Whitesburg KY
Clear
Clear
55°F
 

Coming events



About this guide

This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE ONLY SONS; Sat., March 17 at Summit City.

TIM LEE 3 with KEVIN ABERNATHY; Sat., March 24 at Summit City.

BROTHER CANE; Fri., March 30 at Summit City.

ANTON MINK; Sat., March 31 at Summit City.

SONS OF BILL with WAYNE GRAHAM; Sat., April 21 at Summit City.

PLANET OF THE ABTS (featuring Matt Abts and other members of Gov’t Mule); Sat., April 28 at Summit City.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

NEWFOUND ROAD; Thu., April 12 at Appalshop Theater for WMMT’s Bluegrass Express Live.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

DR. DOG; Thu., March 15 at The Orange Peel.

SOUTHERN CULTURE ON THE SKIDS; Fri., March 16 at The Grey Eagle.

GOMEZ; Sat., March 17 at The Orange Peel.

THE GOURDS; Wed., March 21 at The Grey Eagle.

MARTIN SEXTON; Fri., March 24 at The Orange Peel.

THE JOY FORMIDABLE; Sun., March 25 at The Orange Peel.

TEA LEAF GREEN; Wed., March 28 at The Grey Eagle.

DELTA SPIRIT; Wed., April 4 at The Grey Eagle

THE FRAY; Sun., April 22 at Thomas Wolfe Theatre.

OF MONTREAL; Thu., April 5 at The Orange Peel.

THE BUDOS BAND with CHARLES BRADLEY & HIS EXTRAORDINAIRES; Tue., April 10 at The Orange Peel.

MICKEY HART; Wed., April 18 at The Orange Peel.

GWAR; Thu., April 19 at The Orange Peel.

SAY ANYTHING; Fri., April 20 at The Orange Peel.

CONSPIRATOR; Sat., April 21 at The Orange Peel.

TRAMPLED BY TURTLES; Thu., April 26 at The Orange Peel.

LUCERO; Fri., April 27 at The Orange Peel.

ZIGGY MARLEY; Sun., April 29 at The Orange Peel.

FEIST; Wed., May 2 at Thomas Wolfe Theatre.

WHITECHAPEL; Fri., May 4 at The Orange Peel.

ARCHERS OF LOAF; Thu., May 10 at The Grey Eagle.

BEACH HOUSE; Sun., May 13 at The Orange Peel.

MADELEINE PEYROUX; Mon., May 14 at The Orange Peel.

JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE; Wed., May 23 at The Grey Eagle.

DAWES with SARAH WATKINS; Wed., June 13 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

JAKE OWEN; Thu., March 22 at The Orange Peel.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232-5800; Asheville Civic Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745- 3000; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800)

ASHLAND, Ky./

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BARRY MANILOW; Thu., April 19 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

GODSMACK with STAIND and HALESTORM; Sat., May 12 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

BILLY CURRINGTON; Fri., April 27 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324- 3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304- 696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656.)

BRISTOL, TENN.

GIRLS NIGHT LIVE with Mandisa, Britt Nicole and Laura Story; Thu., May 3 at Viking Hall.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

TEDESCHI TRUCKS BAND; Fri., March 30 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

THE MOODY BLUES; Sun., April 1 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

RICK SPRINGFIELD; Sun., April 15 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

PAM TILLIS; Fri.-Sat., March 16-17 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

MIRANDA LAMBERT with CHRIS YOUNG and JERROD NIEMANN Sun., March 25 at Charleston Civic Center.

ALISON KRAUSS & UNION STATION featuring Jerry Douglas; Thu., March 29 at Charleston Municipal Auditorium.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1- 304- 345- 7469; Culture Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1- 304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/

NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

HOT TUNA; Thu., March 15 at 20th Century Theatre.

THE JOY FORMIDABLE; Fri., March 23 at 20th Century Theatre.

THREE DOG NIGHT; Sat., March 24 at Rising Star Casino in Rising Sun, Ind.

THE PSYCHEDELIC FURS; Sat., March 31 at Bogart’s.

