jan. 28 at Summit City. BONE CHINA (featuring members of Bent Senses and X-Plicit); Sat., Feb. 4 at Summit City. JOHN CORABI (former singer for Motley Crue); Fri., Feb. 10 at Summit City. BROWAN LOLLAR & THE PONIES; Sat., Feb. 18 at Summit City. JASON ISBELL & THE 400 UNIT; Thu., April 12 at Summit City. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN ANTHRAX with TESTAMENT; Mon., Jan. 30 at The Orange Peel. ANI DiFRANCO; Thu., Feb. 2 at The Orange Peel. THE MOUNTAIN GOATS; Thu., Feb. 2 at The Grey Eagle. RAILROAD EARTH; Fri., Feb. 3 at The Orange Peel. PAPER DIAMOND; Sat., Feb. 4 at The Orange Peel. WANDA JACKSON; Thu., Feb. 9 at The Orange Peel. MARC BROUSSARD; Fri., Feb. 10 at The Orange Peel. JAMES McMURTRY; Thu., Feb. 16 at The Grey Eagle. KELLER WILLIAMS; Sat., Feb. 18 at The Orange Peel. DARK STAR ORCHESTRA; Wed., Feb. 22 at The Orange Peel. FLOGGING MOLLY; Tue., Feb. 28 at The Orange Peel. LOTUS; Thu., March 1 at The Orange Peel. LEMONHEADS (perform It’s a Shame About Ray); Sun., March 4 at The Orange Peel. MUTEMATH; Sun., March 11 at The Orange Peel. HENRY ROLLINS BAND; Mon., March 12 at The Orange Peel. MISHKA; Wed., Feb. 15 at The Grey Eagle. THE WOOD BROTHERS; Wed., March 14 at The Orange Peel. MARTIN SEXTON; Fri., March 16 at The Orange Peel. GOMEZ; Sat., March 17 at The Orange Peel. THE GOURDS; Wed., March 21 at The Grey Eagle. THE JOY FORMIDABLE; Sun., March 25 at The Orange Peel. OF MONTREAL; Thu., April 5 at The Orange Peel. THE BUDOS BAND with CHARLES BRADLEY & HIS EXTRAORDINAIRES; Tue., April 10 at The Orange Peel. CONSPIRATOR; Sat., April 21 at The Orange Peel. LUCERO; Fri., April 27 at The Orange Peel. WHITECHAPEL; Fri., May 4 at The Orange Peel. MADELEINE PEYROUX; Mon., May 14 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. DON WILLIAMS; Thu., Feb. 16 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. YONDER MOUNTAIN STRING BAND; Thu.-Fri., Feb. 23-24 at The Orange Peel. JAKE OWEN; Thu., March 22 at The Orange Peel. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232-5800; Asheville Civic Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745- 3000; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800)

ASHLAND, Ky./ HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. LADY ANTEBELLUM with DARIUS RUCKER and THOMPSON SQUARE; Fri., Feb. 3 in Huntington at Big Sandy Superstore Arena. LORETTA LYNN; Sat., Feb. 25 in Ashland at Paramount Arts Center.

STAGE & COMEDY RON WHITE; Sat., Feb. 4 in Huntington at Big Sandy Superstore Arena. LARRY KING; Thu., March 1 at Keith-Albee Theatre in Huntington. HARLEM GLOBETROTTERS; Wed., March 7 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324- 3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304- 696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656.)

BRISTOL, TENN. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN THE OFFICIAL BLUES BROTHERS REVUE; Sat., March 10 at Paramount Center for the Arts. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN FOUNTAINS OF WAYNE, MARC BROUSSARD, BEN LEE, AMANDA SHIRES and GRACE WEBER; Sun., Feb. 12 at Culture Center Theater. Tickets $15 advance. 1-800-549-8499. RICH ROBINSON (of the Black Crowes), COWBOY JUNKIES and PAUL KELLY; Sun., March 4 at Culture Center Theater. Tickets $15 advance. 1-800-549-8499. TEDESCHI TRUCKS BAND; Fri., March 30 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. THE MOODY BLUES; Sun., April 1 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. RICK SPRINGFIELD; Sun., April 15 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. BLAKE SHELTON with JUSTIN MOORE and DIA FRAMPTON; Fri., Feb. 10 in Charleston Civic Center.

