Whitesburg KY
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy
75°F
 

Coming events




DAMON JOHNSON founded the rock band Brother Cane before joining Alice Cooper and Thin Lizzy. Johnson, who also excels at singing and songwriting, will return to Whitesburg on May 10 for a show at Summit City.

DAMON JOHNSON founded the rock band Brother Cane before joining Alice Cooper and Thin Lizzy. Johnson, who also excels at singing and songwriting, will return to Whitesburg on May 10 for a show at Summit City.

This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BRIAN CAMPBELL; Fri., May 3 at Streetside Grill & Bar in Whitesburg.

DAMON JOHNSON (guitarist with Thin Lizzy/Black Star Riders, formerly with Alice Cooper’s band, and Brother Cane); Fri., May 10 at Summit City in Whitesburg. $12.

THE TWANG BANGERS; Fri., May 17 at Streetside Grill & Bar in Whitesburg.

BUFFALO KILLERS; Sat., May 18 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

ST. PAUL & THE BROKEN BONES; Sat., June 8 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

CHAD WARRIX cut his musical teeth on rock before switching to country music after moving to Nashville. The singer-songwriter from Breathitt County, Ky., had national success with the duo Halfway to Hazard before embarking on a solo career which brings him to Streetside Grill & Bar in Whitesburg on June 21.

CHAD WARRIX cut his musical teeth on rock before switching to country music after moving to Nashville. The singer-songwriter from Breathitt County, Ky., had national success with the duo Halfway to Hazard before embarking on a solo career which brings him to Streetside Grill & Bar in Whitesburg on June 21.

SHONNA TUCKER (formerly of Drive-By Truckers) & EYE CANDY; Sat., June 15 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

ADLER (featuring former Guns ‘N’ Roses drummer Steven Adler); Wed., July 3 at Summit City in Whitesburg. $25.

FOLK SOUL REVIVAL; Fri., July 26 at Streetside Grill & Bar in Whitesburg.

KIP WINGER; Thu., Aug. 22 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

STURGILL SIMPSON; Wed., May 29 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

BLUEGRASS DECK DANCE featuring Rachel Eddy and Chris Mullins; Thu., May 30 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

CHAD WARRIX (formerly of Halfway to Hazard); Fri., June 21 at Streetside Bar & Grill in Whitesburg.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Streetside Grill & Bar, 203 Main St., 633-2721; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

TEDESCHI TRUCKS BAND; Thu., May 2 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

JIM JAMES; Fri., May 3 at The Orange Peel.

LEON REDBONE; Sat., May 4 at The Altamont Theatre.

THE WALLFLOWERS; Tue., May 7 at The Orange Peel.

JOSH RITTER with THE FELICE BROTHERS; Mon., May 13 at The Orange Peel.

FATHER JOHN MISTY; Tue., May 14 at The Orange Peel.

LAMB OF GOD; Thu., May 16 at The Orange Peel.

!!!; Mon., May 20 at The Orange Peel.

HAYSEED DIXIE; Fri., May 24 at The Altamont Theatre.

JAMES McCARTNEY; Tue., May 28 at The Altamont Theatre.

SOJA; Wed., May 29 at The Orange Peel.

SOCIAL DISTORTION; Wed., June 5 at The Orange Peel.

JOHN McLAUGHLIN; Thu., June 13 at The Orange Peel.

LEO KOTTKE; Fri., June 14 at The Orange Peel.

DAVID BYRNE AND ST. VINCENT; Sat., June 15 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

GORDON LIGHTFOOT; Sun., June 16 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

KURT VILE; Wed., July 17 at The Grey Eagle.

MASTADON; Wed., Aug. 14 at The Orange Peel.

ANI DiFRANCO; Sat., Sept. 28 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

HAYES CARLL; Tue., May 14 at The Grey Eagle.

OLD CROW MEDICINE SHOW; Wed., May 15 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

PAUL THORN; Fri., May 17 at The Orange Peel.

PATTY GRIFFIN; Thu., May 30 at The Orange Peel.

BILLY JOE SHAVER; Sun., June 16 at The Grey Eagle.

MARTY STUART; Sat., Sept. 7 at U.S. Cellular Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Altamont Theatre, 18 Church St., 1-828-348-5327; Biltmore Estate, 1 Approach Road, www.biltmore.com; The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232- 5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411- 3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800; U.S. Cellular Center, 87 Haywood St., 1-800- 745-3000.)