HUMAN NATURE – THE MOTOWN SHOW; Sun., April 1 at Taft Theatre.

DAUGHTRY; Tue., April 3 at Cincinnati Music Hall.

SNOW PATROL; Wed., April 4 at Bogart’s.

LUCERO; Wed., April 11 at Bogart’s.

LOW with R. RING; Wed., April 18 at Taft Theatre.

BARRY MANILOW; Fri., April 20 at Bank of Kentucky Center in Highland Heights, Ky.

TEDESCHI TRUCKS BAND; Thu., April 26 at Taft Theatre.

TRAMPLED BY TURTLES; Sat., April 28 at Taft Theatre.

TRAILER PARK BOYS; Tue., May 15 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater.

JJ GREY & MOFRO; Wed., May 16 at Taft Theatre.

COLIN HAY; Thu., May 17 at 20th Century Theatre.

DAVE MATTHEWS BAND; Tue., May 29 at Riverbend Music Center.

RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS; Wed., June 6 at U.S. Bank Arena.

NATALIE MERCHANT; Sat., June 9 at Cincinnati Music Hall.

SONNY LANDRETH; Thu., June 14 at 20th Century Theatre.

PHISH; Fri., June 22 at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin Sat., March 17.

STYX, REO SPEEDWAGON & TED NUGENT; Tue., June 26 at Riverbend Music Center.

RUSTED ROOT; Fri., July 20 at Taft Theatre.

NICKELBACK with BUSH and MY DARKEST DAYS; Fri., July 22 at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin Sat., March 17.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

THE CHARLIE DANIELS BAND; Sat., March 17 at Rising Star Casino in Rising Sun, Ind.

ALISON KRAUSS & UNION STATION featuring Jerry Douglas; Fri., March 30 at Taft Theatre. SOLD OUT.

MERLE HAGGARD; Fri., April 13 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino.

IRIS DEMENT; Sat., April 21 at Southgate House in Newport, Ky.

VINCE GILL; Fri., April 27 at Taft Theatre.

BRAD PAISLEY with THE BAND PERRY and SCOTTY McCREERY; Sun., May 20 at Riverbend Music Center.

LADY ANTEBELLUM; Thu., May 31 at Riverbend Music Center.

MIRANDA LAMBERT with CHRIS YOUNG and JERROD NIEMANN; Fri., June 15 at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin Fri., March 16.

KENNY CHESNEY and TIM Mc- GRAW; Sun., July 1 in Paul Brown Stadium. www.ticketmaster.com

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC.

YANNI; Wed., May 16 at Aronoff Center for the Arts.

STAGE & COMEDY

THE ADDAMS FAMILY; March 27 through April 8 at Aranoff Center’s Procter and Gamble Hall.

DON RICKLES; Sat., April 28 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872- 8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; Southgate House, 24 E. Third St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2202; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

HAZARD

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

NITTY GRITTY DIRT BAND; Sat., March 24 in The Forum at Hal Rogers Center. Tickets available by calling Maggard Florist, 606-439-3101 or The Pantry Shelf, 606-436-6117.

JOHNSON CITY, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE ASSOCIATION; Sun., June 3 at Freedom Hall Civic Center in beneft for Firefighters Assocation. 1-423-282-1257.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423- 282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE MOODY BLUES; Mon., March 19 at Tennessee Theatre.

PINK MARTINI; Wed., March 28 at Bijou Theatre.

TEDESCHI TRUCKS BAND; Wed., March 28 at Tennessee Theatre.

BASSNECTAR; Thu., April 2 at Knoxville Civic Coliseum.

FRESH BEAT BAND; Sat., April 14 at Tennessee Theatre.

OPETH with MASTADON; Mon., April 16 at Tennessee Theatre.

BOB WEIR; Tue., April 24 at Bijou Theatre.

GOMEZ; Sun., April 29 at Bijou Theatre.

DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE; Tue., May 1 at Tennessee Theatre.

MEGADETH; Tue., May 8 at Tennessee Theatre.

