Whitesburg KY
Thunderstorms
Thunderstorms
75°F
 

Coming events



This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

LETCHER COUNTY

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ

BRIAN CAMPBELL; Fri., March 7 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

BRIAN OWENS with WAYNE GRAHAM; Sat., March 22 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

SHEL with TAYLYN COMBS AND GOOD GRIEF; Fri., March 28 at Summit City in Whitesburg.

JAKE E. LEE’S RED DRAGON CARTEL; Thu., March 30 at at Summit City in Whitesburg. Tickets, $12.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633- 0108; Streetside Grill & Bar, 203 Main St., 633-2721; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

ABINGDON, Va./

BRISTOL, Va.-Tenn.

STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER

“AN EVENING WITH C.S. LEWIS,” performed by British actor David Payne; Sun., March 30 at 3 p.m.

DUCK DYNASTY; Sat., April 12 at 6 p.m. at Viking Hall.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Barter Theatre, 127 Main St., Abingdon, Va., 1-276-628-3991; 620 State, 620 State St., 1-423-652- 0314; Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188)

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ

DAN HICKS & THE HOT LICKS; Fri., March 7 at The Grey Eagle.

JONATHAN RICHMAN; Tue., March 11 at The Grey Eagle.

INDIGO GIRLS; Sun., March 16 at The Orange Peel.

CHILDREN OF BODOM; Tue., March 18 at The Orange Peel.

CHERUB with CAROUSEL and PROBCAUSE; Sat., March 22 at The Orange Peel.

ALL TIME LOW with MAN OVERBOARD and HANDGUNS; Sat., March 29 at The Orange Peel.

AGAINST ME!; Sun., April 6 at The Orange Peel.

DAN ROSSEN (of Grizzly Bear); Thu., April 10 at The Orange Peel.

DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS; Fri., April 11 at at The Orange Peel.

THE ZOMBIES; Tue., April 15 at The Orange Peel.

LOCAL NATIVES; Mon., April 21 at The Orange Peel.

ALABAMA SHAKES; Mon.-Tue, April 28-29 at The Orange Peel.

ALEJANDRO ESCOVEDO; Tue., April 29 at The Grey Eagle.

SLIGHTLY STOOPID; Tue., April 29 at The Orange Peel.

DOWN; Sat., May 3 at The Orange Peel.

GRAVEYARD with BOMBUS; Tue., May 6 at The Orange Peel.

DROPKICK MURPHYS; Wed., May 7 at The Orange Peel.

JENNY LEWIS; Thu.,May 8 at The Orange Peel.

CONOR OBERST with DAWES; Fri., May 9 at The Orange Peel.

PORTUGAL.THE MAN; Sun., May 11 at The Orange Peel.

PRIMUS; Sun., May 18 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium.

TEGAN AND SARA; Tue., May 20 at The Orange Peel.

ANDREW BIRD & THE HANDS OF GLORY; Thu., June 12 at The Orange Peel.

AMOS LEE; Tue., June 17 at The Orange Peel.

NEKO CASE; Thu., June 26 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

NICKEL CREEK; Thu., April 17 at The Orange Peel.

HUNTER HAYES with DANIELLE BRADBERY and DAN+SHAY; Sat., April 19 at U.S. Cellular Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Altamont Theatre, 18 Church St., 1-828-348-5327; Biltmore Estate, 1 Approach Road, www.biltmore.com; The Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800; The Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232-5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745- 3000; U.S. Cellular Center Asheville, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; )

ASHLAND, Ky./

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ

ALICE IN CHAINS; Fri., May 16 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington, W.Va.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

HUNTER HAYES with DANIELLE BRADBERY and DAN + SHAY; Fri., March 21 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington, W.Va.

WILLIE NELSON and FAMILY and ALISON KRAUSS AND UNION STATION featuring JERRY DOUBLAS; Sun., May 11 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington, W.Va.

STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER

RON WHITE; Sat., April 26 at Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington, W.Va.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324-3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304-696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656; The V Club, 741 6th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-781-0680.)

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ

CROSBY, STILLS & NASH; Fri., March 7 at Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences.

‘EXPERIENCE HENDRIX’ featuring Billy Cox, Buddy Guy, Zakk Wylde, Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Dweezil Zappa, Eric Johnson, Doyle Bramhall II, Chris Layton, Eric Gales, Mato Manji, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo; Wed., March 19 at Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences.

BOYZ II MEN; Wed., April 30 at Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences.

MERCYME; Fri., May 9 at Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

BRANTLEY GILBERT; Fri., May 9 at Charleston Civic Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Cultural Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1- 304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/

NORTHERN KY. AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ

AMOS LEE; Fri., March 7 at Taft Theatre.

