Whitesburg KY
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy
74°F
 

Coming events



This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BAK 2 BAK; Sat., July 28 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

KAITLYN BAKER; Sat., Aug. 11 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

I CALL FIVES; Tue., Aug. 21 at Letcher County Tourism Building in Whitesburg.

COREY CHISEL & THE WANDERING SONS; Wed., Sept. 12 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

LUKAS NELSON & PROMISE OF REAL; Fri., Oct. 12 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

RICH ROBINSON BAND; Fri., Oct. 19 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

AARON TIPPIN; Sat., Sept. 29 at Mountain Heritage Festival.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE TALLEST MAN ON EARTH; Tue., July 24 at The Orange Peel.

BELE CHERE FESTIVAL featuring LUCERO, DR. DOG, BLACKBERRY SMOKE, RANDALL BRAMBLETT, BRANDI CARLILE and others; Fri.-Sun., July 27-29 in downtown Asheville. www.belecherefestival.com.

NEON TREES; Tue., Aug. 7 at The Orange Peel.

STEVE MILLER BAND; Thu., Aug. 9 at Biltmore Estate.

MINDY SMITH; Fri., Aug. 10 at The Grey Eagle.

DIRTY PROJECTORS; Fri., Aug. 10 at The Orange Peel.

PETER FRAMPTON; Sat., Aug. 11 at Biltmore Estate.

KC & THE SUNSHINE BAND; Sat., Aug. 18 at Biltmore Estate.

STEVE VAI; Wed., Aug. 22 at The Orange Peel.

FOREIGNER; Sat., Sept. 1 at Biltmore Estate.

GALACTIC (featuring Corey Glover of Living Colour); Thu., Sept. 13 at The Orange Peel.

GUIDED BY VOICES; Mon., Sept. 17 at The Orange Peel.

NEEDTOBREATHE; Wed., Sept. 19 in Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

NAPPY ROOTS; Thu., Sept. 20 at The Orange Peel.

TWIN SHADOW; Fri., Sept. 21 at The Orange Peel.

EDWARD SHARPE AND THE MAGNETIC ZEROS with CLAP YOUR HANDS SAY YEAH; Thu., Sept. 27 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

IAN ANDERSON (peforming ‘Thick As A Brick’ parts 1&2); Fri., Sept. 28 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

THE LETTERMEN; Sat., Sept. 28 at Biltmore Estate.

THE WALKMEN; Fri., Sept. 28 at The Orange Peel.

ANDREW BIRD; Mon., Oct. 1 at The Orange Peel.

AUGUST BURNS RED; Tue., Oct. 2 at The Orange Peel.

FIRST AID KIT; Wed., Oct. 3 at The Orange Peel.

GRACE POTTER & THE NOCTURNALS; Thu., Oct. 4 at The Orange Peel.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Sun., Oct. 7 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

BONNIE RAITT; Tue., Oct. 9 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

NICK LOWE; Wed., Oct. 10 at The Grey Eagle.

LEFTOVER SALMON; Wed., Oct. 10 at The Orange Peel.

PUNCH BROTHERS; Wed., Oct. 17 at The Orange Peel.

XAVIER RUDD; Sat., Oct. 20 at The Orange Peel.

JUSTICE; Thu., Oct. 25 at U.S. Cellular Center.

CITIZEN COPE; Tue., Nov. 6 at The Orange Peel.

MORRISEY; Wed., Dec. 5 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

MERLE HAGGARD & KRIS KRISTOFFERSON; Wed., Aug. 8 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

ALISON KRAUSS; Fri., Aug 24 at Biltmore Estate.

CHRIS TOMLIN; Sat., Aug. 25 at Biltmore Estate.

REGIE HAMM with JOHN MICHAEL MONTGOMERY and MORGAN FRAZIER; Sat., Sept. 8 at U.S. Cellular Center.

LARRY GATLIN & THE GATLIN BROS.; Fri., Oct. 19 at Biltmore Estate.

TIM O’BRIEN; Sat., Oct. 20 at The Grey Eagle.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Biltmore Estate, 1 Approach Road, www.biltmore.com; The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232- 5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800; U.S. Cellular Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000.)

