Whitesburg KY
Mostly sunny
Mostly sunny
83°F
 

Coming events



This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

I CALL FIVES; Tue., Aug. 21 at Letcher County Tourism Building in Whitesburg.

COREY CHISEL & THE WANDERING SONS; Wed., Sept. 12 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

REBECCA LYNN HOWARD; Sat., Aug. 18 at 9 p.m. in Whitesburg at River Park for Riverside Days Festival.

AARON TIPPIN; Sat., Sept. 29 at Mountain Heritage Festival.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

DRIVE- BY TRUCKERS with GLOSSARY; Fri.-Sat., Aug. 17-18 at The Orange Peel.

KC & THE SUNSHINE BAND; Sat., Aug. 18 at Biltmore Estate.

STEVE VAI; Wed., Aug. 22 at The Orange Peel.

ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT; Sun., Aug. 26 at The Orange Peel.

FOREIGNER; Sat., Sept. 1 at Biltmore Estate.

GALACTIC (featuring Corey Glover of Living Colour); Thu., Sept. 13 at The Orange Peel.

SCOTT MILLER & BOBBY BARE JR.; Thu., Sept. 14 at The Grey Eagle.

GUIDED BY VOICES; Mon., Sept. 17 at The Orange Peel.

NEEDTOBREATHE; Wed., Sept. 19 in Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

NAPPY ROOTS; Thu., Sept. 20 at The Orange Peel.

TWIN SHADOW; Fri., Sept. 21 at The Orange Peel.

MICHELLE SHOCKED; Sun., Sept. 23 at The Grey Eagle.

EDWARD SHARPE AND THE MAGNETIC ZEROS with CLAP YOUR HANDS SAY YEAH; Thu., Sept. 27 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

IAN ANDERSON (peforming ‘Thick As A Brick’ parts 1&2); Fri., Sept. 28 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

THE LETTERMEN; Sat., Sept. 28 at Biltmore Estate.

THE WALKMEN; Fri., Sept. 28 at The Orange Peel.

BEN SOLLEE; Sat., Sept. 29 at The Orange Peel.

CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD; Sun., Sept. 30 at The Orange Peel.

ANDREW BIRD; Mon., Oct. 1 at The Orange Peel.

AUGUST BURNS RED; Tue., Oct. 2 at The Orange Peel.

FIRST AID KIT; Wed., Oct. 3 at The Orange Peel.

GRACE POTTER & THE NOCTURNALS; Thu., Oct. 4 at The Orange Peel.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Sun., Oct. 7 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

JACKIE GREENE; Sun., Oct. 7 at The Grey Eagle.

BONNIE RAITT; Tue., Oct. 9 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

NICK LOWE; Wed., Oct. 10 at The Grey Eagle.

LEFTOVER SALMON; Wed., Oct. 10 at The Orange Peel.

THE ENGLISH BEAT; Thu., Oct. 11 at The Orange Peel.

PUNCH BROTHERS; Wed., Oct. 17 at The Orange Peel.

XAVIER RUDD; Sat., Oct. 20 at The Orange Peel.

JUSTICE; Thu., Oct. 25 at U.S. Cellular Center.

MOOGFEST 2012 featuring Primus 3D, Orbital, Miike Snow, Santigold, Squarepusher, Explosions in the Sky, The Magnetic Fields and others; Fri.-Sat., Oct. 26-27 at The Orange Peel.

CITIZEN COPE; Tue., Nov. 6 at The Orange Peel.

BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Fri., Nov. 30 at The Orange Peel.

MORRISEY; Wed., Dec. 5 at The Orange Peel.

CAROLINA CHOCOLATE DROPS; Sat., Dec. 8 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

ALISON KRAUSS; Fri., Aug 24 at Biltmore Estate.

CHRIS TOMLIN; Sat., Aug. 25 at Biltmore Estate.

REGIE HAMM with JOHN MICHAEL MONTGOMERY and MORGAN FRAZIER; Sat., Sept. 8 at U.S. Cellular Center.

PUNCH BROTHERS featuring Chris Thile; Wed., Oct. 17 at The Orange Peel.

LARRY GATLIN & THE GATLIN BROS.; Fri., Oct. 19 at Biltmore Estate.

TIM O’BRIEN; Sat., Oct. 20 at The Grey Eagle.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Biltmore Estate, 1 Approach Road, www.biltmore.com; The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232- 5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800; U.S. Cellular Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000.)

ASHLAND, Ky./

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

TODD SNIDER; Fri., Aug. 17 in Huntington at The V Club.

NEEDTOBREATHE; Sun., Sept. 16 in Huntington at Keith-Albee Theatre.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Wed., Oct. 10 in Huntington at Keith-Albee Theatre.

THE LETTERMEN; Sat., Dec. 15 in Huntington at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

DON WILLIAMS; Thu., Sept. 20 at Paramount Arts Center in Ashland.

GEORGE JONES; Fri., Sept. 21 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

ERIC CHURCH; Sat., Dec. 1 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

TRAVIS TRITT; Sun., Dec. 2 at Keith-Albee Theatre in Huntington.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324- 3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304- 696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656; The V Club, 741 6th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-781-0680.)