MATT WOODS; Sat., March 15 at The Southgate House Reival, Newport, Ky.

‘SOUTHERN SOUL ASSEMBLY’ featuring J.J. Grey, Marc Broussard, Anders Osborne and Luther Dickinson; Wed., March 19 at Taft Theatre.

HOUNDMOUTH; Fri., March 21 at The Southgate House Reival, Newport, Ky.

LOS LONELY BOYS; Sun., April 6 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky.

DREW HOGG & THE NEIGHBORS; Thu., April 10 at 20th Century Theatre.

EDWIN MCCAIN; Thu., April 10 at The Southgate House Reival, Newport, Ky.

THE WAR ON DRUGS; Fri., April 11 at 20th Century Theatre.

TOADIES with SUPERSUCKERS; Thu., April 17 at Bogart’s.

ALEJANDRO ESCOFEDO with PETER BUCK; Wed., Feb. 26 at Taft Theatre.

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN & THE E STREET BAND; Tue., April 8 at U.S. Bank Arena. Ticket sales begin Feb. 21.

SEVENDUST; Thu., April 29 at Bogart’s.

LEO KOTTKE; Thu., May 1 at 20th Century Theatre.

ROBBEN FORD; Tue., May 6 at 20th Century Theatre.

DARYL HALL & JOHN OATES; Sun., May 11 at PNC Pavilion.

ALICE IN CHAINS; Sat., May 17 at Horeshoe Casino Cincinnati.

BASTILLE; Fri., May 30 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky.

BRUNO MARS with ALOE BLACC; Fri., June 27 at U.S. Bank Arena.

JOURNEY with STEVE MILLER BAND and TOWER OF POWER; Wed., June 25 at Riverbend Music Center.

MOITLEY CRUE and ALICE COOPER; Sun., July 6 at Riverbend Music Center.

DAVE MATTHEWS BAND; Wed., July 9 at Riverbend Music Center.

VANS WARPED TOUR; Wed., July 16 at Riverbend Music Center.

JIMMY BUFFETT; Mon., July 21 at Riverbend Music Center.

CHICAGO with REO SPEEDWAGON; Sed., Aug. 13 at Riverbend Music Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

LADY ANTEBELLUM; Fri., May 30 at Riverbend Music Center.

BRAD PAISLEY with RANDY HOUSER, LEAH TAYLOR and CHARLIE WORSHAM; Fri., June 20 at Riverbend Music Center.

TIMMCGRAWwith KIP MOORE and CASSADEE POPE; Sun., June 29 at Riverbend Music Center.

KEITH URBAN; Thu., July 31 at Riverbend Music Center.

LUKE BRYAN with LEE BICE and COLE SWINDELL; Sat.-Sun., Aug. 23- 24 at Riverbend Music Center.

RASCALL FLATTS with SHERYL CROW; Fri., Sept. 5 at Riverbend Music Center.

DIERKS BENTLEY with CHRIS MOORE, CHASE RICE and JON PARDI; Thu., Sept. 25 at Riverbend Music Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1- 513- 731- 8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513- 621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859-442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., Florence, Ind., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872- 8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Horseshoe Casino-Cincinnati, 1000 Broadway Street, 1-855-234-7469; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491-2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513- 232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; Southgate House Revival, 111 E. Sixth St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2201; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ

CASTING CROWNS; Thu., March 6 at Freedom Hall.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Capone’s, 227 E. Main St., 1-423-928-2295; The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423-282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ

GEORGE THOROGOOD & THE DESTROYERS with FIFTH ON THE FLOOR; Mon., March 10 at Tennessee Theatre.

BOB WEIR & RATDOG; Fri., March 14 at Tennessee Theatre.

SWITCHFOOT; Fri., March 14 at Bijou Theatre. (SOLD OUT!)

HOUNDMOUTH; Sat., March 22 at Bijou Theatre.

RAILROAD EARTH; Wed., April 2 at Bijou Theatre.

ROBERT CRAY; Tue., April 8 at Bijou Theatre.

THE ZOMBIES; Wed., April 16 at Bijou Theatre.

JOHN LEGEND; Sat., April 19 at Tennessee Theatre.

KANSAS; Sat., April 26 at Bijou Theatre.

AVENGED SEVENFOLD; Tue., May 6 at Knoxville Civic Coliseum.

PORTUGAL.THE MAN; Sat., May 17 at Bijou Theatre.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RICKY SKAGGS; Fri., March 21 at Bijou Theatre.

LADY ANTEBELLUM with KIP MOORE and KACEY MUSGRAVES; Sun., April 27 at Thompson-Boling Arena.

