Whitesburg KY
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy
66°F
 

Coming events



This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

KELLY RICHEY; Sat., Feb. 23 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

L.A. GUNS; Thu., March 7 at Summit City in Whitesburg. $25.

BRIAN OWENS; Sat., March 9 at Summit City in Whitesburg. $10.

OLD SOUTHERN MOONSHINE REVIVAL with COREY HARRIS; Sat., March 30 at Summit City in Whitesburg. $10.

GANGSTAGRASS; Thu., April 18 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

DAMON JOHNSON (guitarist with Thin Lizzy/Black Star Riders, formerly with Alice Cooper’s band, and Brother Cane); Sat., May 11 at Summit City in Whitesburg. $12.

ADLER (featuring former Guns ‘N’ Roses drummer Steven Adler); Wed., July 3 at Summit City in Whitesburg. $25.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633- 2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

KARLA BONOFF; Sat., March 1 at The Altamont Theatre.

NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS; Sun., March 17 at The Orange Peel.

AWOLNATION; Mon., March 18 at The Orange Peel.

TOM RUSH; Thu., March 21 at The Altamont Theatre.

MICHELLE MALONE; Fri., March 22 at The Altamont Theatre.

CARRIE NEWCOMER; Sat., March 23 at The Altamont Theatre.

THE BLACK ANGELS; Fri., April 5 at The Orange Peel.

JONATHAN EDWARDS; Fri., April 5 at The Altamont Theatre.

GLEN PHILLIPS (of Toad the Wet Sprocket); Sat., April 6 at The Altamont Theatre.

THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS; Fri., April 12 at The Orange Peel.

CHARLES BRADLEY; Wed., April 17 at The Orange Peel.

JIM JAMES; Fri., May 3 at The Orange Peel.

LEON REDBONE; Sat., May 4 at The Altamont Theatre.

JOSH RITTER with THE FELICE BROTHERS; Mon., May 13 at The Orange Peel.

FATHER JOHN MISTY; Tue., May 14 at The Orange Peel.

HAYSEED DIXIE; Fri., May 24 at The Altamont Theatre.

JAMES McCARTNEY; Tue., May 28 at The Altamont Theatre.

LEO KOTTKE; Fri., June 14 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RYAN BINGHAM; Thu., March 28 at The Orange Peel.

IRIS DEMENT; Sat., March 30 at The Grey Eagle.

PAUL THORN; Fri., May 17 at The Orange Peel.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Altamont Theatre, 18 Church St., 1-828-348-5327; Biltmore Estate, 1 Approach Road, www.biltmore.com; The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232- 5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411- 3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800; U.S. Cellular Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800- 745-3000.)

ASHLAND, Ky./

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE READY SET; Wed., March 20 in Huntington at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

LITTLE BIG TOWN; Fri., March 1 in Huntington at Keith- Albee Theatre.

STAGE & COMEDY

LARRY THE CABLE GUY; Fri., May 17 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324-3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304-696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304- 696-6656; The V Club, 741 6th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-781-0680.)

BRISTOL, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

DAVID CROWDER; Sat., March 2 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

MOUNTAIN STAGE; Sun., March 10 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

MANDY BARNETT (singing the songs of Patsy Cline); Sat., March 23 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

CLINT BLACK; Fri., May 17 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

STAGE & COMEDY

JAMES GREGORY; Sat., March 2 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

SECOND CITY COMEDY; Sat., April 13 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 620 State, 620 State St., 1-423-652-0314; Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423- 274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764- 0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THIRD DAY with COLON DIXON and JOSH WILSON; Thu., March 21 at Charleston Municipal Auditorium.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

KENNY ROGERS; Wed., March 6 at Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences.

CARRIE UNDERWOOD; Wed., May 8 at Charleston Civic Center.

BLAKE SHELTON wi t h EASTON CORBIN and JENNA KRAMER; Thu., Sept. 19 at Charleston Civic Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Cultural Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1-304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/

NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

MUSE with DEAD SARA; Wed., Feb. 27 at U.S. Bank Arena.

THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS; Thu., March 3 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky.

INDIGO GIRLS; Tue., March 5 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky.

CLUTCH; Fri., March 8 at Bogart’s.

ANIMAL COLLECTIVE; Tue., March 12 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky.

CHEVELLE; Mon., March 18 at Bogart’s.

SCOTT WEILAND; Fri., March 22 at Bogart’s.

THE WHIGS; Sun., March 17 at 20th Century Theatre.

