Whitesburg KY
Clear
Clear
62°F
 

Coming events



This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

PLANET OF THE ABTS (featuring Matt Abts and other members of Gov’t Mule); Sat., April 28 at Summit City.

KELLY RICHEY; Sat., May 19 at Summit City.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

TRAMPLED BY TURTLES; Thu., April 26 at The Orange Peel.

LUCERO; Fri., April 27 at The Orange Peel.

ZIGGY MARLEY; Sun., April 29 at The Orange Peel.

FEIST with TIMBER TIMBRE; Wed., May 2 at Thomas Wolfe Theatre.

WHITECHAPEL; Fri., May 4 at The Orange Peel.

THE HONEYCUTTERS; Sat., May 5 at The Grey Eagle.

SWITCHFOOT; Mon., May 7 at The Orange Peel.

ARCHERS OF LOAF; Thu., May 10 at The Grey Eagle.

BEACH HOUSE; Sun., May 13 at The Orange Peel.

MADELEINE PEYROUX; Mon., May 14 at The Orange Peel.

JACK WHITE; Sat., May 19 at The Orange Peel. SOLD OUT.

JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE; Wed., May 23 at The Grey Eagle.

THE DANDY WARHOLS; Sun., May 27 at The Orange Peel.

BOB WEIR, CHRIS ROBINSON & JACKIE GREENE (Acoustic Trio); Tue., May 29 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

ALEJANDRO ESCOVEDO with JESSE MALIN; Fri., June 1 at The Grey Eagle.

DAWES with SARAH WATKINS; Wed., June 13 at The Orange Peel.

JONATHAN RICHMON; Fri., June 15 at The Grey Eagle.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Sun., Oct. 7 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

BILLY CURRINGTON; Thu., May 17 at U.S. Cellular Center.

JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE; Wed., May 23 at The Grey Eagle.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232-5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745- 3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800; U.S. Cellular Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000.)

ASHLAND, Ky./

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

GODSMACK with STAIND and HALESTORM; Sat., May 12 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

MISS MAY I with WHITECHAPEL, AFTER THE BURIAL, THE PLOT IN YOU and WITHIN THE RUINS; Sun., May 13 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Wed., Oct. 10 in Huntington at Keith- Albee Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

BILLY CURRINGTON; Fri., April 27 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

CHARLIE DANIELS BAND; Sat., May 19 at Paramount Arts Center in Ashland.

GEORGE JONES; Sat., June 2 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

MERLE HAGGARD with KRIS KRISTOFFERSON; Sat., July 28 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324- 3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304- 696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656.)

BRISTOL, TENN.

GIRLS NIGHT LIVE with Mandisa, Britt Nicole and Laura Story; Thu., May 3 at Viking Hall.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

JOE BONAMASSA; Tue., Nov. 27 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

WILLIE NELSON; Thu., May 10 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

HANK WILLIAMS JR.; Fri., July 27 at Charleston Civic Center.

OTHER

TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA; Tue., May 1 at Charleston Civic Center.

DISNEY’S PHINEAS AND FERB LIVE; Sun., Aug. 26 at 4 p.m. at Charleston Municipal Auditorium.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Culture Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1- 304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/

NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

TEDESCHI TRUCKS BAND; Thu., April 26 at Taft Theatre.

TRAMPLED BY TURTLES; Sat., April 28 at Taft Theatre.

RISE AGAINST; Sat., May 5 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

LOCAL H; Fri., May 11 at Taft Theatre.

DOOBIE BROTHERS; Sat., May 12 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino.

JJ GREY & MOFRO; Wed., May 16 at Taft Theatre.

COLIN HAY; Thu., May 17 at 20th Century Theatre.

DAVE MATTHEWS BAND; Tue., May 29 at Riverbend Music Center.

RADIOHEAD; Tue., June 5 at Riverbend Music Center.

RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS; Wed., June 6 at U.S. Bank Arena.

DAWES with SARA WATKINS; Wed., June 6 at Taft Theatre.

NATALIE MERCHANT; Sat., June 9 at Cincinnati Music Hall.

THE BEACH BOYS 50th ANNIVERSARY TOUR; Tue., June 12 at Riverbend Music Center.