ASHLAND, Ky./

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

DWIGHT YOAKAM; Sat., June 8 at Paramount Arts Center in Ashland.

LEE BRICE; Sun., Aug. 18 t Paramount Arts Center in Ashland.

STAGE & COMEDY

LARRY THE CABLE GUY; Fri., May 17 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324-3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304-696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304- 696-6656; The V Club, 741 6th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-781-0680.)

BRISTOL, Tenn.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

CLINT BLACK; Fri., May 17 at Paramount Center for the Arts.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 620 State, 620 State St., 1-423-652-0314; Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423- 274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764- 0188)

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THIRD DAY with COLON DIXON and JOSH WILSON; Thu., March 21 at Charleston Municipal Auditorium.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

CARRIE UNDERWOOD; Wed., May 8 at Charleston Civic Center.

BLAKE SHELTON wi t h EASTON CORBIN and JENNA KRAMER; Thu., Sept. 19 at Charleston Civic Center.

KEITH URBAN with LITTLE BIG TOWN and DUSTIN LYNCH; Sat., Dec. 7 at Charleston Civic Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Cultural Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1-304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/

NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

LUCERO; Thu., May 2 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

THE LUMINEERS; Sat., May 4 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

CHUCK PROPHET; Fri., May 17 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

TODD RUNDGREN; Sat., May 18 at Bogart’s.

BEACH HOUSE; Wed., May 24 at Bogart’s.

NAPPY ROOTS; Wed., May 29 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

PASSION PIT; Tue., June 4 at U.S. Bank Arena.

DROPKICK MURPHEYS; Fri., June 7 at Bogart’s.

SMOKEY ROBINSON; Sat., June 8 at Riverbend Music Center.

PATTERSON HOOD; Sun., June 9 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

BARONESS; Wed., June 12 at Taft Theatre.

THE GASLIGHT ANTHEM; Thu., June 13 at Bogart’s.

DAWES; Fri., June 14 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

PORTUGAL. THE MAN; Fri., June 14 at Bogart’s.

BUFFALO KILLERS; Sat., June 15 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

SHERYL CROW; Sat., June 15 at Fraze Pavilion.

KILLSWITCH ENGAGE with AS I LAY DYING and others; Mon., June 17 at Bogart’s.

BLACK FLAG; Thu., June 20 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky.

WALTER TROUT & THE RADICALS with KELLY RICHEY; Sat., June 22 at Fraze Pavilion.

STYX; Tue., June 25 at Fraze Pavilion.

NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK with 98 DEGREES and BOYZ II MEN; Tue., June 25 at U.S. Bank Arena.

GO-GO’S; Wed., June 26 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

HERMAN’S HERMITS STARRING PETER NOONE; Thu., June 27 at Fraze Pavilion.

L.L. COOL J with ICE CUBE, PUBLIC ENEMY, DE LA SOUL and Z-TRIP; Thu., June 27 at Riverbend Music Center.

GOO GOO DOLLS with MATCHBOX TWENTY; Sun., June 30 at Riverbend Music Center.

RUSH; Tue., July 2 at Riverbend Music Center.

NIGHT RANGER; Fri., July 5 at Fraze Pavilion.

BOB DYLAN with WILCO and MY MORNING JACKET; Sat., July 6 at Riverbend Music Center.

JOHN MAYER; Tue., July 9 at Riverbend Music Center.

DAVID BYRNE AND ST. VINCENT; Wed., July 10 at Taft Theatre.

THE GUESS WHO; Thu., July 11 at Fraze Pavilion.

DAVE MATTHEWS BAND; Fri., July 12 at Riverbend Music Center.

JONAS BROTHERS; Sun., July 14 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

JIMMY BUFFETT; Tue., July 16 at Riverbend Music Center.

ANIMAL COLLECTIVE; Thu., July 18 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater.

JOHN WAITE; Fri., July 19 at Fraze Pavilion.

IAN ANDERSON; Sat., July 20 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

3 DOORS DOWN wi t h DAUGHTRY and ORLEANDER; Tud., July 23 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

STEELY DAN; Wed., July 24 at Fraze Pavilion.

BAD COMPANY with LYNYRD SKYNYRD and BLACK STONE CHERRY; Wed., July 24 at Riverbend Music Center.