AARON LEWIS; Sun., March 24 at Bogart’s.

JEFF THE BROTHERHOOD; Mon., April 1 at Taft Theatre.

ANTRHAX with EXODUS, MUNICIPAL WASTE, HOLY GRAIL and HIGH ON FIRE; Sun., April 7 at Bogart’s.

ELTON JOHN; Wed., April 3 at Wright State Univerity in Dayton, O.

BOB SEGER & THE SILVER BULLET BAND; Tue., April 9 at Wright State Univerity in Dayton, O. www.ticketmaster.com

JOSH RITTER; Sun., April 14 at Taft Theatre.

RUSTED ROOT; Fri., April 19 at Taft Theatre.

BILLY BRAGG; Tue., April 30 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

LUCERO; Thu., May 2 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

THE LUMINEERS; Sat., May 4 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

CHUCK PROPHET; Fri., May 17 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

TODD RUNDGREN; Sat., May 18 at Bogart’s.

BEACH HOUSE; Wed., May 24 at Bogart’s.

NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK with 98 DEGREES and BOYZ II MEN; Tue., June 25 at U.S. Bank Arena.

DAVE MATTHEWS BAND; Fri., July 12 at Riverbend Music Center.

JIMMY BUFFETT; Tue., July 16 at Riverbend Music Center.

JOHN WAITE; Fri., July 19 at Fraze Pavilion for the Performing Arts in Kettering, O., near Cincinnati.

BRIAN WILSON, AL JARDINE & DAVID MARKS; Thu., July 25 at Fraze Pavilion for the Performing Arts in Kettering, O., near Cincinnati.

VANS WARPED TOUR; Tue., July 30 at Riverbend Music Center.

THE HAPPY TOGETHER TOUR featuring The Turtles, Gary Lewis & The Playboys, Mark Lindsay, Gary Puckett & The Union Gap and CHUCK NEGRON; Wed., Aug. 7 at Fraze Pavilion for the Performing Arts in Kettering, O., near Cincinnati.

GEORGE THOROGOOD & THE DESTROYERS with BUDDY GUY; Fri., Aug. 16 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RYAN BINGHAM; Wed., March 27 at Taft Theatre.

TIM McGRAW with BRANTLEY GILBERT; Sat., May 25 at Riverbend Music Center.

KENNY CHESNEY with ELI YOUNG BAND and KACEY MUSGRAVES; Fri., June 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

KEITH URBAN; Thu., July 18 at Riverbend Music Center.

STEVE MARTIN with STEEP CANYON RANGERS and EDIE BRICKELL; Sun., July 28 at Fraze Pavilion for the Performing Arts in Kettering, O., near Cincinnati.

BLAKE SHELTON wi t h EASTON CORBIN and JANA KRAMER; Sun., July 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

LUKE BRYAN with FLORIDA GEORGIA LINE and THOMPSON SQUARE; Thu., Sept. 26 at Riverbend Music Center.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL

DAVID SANBORN & BOB JAMES with JEFF GOLUB; Sun., June 8 RAP, CHRISTIAN

LOTUS; Thu., Feb. 28 at The Orange Peel.

STAGE & COMEDY

KATHY GRIFFIN; Fri., April 5 at Taft Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872- 8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937- 296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; Southgate House Revival, 111 E. Sixth St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2201; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THIRD DAY with COLTON DIXON and JOSH WILSON; Sat., March 9 at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

THE FAMILY STONE; Sun., June 2 at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

WILLIE NELSON; Thu., April 4 at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Capone’s, 227 E. Main St., 1-423-928-2295; The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822; Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423-282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

KID ROCK; Wed., Feb. 27 at Knoxville Civic Coliseum.

CITIZEN COPE; Mon., March 11 at Bijou Theatre.

AMOS LEE; Fri., March 29 at Bijou Theatre.

SON VOLT; Sun., April 14 at Bijou Theatre.

BUDDY GUY & JONNY LANG; Sun., March 3 at Tennessee Theatre.

NEEDTOBREATHE; Wed.- Thu., April 3-4 at Tennessee Theatre.

THE TEMPTATIONS; Fri., April 12 at Tennessee Theatre.

FATHER JOHN MISTY; Mon., May 13 at Bijou Theatre.

THE FAMILY STONE; Sat., June 1 at Knosville Coliseum.

WIDESPREAD PANIC; Mon.- Tue., June 3-3 at Tennessee Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

GEORGE STRAIT with MARTINA McBRIDE; Fri., March 1 at Thompson-Boling Arena.