ASHLAND, Ky./

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

TODD SNIDER; Fri., Aug. 17 in Huntington at The V Club.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Wed., Oct. 10 in Huntington at Keith-Albee Theatre.

THE LETTERMEN; Sat., Dec. 15 in Huntington at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

CLINT BLACK; Fri., July 22 at Paramount Arts Center in Ashland.

MERLE HAGGARD & KRIS KRISTOFFERSON; Sat., July 28 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

DON WILLIAMS; Thu., Sept. 20 at Paramount Arts Center in Ashland.

GEORGE JONES; Fri., Sept. 21 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

ERIC CHURCH; Sat., Dec. 1 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

TRAVIS TRITT; Sun., Dec. 2 at Keith-Albee Theatre in Huntington.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324- 3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304- 696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656; The V Club, 741 6th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-781-0680.)

BRISTOL, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

MUMFORD & SONS ‘Gentlemen of the Road Stopover’; Sat., Aug. 11 in downtown Bristol, Va./Tenn. www.gentlemenoftheroad.com.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

DAUGHTRY; Wed., Aug. 8 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

JOE BONAMASSA; Tue., Nov. 27 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

HANK WILLIAMS JR.; Fri., July 27 at Charleston Civic Center.

OTHER

WWE RAW WORLD TOUR; Fri., July 27 at Charleston Civic Center.

DISNEY’S PHINEAS AND FERB LIVE; Sun., Aug. 26 at 4 p.m. at Charleston Municipal Auditorium.

CIRQUE DU SOLEIL: DRALION; Wed.-Sun., Sept. 12-16 at Charleston Civic Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Culture Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1- 304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/

NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

RUSTED ROOT; Fri., July 20 at Taft Theatre.

NICKELBACK with BUSH and MY DARKEST DAYS; Fri., July 20 at Riverbend Music Center.

ROD STEWART and STEVIE NICKS; Sat., July 21 at Riverbend Music Center.

BLITZEN TRAPPER; Tue., July 24 at Taft Theatre.

LUCINDA WILLIAMS; Wed., July 25 at Madison Theater in Covington.

STEVE MILLER BAND; Wed., July 25 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

BAND OF HEATHENS; Thu., July 26 at Taft Theatre.

JOHN TESH; Fri., July 27 at Fraze Pavilion.

OLD CROW MEDICINE SHOW; Fri., July 27 at Taft Theatre.

CHICAGO and THE DOOBIE BROTHERS; Sun., July 29 at Riverbend Music Center.

CROSBY, STILLS & NASH; Mon., July 30 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

GAVIN DEGRAW; Mon., Sept. 30 at Fraze Pavilion.

VAN’S WARPED TOUR; Tue., July 31 at Riverbend Music Center.

HAPPY TOGETHER TOUR featuring The Turtles, The Grass Roots, The Buckinghams, Gary Puckett & The Union Gap, and Micky Dolenz; Thu., Aug. 2 at Fraze Pavilion.

OUR LADY PEACE; Sun., Aug. 5 at Bogart’s.

TRAIN; Wed., Aug. 8 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

PETER FRAMPTON; Wed., Aug. 8 at Fraze Pavilion.

311 with SLIGHTLY STUPID; Thu., Aug. 9 at Riverbend Music Center.

LIFEHOUSE with DAUGHTRY; Thu., Aug. 9 at Fraze Pavilion.

THE BLACK ANGELS; Thu., Aug. 9 at Taft Theatre.

JACKSON BROWNE; Sat., Aug. 11 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

BOSTON with THE STEEPWATER BAND; Wed., Aug. 15 at Fraze Pavilion.

BONNIE RAITT with MAVIS STAPLES; Sat., Aug. 18 at Fraze Pavilion.

THE CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD; Sun., Aug. 19 at 20th Century Theatre.

LINCOLN PARK & INCUBUS; Wed., Aug. 22 at RIverbend Music Center.

STEVE EARLE & JOHN HIATT; Thu., Aug. 23 at Taft Theatre.

BOB DYLAN; Sun., Aug. 26 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

DURAN DURAN; Tue., Aug. 28 at Fraze Pavilion.