BRISTOL, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BRISTOL RHYTHM & ROOTS REUNION featuring Dr. Dog, Delta Spirit, Corey Chisel & The Wondering Sons, Tift Merritt and many more; Fri.-Sun., Sept. 14-16 in downtown Bristol, Tenn. www.bristolrhythm.com.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

BRISTOL RHYTHM & ROOTS REUNION featuring Robert Earl Keen, Sam Bush Band, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Pam Tillis, Billy Joe Shaver, Dale Watson, Steep Canyon Rangers and many more; Fri.-Sun., Sept. 14-16 in downtown Bristol, Tenn. www.bristolrhythm.com.

DARRELL SCOTT; Sat., Nov. 17 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

GORDON LIGHTFOOT; Mon., Sept. 17 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

PAT BENATAR & NEIL GIRALDO; Sun., Sept. 23 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

EARTH, WIND & FIRE; Thu., Sept. 27 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

BLUE MAN GROUP; Wed., Oct. 3 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

JOE BONAMASSA; Tue., Nov. 27 at Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences.

OTHER

DISNEY’S PHINEAS AND FERB LIVE; Sun., Aug. 26 at 4 p.m. at Charleston Municipal Auditorium.

CIRQUE DU SOLEIL: DRALION; Wed.-Sun., Sept. 12-16 at Charleston Civic Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Culture Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1- 304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/

NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BONNIE RAITT with MAVIS STAPLES; Sat., Aug. 18 at Fraze Pavilion.

THE CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD; Sun., Aug. 19 at 20th Century Theatre.

LINCOLN PARK & INCUBUS; Wed., Aug. 22 at RIverbend Music Center.

STEVE EARLE & JOHN HIATT; Thu., Aug. 23 at Taft Theatre.

BOB DYLAN; Sun., Aug. 26 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

DURAN DURAN; Tue., Aug. 28 at Fraze Pavilion.

‘ROCK ‘N’ BLUES FEST featuring EDGAR WINTER BAND, JOHNNY WINTER, RICK DERRINGER, LESLIE WEST and KIM SIMMONDS of Savoy Brown; Wed., Aug. 29 at Fraze Pavilion.

JASON MRAZ; Tue., Aug. 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

KISS with MOTLEY CRUE; Fri., Aug. 31 at Riverbend Music Center.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Fri., Aug. 31 at Fraze Pavilion.

TOAD THE WET SPROCKET; Thu., Sept. 6 at Taft Theatre.

METRIC; Sun., Sept. 9 at Madison Theater in Covington.

ROBERT CRAY & KENNY WAYNE SHEPHERD; Sun., Sept. 16 at Taft Theatre.

SLASH with FOXY SHAZAM; Fri., Sept. 21 at Bogart’s.

JOURNEY with PAT BENATAR and LOVERBOY; Fri., Sept. 21 at Riverbend Music Center.

ANI DIFRANCO; Fri., Sept. 28 at Madison Theater in Covington.

GAVIN DEGRAW; Mon., Sept. 30 at Fraze Pavilion.

KELLER WILLIAMS; Thu., Oct. 18 at 20th Century Theatre.

THE AFGHAN WHIGS; Thu., Oct. 25 at Bogart’s.

JOE BONAMASSA; Fri., Nov. 19 at Taft Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

MARY CHAPIN CARPENTER; Wed., Aug. 22 at Taft Theatre.

PAUL THORN; Sat., Sept. 22 at Madison Theater in Covington.

ERIC CHURCH; Sat., Oct. 6 at U.S. Bank Arena.

STAGE & COMEDY

JIM GAFFIGAN; Fri., Aug. 17 at Taft Theatre.

DISNEY ON ICE: TREASURE TROVE; Wed.-Sun., Oct. 24-28 at U.S. Bank Arena. Ticket sales begin Mon., Sept. 17.

DISNEY LIVE! MICKEY’S MUSIC FESTIVAL; Sat., Dec. 1 at U.S. Bank Arena.

KEVIN HART; Sat., Dec. 8 at U.S. Bank Arena.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621- 2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872-8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; Southgate House, 24 E. Third St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2202; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

ELTON JOHN; Sun., Sept. 16 at Freedom Hall. All tickets SOLD OUT.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

JOHN MICHAEL MONTGOMERY with MORGAN FRAZIER; Sun., Dec. 9 at Freedom Hall.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423- 282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

TED NUGENT’S GREAT WHITE BUFFALO TOUR; Mon., Aug. 20 at Tennessee Theatre.

FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH with KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, TRIVIUM, POP EVIL, EMMURE, GOD FORBID and BATTLE CROSS; Wed., Aug. 22 at Knoxville Civic Coliseum.

OLD CROW MEDICINE SHOW; Fri., Aug. 24 at Tennessee Theatre.

ERICK BAKER; Sat., Aug. 25 at Bijou Theatre.

MICKEY HART BAND; Thu., Aug. 30 at The Valarium.

WANDA JACKSON; Wed., Sept. 12 at The Square Room.

BEACH HOUSE; Fri., Sept. 14 at Bijou Theatre.