EMMYLOU HARRIS with RODNEY CROWELL and RICHARD THOMPSON; Fri., April 5 at Tennessee Theatre.

GEORGE JONES; Sat., April 6 at Knoxville Coliseum.

CHRIS THILE; Tue., April 16 at Bijou Theatre.

JASON ALDEAN; Sat., April 20 at Thompson-Boling Arena.

BLAKE SHELTON wi t h EASTON CORBIN and JANA KRAMER; Fri., Sept. 27 at Thompson Boling Arena.

STAGE & COMEDY

DANIEL TOSH; Sun., June 16 at Tennessee Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; Cider House, 121 Ramsey Street, 1-865-544- 4300; Cotton Eyed Joe, 11220 Outlet Drive, 1-865-675-3563;Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544-4199; Thompson-Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865-522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865-656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE CORDUROY ROAD; Sat., March 30 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

MEAT PUPPETS; Wed., April 10 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

ELVIS LIVES: THE ULTIMATE ELVIS TRIBUTE ARTIST EVENT; Wed., April 3 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

GEORGE STRAIT with MARTINA McBRIDE; Sat., March 2 at Rupp Arena.

TAYLOR SWIFT with ED SHEERAN; Sat., April 27 in Rupp Arena.

BLAKE SHELTON wi t h EASTON CORBIN and JANA KRAMER; Sat., Sept. 21 at Rupp Arena.

LUKE BRYAN with FLORIDA GEORGIA LINE and THOMPSON SQUARE; Sat., Oct. 19 at Rupp Arena.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL

THE SILK ROAD ENSEMBLE W/ YO-YO MA; Wed., March 20 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859-309- 9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859- 622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231-7924; Natasha’s, 112 Esplanade, 1-859- 259-2754; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535; UK Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose Street, 1-859-257-4929)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

KID ROCK; Sat., March 2 at KFC Yum! Center.

TAME IMPALA; Sat., March 2 at Headliners Music Hall.

KID ROCK; Sat., March 2 at KFC Yum! Center.

BUDDY GUY with JONNY LANG; Tue., March 5 at Whitney Hall.

FRANKIE VALLI; Fri., March 8 at Whitney Hall.

PINK with THE HIVES; Fri., March 8 at KFC Yum! Center.

BON JOVI; Thu., March 14 at KFC Yum! Center.

YES (performing the albums ‘The Yes Album’, ‘Close To The Edge’ and ‘Going For The One’); Sun., March 17 at Louisville Palace.

GRIZZLEY BEAR; Mon., April 1 at Brown Theatre.

STYX; Sat., April 6 at Horseshoe Casino in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville.

FLEETWOOD MAC; Thu., April 11 at KFC Yum! Center.

HATEBREED; Mon., April 15 at Headliners Music Hall.

WIDESPREAD PANIC; Tue.- Wed., April 16-17 at Louisville Palace.

JIM JAMES; Wed., April 17 at Brown Theatre.

NEEDTOBREATHE; Thu., April 18 at Brown Theatre.

JOSH RITTER; Fri., April 19 at Brown Theatre.

LUCERO; Fri., May 3 at Headliners Music Hall.

JOHNNY MATHIS; Fri., June 7 at Whitney Hall.

ONE DIRECTION; Sun., June 16 at KFC Yum! Center.

THE HAPPY TOGETHER TOUR featuring The Turtles, Gary Lewis & The Playboys, Mark Lindsay, Gary Puckett & The Union Gap and CHUCK NEGRON; Wed., Aug. 22 at the Kentucky State Fair.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

LUKE BRYAN with THOMPSON SQUARE and FLORIDA GEORGIA LINE; Fri., Feb. 22 at KFC Yum! Center.

TAYLOR SWIFT; Tue., May 7 at KFC Yum! Center.

STAGE & COMEDY

JERRY SEINFELD; Thu., Feb. 21 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

BRIAN REGAN; Thu., April 25 at Brown Theatre.

RODNEY CARRINGTON; Fri., May 17 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502-645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231- 8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502-484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN-4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221); Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777.)

PIKEVILLE, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RASCAL FLATTS with THE BAND PERRY; Sat., Feb. 23 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.

JUSTIN MOORE; Thu., March 14 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.

BRANTLEY GILBERT with KIP MOORE; Sat., April 20 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606- 444-5500.

OTHER

HARLEM GLOBETROTTERS; Thu., March 21 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606- 444-5500.



Leave a Reply