‘ROCK ‘N’ BLUES FEST featuring EDGAR WINTER BAND, JOHNNY WINTER, RICK DERRINGER, LESLIE WEST and KIM SIMMONDS of Savoy Brown; Wed., Aug. 29 at Fraze Pavilion.

JASON MRAZ; Tue., Aug. 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

KISS with MOTLEY CRUE; Fri., Aug. 31 at Riverbend Music Center.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Fri., Aug. 31 at Fraze Pavilion.

TOAD THE WET SPROCKET; Thu., Sept. 6 at Taft Theatre.

METRIC; Sun., Sept. 9 at Madison Theater in Covington.

ROBERT CRAY & KENNY WAYNE SHEPHERD; Sun., Sept. 16 at Taft Theatre.

SLASH with FOXY SHAZAM; Fri., Sept. 21 at Bogart’s.

JOURNEY with PAT BENATAR and LOVERBOY; Fri., Sept. 21 at Riverbend Music Center.

ANI DIFRANCO; Fri., Sept. 28 at Madison Theater in Covington.

KELLER WILLIAMS; Thu., Oct. 18 at 20th Century Theatre.

THE AFGHAN WHIGS; Thu., Oct. 25 at Bogart’s.

JOE BONAMASSA; Fri., Nov. 19 at Taft Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

SONS OF BILL; Sat., July 21 in The Ballroom at Taft Theatre.

RASCALL FLATTS; Sun., July 22 at Riverbend Music Center.

TOBY KEITH; Sat., July 28 at Riverbend

Music Center.

SUGARLAND; Fri., Aug. 3 at Riverbend Music Center.

MARY CHAPIN CARPENTER; Wed., Aug. 22 at Taft Theatre.

PAUL THORN; Sat., Sept. 22 at Madison Theater in Covington.

ERIC CHURCH; Sat., Oct. 6 at U.S. Bank Arena.

STAGE & COMEDY

JIM GAFFIGAN; Fri., Aug. 17 at Taft Theatre.

DISNEY ON ICE: TREASURE TROVE; Wed.-Sun., Oct. 24-28 at U.S. Bank Arena. Ticket sales begin Mon., Sept. 17.

DISNEY LIVE! MICKEY’S MUSIC FESTIVAL; Sat., Dec. 1 at U.S. Bank Arena.

KEVIN HART; Sat., Dec. 8 at U.S. Bank Arena.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621- 2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872-8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; Southgate House, 24 E. Third St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2202; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

ELTON JOHN; Sun., Sept. 16 at Freedom Hall. All tickets SOLD OUT.

OTHER

WWE SMACKDOWN WORLD TOUR; Sun., July 28 at Freedom Hall.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423- 282-1257.)

KINGSPORT, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

LYNYRD SKYNYRD with DRAKE WHITE; Sat., July 21 at J. Fred Johnson Stadium in Kingsport for Funfest 2012.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

TRAVIS TRITT with FOLK SOUL REVIVAL; Fri., July 20 at J. Fred Johnson Stadium in Johnson City for Funfest 2012.

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BUSH; Sun., July 22 at Tennessee Theatre.

THE BLUE MAN GROUP; Tue.- Wed., July 24-25 at Tennessee Theatre.

INDIGO GIRLS (with full band); Wed., July 25 at Bijou Theatre.

ROBERT CRAY; Mon., Aug. 13 at Bijou Theatre.

TED NUGENT’S GREAT WHITE BUFFALO TOUR; Mon., Aug. 20 at Tennessee Theatre.

OLD CROW MEDICINE SHOW; Fri., Aug. 24 at Tennessee Theatre.

ERICK BAKER; Sat., Aug. 25 at Bijou Theatre.

MICKEY HART BAND; Thu., Aug. 30 at The Valarium.

WANDA JACKSON; Wed., Sept. 12 at The Square Room.

YELAWOLF; Sun., Sept. 16 at The Valarium.

BEACH HOUSE; Fri., Sept. 14 at Bijou Theatre.

GRIZZLY BEAR; Sun., Sept. 16 at Tennessee Theatre.

