Whitesburg KY
Mostly sunny
Mostly sunny
47°F
 

Coming events



This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

ROADKILL GHOST CHOIR (of Deland, Florida); Sat., Jan. 5 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

TODD SNIDER; Sat., Jan. 5 at The Orange Peel.

BLOC PARTY; Mon., Jan. 14 at The Orange Peel.

CAMPER VAN BEETHOVEN; Fri., Jan. 25 at The Grey Eagle.

PURITY RING; Sat., Jan. 26 at The Orange Peel.

MORRISSEY; Mon., Jan. 28 at the Orange Peel.

GRAVEYARD; Tue., Jan. 29 at The Orange Peel.

BIG HEAD TODD & THE MONSTERS; Fri., Feb. 1 at The Orange Peel.

THE USED; Thu., Feb. 7 at the Orange Peel.

OLD 97’S; Wed., Feb. 13 at The Orange Peel.

JON SPENCER BLUES EXPLOSION; Thu., Jan., 17 at The Grey Eagle.

FISHBONE; Wed., Feb. 20 at The Grey Eagle.

TIFT MERRITT; Thu., Feb. 21 at The Grey Eagle.

RA RA RIOT; Tue., Feb. 26 at The Grey Eagle.

LOTUS; Thu., Feb. 28 at The Orange Peel.

THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS; Fri., April 12 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

YONDER MOUNTAIN STRING BAND; Thu.-Fri., Jan. 24-25 at The Orange Peel.

STAGE & COMEDY

JERRY SEINFELD; Fri., Feb. 22 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Biltmore Estate, 1 Approach Road, www.biltmore.com; The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232- 5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800; U.S. Cellular Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000.)

ASHLAND, Ky./

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THREE DAYS GRACE with SHINEDOWN; Sat., Feb. 9 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

SMOKEY ROBINSON; Sat., Feb. 16 in Huntington at Keith-Albee Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

MIRANDA LAMBERT; Sat., Feb. 16 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

LITTLE BIG TOWN; Fri., March 1 in Huntington at Keith-Albee Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324- 3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304- 696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656; The V Club, 741 6th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-781-0680.)

BRISTOL, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

PAUL THORN; Sat., Jan. 19 at Theatre Bristol (512 State Street). 1-423-968-4977.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

DAILEY & VINCENT; Sat., Jan. 5 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 620 State, 620 State St., 1-423-652-0314; Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE AVETT BROTHERS; Sat., Feb. 16 at Charleston Municipal Auditorium.

THIRD DAY with COLON DIXON and JOSH WILSON; Thu., March 21 at Charleston Municipal Auditorium.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

CARRIE UNDERWOOD; Wed., May 8 at Charleston Civic Center.

LUKE BRYAN; Sat., Feb. 9 at Charleston Civic Center.

STAGE & COMEDY

DISNEY ON ICE: WORLDS OF FANTASY; Thu., Feb. 21 at Charleston Civic Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Cultural Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1- 304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/

NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Tue., Jan. 8 at Bogart’s.

GRACE POTTER & THE NOCTURNALS; Fri., Jan. 11 at Taft Theatre.

THE ELVIS TRIBUTE ARTIST SPECTACULAR; Sat., Jan. 12 at Taft Theatre.

MARILYN MANSON; Sat., Jan. 19 at Bogart’s.

HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Fri.-Sat., Jan. 21-22 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

FLOGGING MOLLY; Sun., Jan. 23 at Bogart’s.

CHRIS KNIGHT; Wed., Feb. 13 at Taft Theatre.

OLD 97’S; Fri., Feb. 15 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

FOREIGNER; Sat., Feb. 16 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind.

TESTAMENT; Wed., Feb. 20 at Bogart’s.

THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS; Thu., March 3 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky.

INDIGO GIRLS; Tue., March 5 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky.

BEACH HOUSE; Wed., May 24 at Bogart’s.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

ROBERT EARL KEEN; Fri., Jan. 18 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky.

YONDER MOUNTAIN STRING BAND; Thu., Jan. 31 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky.

CRYSTAL GAYLE; Sat., Jan. 26 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind.

JAMEY JOHNSON; Sat., Feb. 9 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind.

STAGE & COMEDY

SESAME STREET LIVE: ELMO’S SUPER HEROES; Fri.-Sun., May 3-5, 2013 at U.S. Bank Arena.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621- 2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872-8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; Southgate House Revival, 111 E. Sixth St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431- 2201; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THIRD DAY with COLTON DIXON and JOSH WILSON; Sat., March 9 at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

THE FAMILY STONE; Sun., June 2 at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

BLUE HIGHWAY; Fri.-Sat., Jan. 4-5 at The Down Home.

STAGE & COMEDY

SESAME STREET LIVE: ELMO MAKES MUSIC; Fri.-Sun., Dec. 28-30 at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Capone’s, 227 E. Main St., 1-423-928-2295; The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423-282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

UMPHREY’S MCGEE; Wed., Jan. 30 at Tennessee Theatre.

EDWIN McCAIN; Thu., Feb. 7 at The Square Room. moe.; Wed., Feb. 13 at Bijou Theatre.