ZZ TOP with LYNYRD SKYNYRD; Sun., Sept. 16 at in Sevierville, Tenn., at Smokies Stadium. 1-865-428-2212.

YELAWOLF; Sun., Sept. 16 at The Valarium.

GRIZZLY BEAR; Sun., Sept. 16 at Tennessee Theatre.

PASSION PIT; Tue., Sept. 18 at The Valarium.

BEN SOLLEE; Fri., Sept. 21 at The Square Room.

ANDREW BIRD; Thu., Oct. 4 at Tennessee Theatre.

INGRID MICHAELSON; Sat., Oct. 13 at Bijou Theatre.

THE CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD; Tue., Oct. 30 at Bijou Theatre.

BUDDY GUY & JOHNNY LANG; Wed., Nov. 11 at Tennessee Theatre.

THE WHIGS; Thu., Nov. 1 at The Square Room.

MANNHEIM STEAMROLLER; Mon., Dec. 3 at Knoxville Civic Coliseum.

KEB’ MO’; Sun., Dec. 9 at Bijou Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

MARY CHAPIN CARPENTER; Thu., Aug. 23 at Bijou Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Cider House, 121 Ramsey Street, 1-865-544-4300; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544- 4199; Thompson-Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865- 522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865- 656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

TODD SNIDER with PATTERSON HOOD (of Drive By Truckers); Thu., Aug. 16 at Lexington Opera House.

STEVE EARLE & JOHN HIATT; Wed., Aug. 22 at Lexington Opera House.

REV. HORTON HEAT; Mon., Sept. 3 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

CHRIS KNIGHT; Fri., Sept. 7 at Buster’s.

ANDREW BIRD; Sat., Sept. 29 at UK Singletary Center for the Arts.

CHRIS ISAAK; Sat., Nov. 17 at UK Singletary Center for the Arts.

THE BRIAN SETZER ORCHESTRA (Christmas Rocks! Extravaganza); Fri., Dec. 7 at UK Singletary Center for theArts.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RASCAL FLATTS with LITTLE BIG TOWN and ELI YOUNG BAND; Thu., Oct. 18 at Rupp Arena.

STAGE & COMEDY

SESAME STREET LIVE: CAN’T STOP SINGING; Fri.-Sun., Oct. 19- 21at Rupp Arena.

RON WHITE; Sat., Nov. 3 at UK Singletary Center for the Arts.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231- 7924; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535; UK Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose Street, 1-859-257-4929)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

JOURNEY with PAT BENATAR and LOVERBOY; Fri., Aug. 17 at Freedom Hall.

BoDEANS; Fri., Aug. 24 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Sat., Sept. 8 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

BUILT TO SPILL; Sat., Sept. 15 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

MORBID ANGEL; Sat., Sept. 22 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

FIONA APPLE; Fri., Oct. 5 at Louisville

Palace.

KELLER WILLIAMS; Sat., Oct. 20 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

JUSTIN BIEBER; Fri., Nov. 2 at KFC YUM! Center.

NOEL GALLAGHER’S HIGH FLYING BIRDS with SNOW PATROL; Sun., Nov. 4 at Louisville Palace.

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN & THE E STREET BAND; Sat., Nov. 3 at KFC YUM! Center.

THE WHO (perform Quadrophenia); Sat., Feb. 16 at KFC YUM! Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

HANK WILLIAMS JR.; Thu., Aug. 16 at Freedom Hall.

RASCAL FLATTS with LITTLE BIG TOWN; Sat., Aug. 18 in Freedom Hall.

THE BAND PERRY; Sun., Aug. 26 at Freedom Hall.

CARRIE UNDERWOOD; Sat., Sept. 22 at KFC YUM! Center.

RYAN BINGHAM; Fri., Oct. 12 at Headliner’s Music Hall.

ERIC CHURCH; Sun., Oct. 14 at KFC YUM! Center.

STAGE & COMEDY

WICKED; Wed.-Sun., Sept. 12-30 at Whitney Hall at Kentucky Center for the Arts.

JERSEY BOYS; Tue.-Fri., Nov. 20-30 at Whitney Hall at Kentucky Center for the Arts.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502- 645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502- 484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN- 4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221); Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777.)

PIKEVILLE, KY.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

LYNYRD SKYNYRD; Thu., Sept. 13 at at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. Tickets, $37 and $27, on sale now. 1-606-444-5500.

RENFRO VALLEY, Ky.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

At Renfro Valley Entertainment Center (1-800-765-7464): CLAY WALKER (Thu., Aug. 16); DON WILLIAMS (Sept. 14-Sold Out); DAILEY & VINCENT (Fri., Sept. 21); MOE BANDY, DAVID FRIZZELL & JANIE FRICKE (Sat., Sept. 22); GENE WATSON (Fri., Sept. 28); RAY STEVENS (Sat., Sept. 29); MARTY STUART & CONNIE SMITH (Sat., Oct. 6); RONNIE McDOWELL with T. GRAHAM BROWN (Fri., Oct. 12); GEORGE JONES (Sat., Oct. 14).



Leave a Reply