ANDREW BIRD; Thu., Oct. 4 at Tennessee Theatre.

BUDDY GUY & JOHNNY LANG; Wed., Nov. 11 at Tennessee Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

TRACE ADKINS; Sat., Aug. 11 at Tennessee Theatre.

MARY CHAPIN CARPENTER; Thu., Aug. 23 at Bijou Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Cider House, 121 Ramsey Street, 1-865-544-4300; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544- 4199; Thompson-Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865- 522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865- 656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

MURDER BY DEATH with CORY CHISEL & THE WANDERING SONS; Sun., July 22 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

LUCERO; Sat., July 28 at Buster’s.

TODD SNIDER with PATTERSON HOOD (of Drive By Truckers); Thu., Aug. 16 at Lexington Opera House.

STEVE EARLE & JOHN HIATT; Wed., Aug. 22 at Lexington Opera House.

REV. HORTON HEAT; Mon., Sept. 3 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

CHRIS KNIGHT; Fri., Sept. 7 at Buster’s.

ANDREW BIRD; Sat., Sept. 29 at UK Singletary Center for the Arts.

CHRIS ISAAK; Sat., Nov. 17 at UK Singletary Center for the Arts.

THE BRIAN SETZER ORCHESTRA (Christmas Rocks! Extravaganza); Fri., Dec. 7 at UK Singletary Center for theArts.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RASCAL FLATTS with LITTLE BIG TOWN and ELI YOUNG BAND; Thu., Oct. 18 at Rupp Arena.

STAGE & COMEDY

SESAME STREET LIVE: CAN’T STOP SINGING; Fri.-Sun., Oct. 19- 21at Rupp Arena.

RON WHITE; Sat., Nov. 3 at UK Singletary Center for the Arts.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231- 7924; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535; UK Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose Street, 1-859-257-4929)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

OLD CROW MEDICINE SHOW; Thu., July 26 at Louisville Palace.

BARRY MANILOW; Fri., July 27 at Louisville Palace.

KISS & MOTLEY CRUE; Wed., Aug. 1 at KFC YUM! Center.

RUFUS WAINWRIGHT; Sun., Aug. 5 in Louisville at Iroquois Amphitheatre. www.iroquois.ticketfly.com

BRANDI CARLISLE; Sat., Aug. 11 in Louisville at Iroquois Amphitheatre. www.iroquois.ticketfly.com

BoDEANS; Fri., Aug. 24 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

JOURNEY; Fri., Aug. 17 at Freedom Hall.

HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Sat., Sept. 8 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

BUILT TO SPILL; Sat., Sept. 15 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

MORBID ANGEL; Sat., Sept. 22 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

FIONA APPLE; Fri., Oct. 5 at Louisville Palace.

KELLER WILLIAMS; Sat., Oct. 20 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

JUSTIN BIEBER; Fri., Nov. 2 at KFC YUM! Center.

NOEL GALLAGHER’S HIGH FLYING BIRDS with SNOW PATROL; Sun., Nov. 4 at Louisville Palace.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

HANK WILLIAM JR.; Thu., Aug. 16 at Freedom Hall.

RASCAL FLATTS with LITTLE BIG TOWN; Sat., Aug. 18 in Freedom Hall.

THE BAND PERRY; Sun., Aug. 26 at Freedom Hall.

HAYES CARLL; Fri., July 20 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

CARRIE UNDERWOOD; Sat., Sept. 22 at KFC YUM! Center.

RYAN BINGHAM; Fri., Oct. 12 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

ERIC CHURCH; Sun., Oct. 14 at KFC YUM! Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502- 645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502- 484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN- 4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221); Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777.)

PIKEVILLE, KY.

STAGE & COMEDY

SESAME STREET LIVE: CAN’T STOP SINGING; Fri.-Sun., Oct. 12- 14 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.

RENFRO VALLEY, Ky.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

At Renfro Valley Entertainment Center (1-800-765-7464): STEVE WARINER (Sat., July 21); RANDY TRAVIS (Sat., July 14); JAMEY JOHNSON (Fri., Aug. 10).



Leave a Reply