PATTESON HOOD; Sat., Feb. 16 at Bijou Theatre.

TIFT MERRITT; Wed., Feb. 20 at The Square Room.

KID ROCK; Wed., Feb. 27 at Knoxville Civic Coliseum.

BUDDY GUY & JONNY LANG; Sun., March 3 at Tennessee Theatre.

THE FAMILY STONE; Sat., June 1 at Knosville Coliseum.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

YONDER MOUNTAIN STRING BAND; Thu., Jan. 10 at Tennessee Theatre.

MIRANDA LAMBERT with LUKE BRYAN; Fri., Jan. 18 at Thompson- Boling Arena.

ZAC BROWN BAND; Sun., Jan. 27 at Thompson-Boling Arena.

PAT GREEN; Sun., Feb. 24 at Bijou Theatre.

GEORGE STRAIT & MARTINA McBRIDE; Fri., March 1 at Thompson- Boling Arena.

GEORGE JONES; Sat., April 6 at Knoxville Coliseum.

STAGE & COMEDY

RON WHITE; Sat., Jan. 5 at Tennessee Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Cider House, 121 Ramsey Street, 1-865-544-4300; Cotton Eyed Joe, 11220 Outlet Drive, 1-865-675-3563;Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865- 656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544-4199; Thompson- Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865-522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865-656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

UMPHREY’S MCGEE; Thu., Jan. 31at Buster’s.

HATEBREED; Fri., Feb. 8 at Buster’s

SHINEDOWN and THREE DAYS GRACE with P.O.D.; Sat., Feb. 16 at Rupp Arena.

ELVIS LIVES: THE ULTIMATE ELVIS TRIBUTE ARTIST EVENT; Wed., April 3 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RASCAL FLATTS with THE BAND PERRY; Fri., Feb. 8 at Rupp Arena.

GEORGE STRAIT with MARTINA McBRIDE; Sat., March 2 at Rupp Arena.

TAYLOR SWIFT with ED SHEERAN; Sat., April 27 in Rupp Arena.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL

BRANFORD MARSALIS; Tue., Feb. 26 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond.

THE SILK ROAD ENSEMBLE W/ YO-YO MA; Wed., March 20 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond.

STAGE & COMEDY

STOMP; Wed.-Thu., Jan. 16-17 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond.

A CHORUS LINE; Tue., Feb. 19 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859- 231-7924; Natasha’s, 112 Esplanade, 1-859-259-2754; Rupp Arena & Lexington

Opera House, 1-859-233-3535; UK Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose Street, 1-859-257-4929)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

MAGIC TRICK with FATHER JOHN MISTY; Wed., Jan. 9 at Headliners Music Hall.

GRACE POTTER & THE NOCTURNALS; Wed., Jan. 16 at Brown Theatre.

CALEXICO with YO LA TENGO; Tue., Jan. 29 at Brown Theatre.

3 DOORS DOWN with DAUGHTRY; Sat., Feb. 2 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

MATCHBOX TWENTY; Tue., Feb. 5 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

COMPANY OF THIEVES; Wed., Feb. 6 at Headliners Music Hall.

THE WHO with VINTAGE TROUBLE; Sat., Feb. 16 at KFC Yum! Center.

OLD 97’S; Sun., Feb. 17 at Headliners Music Hall.

BLACK VEIL BRIDES; Tue., Feb. 19 at Headliners Music Hall.

KID ROCK; Sat., March 2 at KFC Yum! Center.

TAME IMPALA; Sat., March 2 at Headliners Music Hall.

PINK with THE HIVES; Fri., March 8 at KFC Yum! Center.

BON JOVI; Thu., March 14 at KFC Yum! Center.

YES (performing the albums ‘The Yes Album’, ‘Close To The Edge’ and ‘Going For The One’); Sun., March 17 at Louisville Palace.

FLEETWOOD MAC; Thu., April 8 at KFC Yum! Center.

ONE DIRECTION; Sun., June 16 at KFC Yum! Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

ZAC BROWN BAND; Thu., Jan. 10 at KFC YUM! Center.

JIM LAUDERDALE with BUDDY MILLER; Fri., Feb. 2 at Headliners Music Hall.

PUNCH BROTHERS; Tue., Feb. 5 at Brown Theatre.

LUKE BRYAN with THOMPSON SQUARE and FLORIDA GEORGIA LINE; Fri., Feb. 22 at KFC Yum! Center.

TAYLOR SWIFT; Tue., May 7 at KFC Yum! Center.

STAGE & COMEDY

JERRY SEINFELD; Thu., Feb. 21 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

BRIAN REGAN; Thu., April 25 at Brown Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502-645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800- 231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502-484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN-4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502- 583-4555, ext. 221); Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777.)

PIKEVILLE, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RASCAL FLATTS with THE BAND PERRY; Sat., Feb. 23 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606- 444-5500.

BRANTLEY GILBERT with KIP MOORE; Sat., April 20 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.

OTHER

HARLEM GLOBETROTTERS; Thu., March 21 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.



Leave a Reply