Whitesburg KY
Mostly sunny
Mostly sunny
35°F
 

Coming events



This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

SONS OF BILL with WAYNE GRAHAM; Sat., April 21 at Summit City.

“ MISSION QUEST TO METAL FEST” featuring The Mongoloids, Expire and Wrong Answer; Tue., April 24 at Letcher County Tourism Center.

PLANET OF THE ABTS (featuring Matt Abts and other members of Gov’t Mule); Sat., April 28 at Summit City.

KELLY RICHEY; Sat., May 19 at Summit City.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

NEWFOUND ROAD; Thu., April 12 at Appalshop Theater for WMMT’s Bluegrass Express Live.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE BUDOS BAND with CHARLES BRADLEY & HIS EXTRAORDINAIRES; Tue., April 10 at The Orange Peel.

WARREN HAYNES; Sun., April 15 at The Orange Peel.

MICKEY HART; Wed., April 18 at The Orange Peel.

GWAR; Thu., April 19 at The Orange Peel.

SAY ANYTHING; Fri., April 20 at The Orange Peel.

CONSPIRATOR; Sat., April 21 at The Orange Peel.

SHARON VAN ETTEN; Sat., April 21 at The Grey Eagle.

THE FRAY; Sun., April 22 at Thomas Wolfe Theatre.

TRAMPLED BY TURTLES; Thu., April 26 at The Orange Peel.

LUCERO; Fri., April 27 at The Orange Peel.

ZIGGY MARLEY; Sun., April 29 at The Orange Peel.

FEIST with TIMBER TIMBRE; Wed., May 2 at Thomas Wolfe Theatre.

WHITECHAPEL; Fri., May 4 at The Orange Peel.

SWITCHFOOT; Mon., May 7 at The Orange Peel.

ARCHERS OF LOAF; Thu., May 10 at The Grey Eagle.

BEACH HOUSE; Sun., May 13 at The Orange Peel.

MADELEINE PEYROUX; Mon., May 14 at The Orange Peel.

JACK WHITE; Sat., May 19 at The Orange Peel. SOLD OUT.

JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE; Wed., May 23 at The Grey Eagle.

BOB WEIR, CHRIS ROBINSON & JACKIE GREENE (Acoustic Trio); Tue., May 29 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

DAWES with SARAH WATKINS; Wed., June 13 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

BILLY CURRINGTON; Thu., May 17 at U.S. Cellular Center.

JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE; Wed., May 23 at The Grey Eagle.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232-5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745- 3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800; U.S. Cellular Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000.)

ASHLAND, Ky./

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BARRY MANILOW; Thu., April 19 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

GODSMACK with STAIND and HALESTORM; Sat., May 12 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

BILLY CURRINGTON; Fri., April 27 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

CHARLIE DANIELS BAND; Sat., May 19 at Paramount Arts Center in Ashland.

GEORGE JONES; Sat., June 2 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324- 3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304- 696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656.)

BRISTOL, TENN.

GIRLS NIGHT LIVE with Mandisa, Britt Nicole and Laura Story; Thu., May 3 at Viking Hall.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

RICK SPRINGFIELD; Sun., April 15 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

HANK WILLIAMS JR.; Fri., July 27 at Charleston Civic Center.

OTHER

WWE RAW WORLD TOUR; Sat., April 14 at Charleston Civic Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1- 304- 345- 7469; Culture Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1- 304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/

NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

LUCERO; Wed., April 11 at Bogart’s.

LOW with R. RING; Wed., April 18 at Taft Theatre.

BARRY MANILOW; Fri., April 20 at Bank of Kentucky Center in Highland Heights, Ky.

TEDESCHI TRUCKS BAND; Thu., April 26 at Taft Theatre.

TRAMPLED BY TURTLES; Sat., April 28 at Taft Theatre.

RISE AGAINST; Sat., May 5 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

LOCAL H; Fri., May 11 at Taft Theatre.

DOOBIE BROTHERS; Sat., May 12 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino.

JJ GREY & MOFRO; Wed., May 16 at Taft Theatre.