WILLIE NELSON and FAMILY and ALISON KRAUSS AND UNION STATION featuring JERRY DOUBLAS; Sat., May 3 at Thompson- Boling Arena.

KENNY ROGERS; Sat., May 17 at Tennessee Theatre.

JOSH TURNER; Fri., July 18 at Tennessee Theatre.

STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER

BILL O’REILLY & DENNIS MILLER; Sat., March 29 at Knoxville Civic Auditorium.

JERSEY BOYS; April 29-May 4 at Tennessee Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; The Bowery, 125 E. Jackson St., 1-865-414-6050; Cider House, 121 Ramsey Street, 1-865- 544-4300; Cotton Eyed Joe, 11220 Outlet Drive, 1-865-675-3563;Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656- 4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544-4199; Thompson- Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865-522-2820; World’s Fair Park, 1-865-656-4444)

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ

LOCAL H; Sat., March 8 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

THE PSYCHEDELIC FURSS; Sat., March 29 at Buster’s.

OF MONTREAL; Tue., April 1 at Cosmic Charlie’s.

B.B. KING; Tue., April 8 at Lexington Opera House.

GOO GOO DOLLS;, Mon., April 21 at Lyric Theatre.

JOE BONAMASSA; Fri., April 25 at Rupp Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

KENTUCKY HEADHUNTERS; Sat., April 19 at Frankfort Convention Center.

DOLLY PARTON; Tue., May 27 at EKU Center for the Arts, Richmond.

THE CHARLIE DANIELS BAND with SUNDY BEST; Sat. August 23 at Frankfort Convention Center.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1- 859- 309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Frankfort Convention Center, 405 Mero Street, 1-502- 564-5334; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231-7924; Lyric Theatre, 300 E. Third St., 1-859-280- 2218; Norton Center for the Arts, 600 W. Walnut St., Danville, 1-877- 448-7469; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535; UK Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose Street, 1-859-257-4929)

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES,

RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ

ARCADE FIRE; Thu., March 6 at KFC Yum! Center.

‘EXPERIENCE HENDRIX’ featuring Billy Cox, Buddy Guy, Zakk Wylde, Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Dweezil Zappa, Eric Johnson, Doyle Bramhall II, Chris Layton, Eric Gales, Mato Manji, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo; Tue., March 18 at Whitney Hall at Kentucky Center for the Arts.

BILLY JOEL; Sun., April 6 at KFC Yum! Center.

MILEY CYRUS with ICONA POP and SKY FERREIRA; Sat., April 19 at KFC Yum! Center.

ROB ZOMBIE Fri., May 2 at Iroquois Amphitheater. www.ticketfl y.com

PORTUGAL. THE MAN; Thu., May 15 at Brown Theatre.

ALICE IN CHAINS; Thu., May22 at at Horseshoe Southern Indiana.

CHER with CYNDI LAUPER; Mon., June 2 at KFC Yum! Center.

ROD STEWART & SANTANA; Tue., June 3 at KFC Yum! Center. Ticket sales begin Fri., May 7.

ARCTIC MONKEYS with WHITE DENIM; Sat., June 14 at Iroquois Amphitheater. Tickets, $35. www.ticketfly.com

NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS; Mon., June 16 at Louisville Palace.

KATY PERRY with KACEY MUSGRAVES; Sat., Aug. 16 at KFC Yum! Center.

MOTLEY CRUE with ALICE COOPER; Tue., Oct. 14 at KFC Yum! Center.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

GEORGE STRAIT with VINCE GILL; Fri., March 7 at KFC Yum! Center.

BRANTLEY GILBERT with THOMAS RHETT and ERIC PASLAY; Fri., April 18 at KFC Yum! Center.

JUSTIN MOORE; Sat., April 19 at Horseshoe Southern Indiana.

WILLIE NELSON and FAMILY and ALISON KRAUSS AND UNION STATION featuring JERRY DOUBLAS; Fri., June 6 at Waterfront Park.

STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER

JOAN RIVERS; Fri., March 21 at Brown Theatre.

(Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502- 645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502-484-8088; Horseshoe Casino, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN-4-U; Iroquois Amphitheater, 1080 Amphitheater Road; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745-3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583- 4555, ext. 221; Uncle Slayton’s, 1017 E. Broadway, 1-502-657-9555; Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777; Zanzabar, 2100 S. Preston St., 1-502-635-9227)

PIKEVILLE, KY.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

HUNTER HAYES with DANIELLE BRADBERY and DAN + SHAY; Thu, March 20 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444- 5500.

BILLY CURRINGTON; Thu., April 10 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.

OLD CROW MEDICINE SHOW; Sat., April 26 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.



Leave a Reply