PAM TILLIS; Fri.-Sat., March 16-17 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1- 304- 345- 7469; Culture Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1- 304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/ NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN FOREIGNER (acoustic); Fri., Jan. 27 at Taft Theatre. JACK’S MANNEQUIN; Fri., Jan. 27 at Bogart’s. RYAN ADAMS; Sat., Jan. 28 in Taft Theatre. OLD 97’s; Mon., Jan. 30 at 20th Century Theatre. GEORGE CLINTON & PARLIAMENT FUNKADELIC; Fri., Feb. 3 at Bogart’s. ANTHRAX and TESTAMENT; Sat., Feb. 4 at Bogart’s. KANSAS; Sat., Feb. 18 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino. LEO KOTTKE; Fri., Feb. 24 at Southgate House in Newport, Ky. THE KOOKS; Wed., Feb. 29 at Bogart’s. THE BLACK KEYS; Fri., March 2 in U.S. Bank Arena. PUSCIFER; Sat., March 3 at Taft Theatre. DAVE ALVIN; Thu., March 8 at 20th Century Theatre. HOT TUNA; Thu., March 15 at 20th Century Theatre. THE JOY FORMIDABLE; Fri., March 23 at 20th Century Theatre. SNOW PATROL; Wed., April 4 at Bogart’s. LUCERO; Wed., April 11 at Bogart’s. COLIN HAY; Thu., May 17 at 20th Century Theatre. NATALIE MERCHANT; Sat., June 9 at Cincinnati Music Hall. SONNY LANDRETH; Thu., June 14 at 20th Century Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. LORETTA LYNN; Sat., Jan. 28 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino. BLAKE SHELTON with JUSTIN MOORE and DIA FRAMPTON; Thu., Feb. 16 at Bank of Kentucky Center in Highland Heights, Ky. ALISON KRAUSS & UNION STATION featuring Jerry Douglas; Fri., March 30 at Taft Theatre. HUMAN NATURE – THE MOTOWN SHOW; Sun., April 1 at Taft Theatre. MERLE HAGGARD; Fri., April 13 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino. IRIS DEMENT; Sat., April 21 at Southgate House in Newport, Ky. KENNY CHESNEY and TIM Mc- GRAW; Sun., July 1 in Paul Brown Stadium. www.ticketmaster.com

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC. CHRIS BOTTI; Sun., Feb. 26 at Cincinnati Music Hall. YANNI; Wed., May 16 at Aronoff Center for the Arts.

STAGE & COMEDY BILLY ELLIOT THE MUSICAL; Jan. 17 through Jan. 29 at Aranoff center’s Procter and Gamble Hall. WEST SIDE STORY; Feb. 28 through March 11 at Aranoff Center’s Procter and Gamble Hall. THE ADDAMS FAMILY; March 27 through April 8 at Aranoff Center’s Procter and Gamble Hall. LEWIS BLACK; Fri., Feb. 4 at Taft Theatre. CESAR MILLAN; Sun., Feb. 5 at Taft Theatre. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872- 8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Southgate House, 24 E. Third St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2202; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

HAZARD ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN ATLANTA RHYTHM SECTION; Tue., Feb. 14 in The Forum at Hal Rogers Center. 800-246-7521 ext. 73067.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. NITTY GRITTY DIRT BAND; Sat., March 24 in The Forum at Hal Rogers Center. 800-246-7521 ext. 73067.

JOHNSON CITY, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN CASTING CROWNS; Thu., March 8 at 6:30 p.m. at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

OTHER PBR PRO DIVISION BULL RIDING; Fri.-Sat., Feb. 24-25 at Freedom Hall Civic Center. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423- 282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN RAILROAD EARTH; Thu., Feb. 2 at the Bijou Theatre. MARC BROUSSARD; Tue., Feb. 7 at Bijou Theatre. LEMONHEADS (perform It’s a Shame About Ray); Sat., March 3 at the Bijou Theatre. EXPERIENCE HENDRIX featuring Billy Cox, Buddy Guy, Keb Mo, Jonny Lang, Robert Randolph, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Dweezil