COLIN HAY; Thu., May 17 at 20th Century Theatre.

DAVE MATTHEWS BAND; Tue., May 29 at Riverbend Music Center.

RADIOHEAD; Tue., June 5 at Riverbend Music Center.

RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS; Wed., June 6 at U.S. Bank Arena.

DAWES with SARA WATKINS; Wed., June 6 at Taft Theatre.

NATALIE MERCHANT; Sat., June 9 at Cincinnati Music Hall.

THE BEACH BOYS 50th ANNIVERSARY TOUR; Tue., June 12 at Riverbend Music Center.

SONNY LANDRETH; Thu., June 14 at 20th Century Theatre.

PHISH; Fri., June 22 at Riverbend Music Center.

STYX, REO SPEEDWAGON & TED NUGENT; Tue., June 26 at Riverbend Music Center.

COLLECTIVE SOUL; Thu., June 28 at Bogart’s.

DEF LEPPARD and POISON with LITA FORD; Mon., July 2 at Riverbend Music Center.

RUSTED ROOT; Fri., July 20 at Taft Theatre.

NICKELBACK with BUSH and MY DARKEST DAYS; Fri., July 20 at Riverbend Music Center.

ROD STEWART and STEVIE NICKS; Sat., July 21 at Riverbend Music Center.

STEVE MILLER BAND; Wed., July 25 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

CHICAGO and THE DOOBIE BROTHERS; Sun., July 29 at Riverbend Music Center.

CROSBY, STILLS & NASH; Mon., July 30 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 14.

VAN’S WARPED TOUR; Tue., July 31 at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 7.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

MERLE HAGGARD; Fri., April 13 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino.

KIX BROOKS; Thu., April 19 at Bogart’s.

IRIS DEMENT; Sat., April 21 at Southgate House in Newport, Ky.

VINCE GILL; Fri., April 27 at Taft Theatre.

BRAD PAISLEY with THE BAND PERRY and SCOTTY McCREERY; Sun., May 20 at Riverbend Music Center.

LADY ANTEBELLUM; Thu., May 31 at Riverbend Music Center.

MIRANDA LAMBERT with CHRIS YOUNG and JERROD NIEMANN; Fri., June 15 at Riverbend Music Center.

KENNY CHESNEY and TIM Mc- GRAW; Sun., July 1 in Paul Brown Stadium. www.ticketmaster.com.

RASCALL FLATTS; Sun., July 22 at Riverbend Music Center.

TOBY KEITH; Sat., July 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC.

YANNI; Wed., May 16 at Aronoff Center for the Arts.

STAGE & COMEDY

DON RICKLES; Sat., April 28 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872- 8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; Southgate House, 24 E. Third St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2202; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE ASSOCIATION; Sun., June 3 at Freedom Hall Civic Center in beneft for Firefighters Assocation. 1-423-282-1257.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423- 282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

FRESH BEAT BAND; Sat., April 14 at Tennessee Theatre.

OPETH with MASTADON; Mon., April 16 at Tennessee Theatre.

KELLER WILLIAMS; Thu., April 19 at The Valarium.

BOB WEIR; Tue., April 24 at Bijou Theatre.

GOMEZ; Sun., April 29 at Bijou Theatre.

KORN; Mon., April 30 at Tennessee Theatre.

DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE; Tue., May 1 at Tennessee Theatre.

MEGADETH; Tue., May 8 at Tennessee Theatre.

BONNIE RAITT with MARC COHN; Mon., May 14 at Tennessee Theatre.

BUCKCHERRY; Wed., May 23 at The Valarium.

JANE’S ADDICTION; Fri., May 25 at Tennessee Theatre.

ALICE COOPER; Tue., June 12 at Tennessee Theatre.

HOT TUNA ACOUSTIC; Tue., July 10 at Bijou Theatre.

ZAPPA PLAYS ZAPPA; Thu., July 12 at Bijou Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

PUNCH BROTHERS featuring Chris Thile; Thu., April 19 at Bijou Theatre.