BRIAN WILSON, AL JARDINE & DAVID MARKS; Thu., July 25 at Fraze Pavilion.

HEART with JASON BONHAM’S LED ZEPPELIN EXPERIENCE; Sat., July 27 at Riverbend Music Center.

VANS WARPED TOUR; Tue., July 30 at Riverbend Music Center.

GRIZZLY BEAR; Fri., Aug. 2 at Taft Theatre.

MAROON 5 with KELLY CLARKSON and ROZZI CRANE; Sun., Aug. 4 at Riverbend Music Center.

LIL WAYNE with T.I. and FUTURE; Tue., Aug. 6 at Riverbend Music Center.

THE HAPPY TOGETHER TOUR featuring The Turtles, Gary Lewis & The Playboys, Mark Lindsay, Gary Puckett & The Union Gap and CHUCK NEGRON; Wed., Aug. 7 at Fraze Pavilion for the Performing Arts in Kettering, O., near Cincinnati.

CHRISTOPHER CROSS with ORLEANS, GARY WRIGHT, FIREFALL, JOHN FORD COLEY, ROBBIE DUPREE and PLAYER; Thu., Aug. 8 at Fraze Pavilion.

YES; Tue., Aug. 13 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

PETER FRAMPTON with B.B. KING and SONNY LANDRETH; Wed., Aug. 14 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

GEORGE THOROGOOD & THE DESTROYERS with BUDDY GUY; Fri., Aug. 16 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center.

TONY BENNETT; Sun., Aug. 25 at Fraze Pavilion.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Wed., Jan. 22, 2014, at Taft Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

LYLE LOVETT; Thu., May 9 at Taft Theatre.

TIM McGRAW with BRANTLEY GILBERT; Sat., May 25 at Riverbend Music Center.

BRAD PAISLEY with CHRIS YOUNG and LEE BRICE; Thu., June 6 at Riverbend Music Center.

TOBY KEITH; Fri., June 14 at Riverbend Music Center.

MERLE HAGGARD; Wed., June 26 at Taft Theatre.

KENNY CHESNEY with ELI YOUNG BAND and KACEY MUSGRAVES; Fri., June 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

KEITH URBAN; Thu., July 18 at Riverbend Music Center.

ALABAMA; Fri., July 26 at Fraze Pavilion.

STEVE MARTIN with STEEP CANYON RANGERS and EDIE BRICKELL; Sun., July 28 at Fraze Pavilion.

BLAKE SHELTON wi t h EASTON CORBIN and JANA KRAMER; Sun., July 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

LUKE BRYAN with FLORIDA GEORGIA LINE and THOMPSON SQUARE; Thu., Sept. 26 at Riverbend Music Center.

JAZZ & CLASSICAL

DAVID SANBORN & BOB JAMES with JEFF GOLUB; Sun., June 8

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872-8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513- 232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; Southgate House Revival, 111 E. Sixth St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431- 2201; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

THE FAMILY STONE; Sun., June 2 at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

CONFEDERATE RAILROAD; Thu., July 4 at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Capone’s, 227 E. Main St., 1-423-928-2295; The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423-282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

FATHER JOHN MISTY; Mon., May 13 at Bijou Theatre.

DEAD CONFEDERATE with ROADKILL GHOST CHOIR; Wed., May 15 at The Bowery.

THE AVETT BROTHERS; Thu., May 16 at Knoxville Coliseum.

Z.Z. TOP; Tue., May 21 at Tennessee Theatre.

THE FAMILY STONE; Sat., June 1 at Knosville Coliseum.

WIDESPREAD PANIC; Mon.- Tue., June 3-4 at Tennessee Theatre.

EARTH, WIND & FIRE; Tue., June 11 at Tennessee Theatre.

HARRY CONNICK JR.; Thu., July 11 at Tennessee Theatre.

BOZ SCAGGS; Mon., July 22 at Tennessee Theatre.

COREY SMITH; Sat., Aug. 24 at Tennessee Theatre.

HUEY LEWIS & THE NEWS with KEVIN ABERNATHY and MICK HARRISON; Mon., Aug. 26 at Tennessee Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

DARIUS RUCKER; Sun., May 19 at Knosville Coliseum.

BLAKE SHELTON with EASTON CORBIN and JANA KRAMER; Fri., Sept. 27 at Thompson-Boling Arena.