Zappa, Brad Whitford, Chris Layton, The Slide Brothers and Mato from Indigenous; Thu., March 8 in Knoxville Coliseum. CHEVELLE; Thu., March 8 at the Valarium. NEON INDIAN; Fri., March 9 at The Square Room. HENRY ROLLINS; Tue., March 13 at Bijou Theatre. THE MOODY BLUES; Mon., March 19 at Tennessee Theatre. FRESH BEAT BAND; Sat., April 14 at Tennessee Theatre. BOB WEIR; Tue., April 24 at Bijou Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. ERIC CHURCH with BRANTLEY GILBERT and SONIA LEIGH; Fri., Feb. 3 at Thompson-Boling Arena. BRAD PAISLEY with THE BAND PERRY and SCOTTY McCREERY; Fri., March 2 at Thompson-Boling Arena. NEEDTOBREATHE; Thu., March 1 at Tennessee Theatre. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865- 656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544-4199; Thompson- Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865-522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865-656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN SUPERSUCKERS; Sun., Feb. 12 at Cosmic Charlie’s. UMPHREY’S McGEE; Wed., Feb. 15 at Buster’s. DRAKE; Wed., Feb. 22 at Rupp Arena. TEMPTATIONS and THE FOUR TOPS; Sat., April 14 at EKU Center for the Arts. ARETHA FRANKLIN; Sat., April 28 at EKU Center for the Arts. YONDER MOUNTAIN STRING BAND; Wed., Feb. 29 at Buster’s. JOE BONAMASSA; Fri., May 11 at Rupp Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. BRAD PAISLEY with THE BAND

PERRY and SCOTTY McCREERY; Sat., March 3 in Rupp Arena. ERIC CHURCH with BRANTLEY GILBERT and BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Fri., Feb. 27 in Rupp Arena.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL JANE MONHEIT; Sat., Jan. 28 at EKU Center for the Arts. WINTON MARSALIS & THE JAZZ AT LINCOLN CENTER ORCHEDSTRA; Sat., Feb. 25 at EKU Center for the Arts. CHRIS BOTTI; Thu., March 1 at EKU Center for the Arts.

STAGE & COMEDY GARRISON KEILLOR; Tue., Feb. 14 at EKU Center for the Arts. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231- 7924; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES RAP, CHRISTIAN KATHLEEN EDWARDS; Fri., Jan. 27 at Headliner’s Music Hall. ANTRHAX with TESTAMENT and DEATH ANGEL; Sun., Jan. 29 at Expo Five. RYAN ADAMS with JASON ISBELL & THE 400 UNIT; Mon., Jan. 30 at Louisville Palace. DRIVE-BY TRUCKERS; Thu., Feb. 9 at Headliner’s Music Hall. ROBERT CRAY BAND; Fri., Feb. 10 at Horseshoe Casino. KEVIN HART; Sat., Feb. 18 at 7:30 and 10:30 p.m. CHILDREN OF BODOM with ELUVELTIE; Fri., Feb. 24 at Expo Five. VAN HALEN; Sat., Feb. 28 at KFC Yum Center. CHILDREN OF BODOM with ELUVELTIE; Fri., Feb. 24 at Expo Five. JIMMY BUFFET; Sat., March 3 at KFC Yum Center. THE LEMONHEADS; Mon., March 5 at Headliner’s Music Hall. THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Sun., March 11 at Louisville Palace. HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Mon., Feb. 13 at Headliner’s Music Hall. DRIVIN’ N’ CRYIN’; Wed., Feb. 15 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

CHARLES BRADLEY; Tue., Feb. 21 at Headliner’s Music Hall. LUCERO; Fri., March 9 at Headliner’s Music Hall. HENRY ROLLINS; Tue., March 20 at Headliner’s Music Hall. JANE’S ADDICTION; Fri., March 23 at Louisville Palace. HUMAN NATURE – THE MOTOWN SHOW; Wed., March 28 at Louisville Palace. DAUGHTRY; Sat., March 31 at Louisville Palace. BLUE MAN GROUP; Wed.-Sun., April 11-15 in Louisville at Whitney Hall. DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE; Fri., April 13 at Louisville Palace. JONNY LANG; Sat., May 10 at Horseshoe Casino. NICKELBACK with BUSH, SEETHER and MY DARKEST DAYS; Sat., May 26 at KFC Yum! Center. ROGER WATERS performs Pink Floyd’s ‘The Wall’; Sun., June 10 at KFC Yum! Center.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL YANNI; Sat., April 28 at Louisville Palace.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. THE DEL McCOURY BAND; Sat., Feb. 25 at Headliner’s Music Hall. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502- 645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502- 484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN- 4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221); Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777.)

PIKEVILLE, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. ERIC CHURCH with BRANTLEY GILBERT and BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Sat., April 21 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.

STAGE & COMEDY SINBAD; Sat., Feb. 4 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444- 5500.



Leave a Reply