JOSH TURNER; Thu., April 12 at Tennessee Theatre.

JAKE OWEN; Thu., April 26 at The Valarium.

BILLY CURRINGTON; Sat., April 28 at Knoxville Auditorium.

VINCE GILL; Wed., May 9 at Tennessee Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865- 656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544- 4199; Thompson-Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865- 522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865- 656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN TEMPTATIONS and THE FOUR TOPS; Sat., April 14 at EKU Center for the Arts.

WARREN HAYNES; Wed., April 14 at Buster’s.

PORTUGAL.THE MAN with THE LONELY FOREST; Sun., April 15 at Buster’s.

ARETHA FRANKLIN; Sat., April 28 at EKU Center for the Arts.

LEON RUSSELL; Sun., April 29 at Buster’s.

GODSMACK with STAIND; Fri., May 4 at Rupp Arena.

SUPERSUCKERS; Fri., May 11 at Cosmic Charlies’s

JOE BONAMASSA; Fri., May 11 at Rupp Arena.

HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Wed., May 23 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

AVERAGE WHITE BAND; Fri., June 8 at Buster’s.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

ERIC CHURCH with BRANTLEY GILBERT and BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Fri., April 27 in Rupp Arena.

VINCE GILL; Fri., June 29 at Lexington Opera House. Ticket sales begin Fri., April 13.

STAGE & COMEDY

DISNEY ON ICE: TOY STORY 3; Thu.-Sun., April 19-22 at Rupp Arena.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231- 7924; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BLUE MAN GROUP; Wed.-Sun., April 11-15 in Louisville at Whitney Hall.

DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE; Fri., April 13 at Louisville Palace.

THE FRAY; Tue., April 24 at Louisville Palace.

DIANA ROSS; Thu., April 26 at Louisville Palace.

JONNY LANG; Sat., May 10 at Horseshoe Casino.

NICKELBACK with BUSH, SEETHER and MY DARKEST DAYS; Sat., May 26 at KFC Yum! Center.

RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS; Thu., June 7 at KFC Yum! Center.

THE SHINS; Sat., June 9 at Iroquois Theatre. www.ticketfly.com.

ROGER WATERS performs Pink Floyd’s ‘The Wall’; Sun., June 10 at KFC Yum! Center.

10th Annual Forecastle Festival featuring MY MORNING JACKET and others; July 13-15 at Waterfront Park. www.ForecastleFest.com.

JOURNEY; Fri., Aug. 17 at Freedom Hall.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL

YANNI; Sat., April 28 at Louisville Palace.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

SUGARLAND; Sat., April 14 at KFC Yum! Center.

TRACE ADKINS; Wed., April 18 at Louisville Palace.

HANK WILLIAM JR.; Thu., Aug. 16 at Freedom Hall.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502- 645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502- 484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN- 4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221); Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777.)

STAGE & COMEDY

DANIEL TOSH; Mon., April 16 at Louisville Palace, 7 & 9:30 p.m.

MANCHESTER, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BONNAROO 2012 featuring Radiohead, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Beach Boys, Phish, Alice Cooper, and many others; June 7-10. www.bonnaroo.com.

PIKEVILLE, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

SUGARLAND; Fri., April 13 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606- 444-5500.

ERIC CHURCH with BRANTLEY GILBERT and BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Sat., April 21 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.

OTHER

RINGLING BROS. AND BARNUM & BAILEY: BARNUM BASH; Thu.- Sun., April 5-8 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.

RENFRO VALLEY, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

At Renfro Valley Entertainment Center (1-800-765-7464): JUSTIN MOORE (Fri., April 13); GRETCHEN WILSON (Sat., April 14); JEFF BATES & MARK CHESNUTT (Sat., April 21); DWIGHT YOAKAM (Thu., April 26); VICKI LAWRENCE (Sat., April 28); THE OAK RIDGE BOYS (Sat., May 12); NEAL McCOY (Fri., June 8); BILLY RAY CYRUS (Sat., June 30).



Leave a Reply