STAGE & COMEDY

DANIEL TOSH; Sun., June 16 at Tennessee Theatre.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; The Bowery, 125 E. Jackson St., 1-865-414-6050; Cider House, 121 Ramsey Street, 1- 865- 544- 4300; Cotton Eyed Joe, 11220 Outlet Drive, 1-865-675-3563;Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656- 4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544-4199; Thompson-Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865- 522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865-656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE; Fri., May 3 at Buster’s.

BLACK FLAG; Wed., June 19 at Buster’s.

BUDDY GUY wi t h QUINN SULLIVAN; Fri., June 21 at Lexington Opera House. COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

VINCE GILL; Tue., May 14 at Lexington Opera House.

BLAKE SHELTON with EASTON CORBIN and JANA KRAMER; Sat., Sept. 21 at Rupp Arena.

LUKE BRYAN with FLORIDA GEORGIA LINE and THOMPSON SQUARE; Sat., Oct. 19 at Rupp Arena.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859- 368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859- 309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231- 7924; Natasha’s, 112 Esplanade, 1-859-259-2754; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535; UK Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose Street, 1-859- 257-4929)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN

LUCERO; Fri., May 3 at Headliners Music Hall.

SOUNDGARDEN; Fri., May 10 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

PAUL KELLY; Sat., May 11 at Zanzabar.

PAUL ANKA; Sun., May 12 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

THE WHIGS with DRIVN’ N’ CRYIN’; Thu., May 16 at Headliners Music Hall.

DAVID LINDLEY; Tue., May 21 at Headliners Music Hall.

DARYL HALL & JOHN OATES; Tue., May 28 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

PETER CASE; Sun., June 2 at Uncle Slayton’s.

JAMES McCARTNEY; Wed., June 5 at Uncle Slayton’s.

JOHNNY MATHIS; Fri., June 7 at Whitney Hall.

THE TALLEST MAN ON EARTH; Sat., June 8 at Headliners Music Hall.

EARTH, WIND & FIRE; Fri., June 14 at Whitney Hall.

ONE DIRECTION; Sun., June 16 at KFC Yum! Center.

DEADSTRING BROTHERS with FIFTH ON THE FLOOR; Fri., June 21 at Uncle Slayton’s.

SON VOLT; Sun., June 23 at Headliners Music Hall.

NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK with 98 DEGREES and BOYS II MEN; Mon., June 24 at KFC Yum! Center.

DAVID BYRNE AND ST. VINCENT; Tue., July 2 at Whitney Hall.

THE EAGLES; Sat., July 6 at KFC Yum! Center.

FORCASTLE FESTIVAL featuring The Black Keys, Robert Plant & The Sensational Shape Shifters, Animal Collective, The Avett Brothers, Grace Potter & The Nocturnals, The Flaming Lips, Alabama Shakes, Jim James, Dawes, Kurt Vile and many more; Fri.- Sun., July 12-14 at Louisville Waterfront Park. www.forecastlefest. com

STEVE MILLER BAND; Tue., July 16 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

WOODS; Mon., July 22 at Zanzabar.

STEELY DAN; Fri., July 26 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

UMPHREY’S MCGEE; Thu., Aug. 15 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

BRUNO MARS with FITZ AND THE TANTRUMS; Sun., Aug. 18 at KFC Yum! Center.

THE HAPPY TOGETHER TOUR featuring The Turtles, Gary Lewis & The Playboys, Mark Lindsay, Gary Puckett & The Union Gap and CHUCK NEGRON; Wed., Aug. 22 at the Kentucky State Fair.

SELENA GOMEZ & THE SCENE; Wed., Oct. 23 at KFC Yum! Center.

THE FRESH BEAT BAND; Wed., Jan. 15, 2014, at Louisville Palace Theatre. COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

HOLLY WILLIAMS; Sun., June 30 at Uncle Slayton’s.

TAYLOR SWIFT; Tue., May 7 at KFC Yum! Center.

STAGE & COMEDY

RODNEY CAR- RINGTON; Fri., May 17 at Louisville Palace Theatre.

( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502- 645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800- 231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502-484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN-4-U; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221; Uncle Slayton’s, 1017 E. Broadway, 1-502-657- 9555; Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777; Zanzabar, 2100 S. Preston St., 1-502-635-9227)

PIKEVILLE, KY. COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

COREY SMITH; Fri., May 24 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606- 444-5500.


Leave a Reply