BONNIE RAITT; Mon., May 14 at Tennessee Theatre.

JANE’S ADDICTION; Fri., May 25 at Tennessee Theatre.

HOT TUNA ACOUSTIC; Tue., July 10 at Bijou Theatre.

ZAPPA PLAYS ZAPPA; Thu., July 12 at Bijou Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

PUNCH BROTHERS featuring Chris Thile; Thu., April 19 at Bijou Theatre.

JOSH TURNER; Thu., April 12 at Tennessee Theatre.

OTHER

A VIEW FROM THE MOUNTAIN TOP: An Evening with Barbara Kingsolver and Kathy Mattea; Sun., March 11 at Bijou Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865- 656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544- 4199; Thompson-Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865- 522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865- 656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

ZEUS with THE SHEEPDOGS; Tue., March 20 at Buster’s.

GWAR; Sat., March 24 at Buster’s

TEMPTATIONS and THE FOUR TOPS; Sat., April 14 at EKU Center for the Arts.

ARETHA FRANKLIN; Sat., April 28 at EKU Center for the Arts.

LEON RUSSELL; Sun., April 29 at Buster’s.

GODSMACK with STAIND; Fri., May 4 at Rupp Arena.

SUPERSUCKERS; Fri., May 11 at Cosmic Charlies’s

JOE BONAMASSA; Fri., May 11 at Rupp Arena.

HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Wed., May 23 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

AVERAGE WHITE BAND; Fri., June 8 at Buster’s.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

ERIC CHURCH with BRANTLEY GILBERT and BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Fri., April 27 in Rupp Arena.

STAGE & COMEDY

DISNEY ON ICE: TOY STORY 3; Thu.-Sun., April 19-22 at Rupp Arena.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231- 7924; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

HENRY ROLLINS; Tue., March 20 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

JANE’S ADDICTION; Fri., March 23 at Louisville Palace.

HUMAN NATURE – THE MOTOWN SHOW; Wed., March 28 at Louisville Palace.

DAUGHTRY; Sat., March 31 at Louisville Palace.

BLUE MAN GROUP; Wed.-Sun., April 11-15 in Louisville at Whitney Hall.

DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE; Fri., April 13 at Louisville Palace.

THE FRAY; Tue., April 24 at Louisville Palace.

JONNY LANG; Sat., May 10 at Horseshoe Casino.

NICKELBACK with BUSH, SEETHER and MY DARKEST DAYS; Sat., May 26 at KFC Yum! Center.

RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS; Thu., June 7 at KFC Yum! Center.

THE SHINS; Sat., June 9 at Iroquois Theatre. www.ticketfly.com.

ROGER WATERS performs Pink Floyd’s ‘The Wall’; Sun., June 10 at KFC Yum! Center.

10th Annual Forecastle Festival featuring MY MORNING JACKET and others; July 13-15 at Waterfront Park. www.ForecastleFest.com.

JOURNEY; Fri., Aug. 17 at Freedom Hall. Ticket sales begin Fri., March 23.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL

YANNI; Sat., April 28 at Louisville Palace.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

MIRANDA LAMBERT with CHRIS YOUNG and JERROD NIEMANN Sat., March 24 at KFC Yum! Center.

SUGARLAND; Sat., April 14 at KFC Yum! Center.

TRACE ADKINS; Wed., April 18 at Louisville Palace.

HANK WILLIAM JR.; Thu., Aug. 16 at Freedom Hall. Ticket sales begin Fri., March 23.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502- 645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502- 484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN- 4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221); Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777.)

STAGE & COMEDY

DANIEL TOSH; Mon., April 16 at Louisville Palace for two shows, 7 & 9:30 p.m.

MANCHESTER, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BONNAROO 2012 featuring Radiohead, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Beach Boys, Phish, Alice Cooper and many others; June 7 through June 10. www.bonnaroo.com.

PIKEVILLE, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

ERIC CHURCH with BRANTLEY GILBERT and BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Sat., April 21 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.



Leave a Reply