SONNY LANDRETH; Thu., June 14 at 20th Century Theatre.

SANTIGOLD; Fri., June 15 at Bogart’s.

THE JACKSONS; Tue., June 19 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 28.

PHISH; Fri., June 22 at Riverbend Music Center.

STYX, REO SPEEDWAGON & TED NUGENT; Tue., June 26 at Riverbend Music Center.

COLLECTIVE SOUL; Thu., June 28 at Bogart’s.

DEF LEPPARD and POISON with LITA FORD; Mon., July 2 at Riverbend Music Center.

RUSTED ROOT; Fri., July 20 at Taft Theatre.

NICKELBACK with BUSH and MY DARKEST DAYS; Fri., July 20 at Riverbend Music Center.

ROD STEWART and STEVIE NICKS; Sat., July 21 at Riverbend Music Center.

STEVE MILLER BAND; Wed., July 25 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

CHICAGO and THE DOOBIE BROTHERS; Sun., July 29 at Riverbend Music Center.

CROSBY, STILLS & NASH; Mon., July 30 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

VAN’S WARPED TOUR; Tue., July 31 at Riverbend Music Center.

TRAIN; Wed., Aug. 8 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin Fri., April 27.

311 with SLIGHTLY STUPID; Thu., Aug. 9 at Riverbend Music Center.

THE BLACK ANGELS; Thu., Aug. 9 at Taft Theatre.

VAN HALEN; Sun., Aug. 12 at U.S. Bank Arena. Ticket sales begin Fri., May 4.

LINCOLN PARK & INCUBUS; Wed., Aug. 22 at RIverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin Sat., April 28.

JASON MRAZ; Tue., Aug. 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

JOURNEY; Fri., Sept. 21 at Riverbend Music Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

VINCE GILL; Fri., April 27 at Taft Theatre.

BRAD PAISLEY with THE BAND PERRY and SCOTTY McCREERY; Sun., May 20 at Riverbend Music Center.

LADY ANTEBELLUM; Thu., May 31 at Riverbend Music Center.

MIRANDA LAMBERT with CHRIS YOUNG and JERROD NIEMANN; Fri., June 15 at Riverbend Music Center.

KENNY CHESNEY and TIM Mc- GRAW; Sun., July 1 in Paul Brown Stadium. www.ticketmaster.com.

RASCALL FLATTS; Sun., July 22 at Riverbend Music Center.

TOBY KEITH; Sat., July 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

SUGARLAND; Fri., Aug. 3 at Riverbend Music Center.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC.

YANNI; Wed., May 16 at Aronoff Center for the Arts.

STAGE & COMEDY

DON RICKLES; Sat., April 28 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino.

JEFF DUNHAM; Thu., July 19 in Heighland Heights, Ky., at Bank of Kentucky Center.

DISNEY LIVE! MICKEY’S MUSIC FESTIVAL; Sat., Dec. 1 at U.S. Bank Arena for two shows, at 1 p.m. and 4 p.m. Ticket sales begin Tue., May 1.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731- 8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513- 621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872-8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; Southgate House, 24 E. Third St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2202; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513- 721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513- 421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE ASSOCIATION; Sun., June 3 at Freedom Hall Civic Center in beneft for Firefighters Assocation. 1-423-282-1257.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423- 282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

GOMEZ; Sun., April 29 at Bijou Theatre.

KORN; Mon., April 30 at Tennessee Theatre.

DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE; Tue., May 1 at Tennessee Theatre.

MEGADETH; Tue., May 8 at Tennessee Theatre.

BONNIE RAITT with MARC COHN; Mon., May 14 at Tennessee Theatre.

BUCKCHERRY; Wed., May 23 at The Valarium.

JANE’S ADDICTION; Fri., May 25 at Tennessee Theatre.

STYX; Fri., June 1 at Tennessee Theatre.

ALICE COOPER; Tue., June 12 at Tennessee Theatre.

GRACE POTTER & THE NOCTURNALS; Fri., June 22 at Tennessee Theatre.

HOT TUNA ACOUSTIC; Tue., July 10 at Bijou Theatre.

ZAPPA PLAYS ZAPPA; Thu., July 12 at Bijou Theatre.

VAN HALEN; Sat., Aug. 4 at Thompson-Boling Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

JAKE OWEN; Thu., April 26 at The Valarium.

BILLY CURRINGTON; Sat., April 28 at Knoxville Auditorium.

VINCE GILL; Wed., May 9 at Tennessee Theatre.

JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE; Thu., May 24 at The Square Room.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865- 656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544- 4199; Thompson-Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865- 522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865- 656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

ARETHA FRANKLIN; Sat., April 28 at EKU Center for the Arts.

LEON RUSSELL; Sun., April 29 at Buster’s.

GODSMACK with STAIND; Fri., May 4 at Rupp Arena.

COHEED AND CAMBRIA with MOVING MOUNTAINS and PIANOS BECOME THE TEETH; Thu., May 10 at Kentucky Theatre.

SUPERSUCKERS; Fri., May 11 at Cosmic Charlie’s

JOE BONAMASSA; Fri., May 11 at Rupp Arena.

VHS OR BETA; Sat., May 12 at Buster’s.

CANDLEBOX; Tue., May 15 at Buster’s.

CHUCK PROPHET; Wed., May 16 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Wed., May 23 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

AVERAGE WHITE BAND; Fri., June 8 at Buster’s.

BRUCE HORNSBY; Sat., June 16 at Kentucky Theatre.

BODEANS; Fri., June 22 at Buster’s.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

ERIC CHURCH with BRANTLEY GILBERT and BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Fri., April 27 in Rupp Arena.

VINCE GILL; Fri., June 29 at Lexington Opera House.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231- 7924; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

DIANA ROSS; Thu., April 26 at Louisville Palace.

BUCKCHERRY; Tue., May 1 at Phoenix Hill Tavern.

OLD 97’S; Fri., May 4 at Headliners Music Hall.

JONNY LANG; Sat., May 10 at Horseshoe Casino.

BONNIE RAITT with MARC COHN; Sun., May 13 at Whitney Hall.

NICKELBACK with BUSH, SEETHER and MY DARKEST DAYS; Sat., May 26 at KFC Yum! Center.

ALEJANDRO ESCOVEDO with JESSE MALIN; Sun., May 27 at Headliners Music Hall.

RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS; Thu., June 7 at KFC Yum! Center.

THE SHINS; Sat., June 9 at Iroquois Theatre. www.ticketfly.com.

ROGER WATERS performs Pink Floyd’s ‘The Wall’; Sun., June 10 at KFC Yum! Center.

THE JACKSONS; Mon., June 18 at Louisville Palace.

10th Annual Forecastle Festival featuring MY MORNING JACKET and others; July 13-15 at Waterfront Park. www.ForecastleFest.com.

DIANA KRALL; Sun., July 15 at Whitney Hall.

JOURNEY; Fri., Aug. 17 at Freedom

Hall.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL

YANNI; Sat., April 28 at Louisville Palace.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

LADY ANTEBELLUM; Wed., May 16 at KFC Yum! Center. Ticket sales begin Fri., April 27.

GLEN CAMPBELL; Fri., June 8 at Louisville Palace.

GARY ALAN; Fri., July 3 at Horseshoe Casino.

HANK WILLIAM JR.; Thu., Aug. 16 at Freedom Hall.

RASCAL FLATTS with LITTLE BIG TOWN; Sat., Aug. 18 in Freedom Hall.

THE BAND PERRY; Sun., Aug. 26 at Freedom Hall. Ticket sales begin Mon., May 21.

STAGE & COMEDY

BILL MAHER; Sun., May 13 at Whitney Hall.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502- 645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502- 484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN- 4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221); Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777.)

MANCHESTER, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BONNAROO 2012 featuring Radiohead, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Beach Boys, Phish, Alice Cooper, and many others; June 7-10. www.bonnaroo.com.

RENFRO VALLEY, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

At Renfro Valley Entertainment Center (1-800-765-7464): DWIGHT YOAKAM (Thu., April 26); VICKI LAWRENCE (Sat., April 28); THE OAK RIDGE BOYS (Sat., May 12); NEAL McCOY (Fri., June 8); BILLY RAY CYRUS (Sat., June 30).



Leave a Reply