Whitesburg KY
Cloudy
Cloudy
60°F
 

Coming events




CONCERT OPENER — Tyra Madison Short, a country music singer from Perry County, performed a crowd-pleaser set of music recently when she opened for Nashville artist Logan Brill at Summit City in Whitesburg. Promoter Greg Napier said he hopes Short is able to perform at Summit City again soon. (Photo by Thomas Biggs)

CONCERT OPENER — Tyra Madison Short, a country music singer from Perry County, performed a crowd-pleaser set of music recently when she opened for Nashville artist Logan Brill at Summit City in Whitesburg. Promoter Greg Napier said he hopes Short is able to perform at Summit City again soon. (Photo by Thomas Biggs)

LETCHER COUNTY ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ THE WOGGLES (garage rock band that records for Little Steven Van Zandt’s Wicked Cool label); Wed., April 22 at Summit City in Whitesburg. Tickets, $12, on sale at www.summitcitylounge.com MICHAEL SWEET (lead singer and lead guitarist for Christian rock group Stryper); Thu., April 23 at Summit City in Whitesburg. Tickets, $25, on sale at www.summitcitylounge.com BOHANNONS; Fri., April 24 at Summit City in Whitesburg. BLACK BOTTOM ROAD; Sat., April 25 at Summit City in Whitesburg. KIP WINGER (singer/founder of rock band Winger); Thu., April 30 at Summit City in Whitesburg. Tickets, $25, on sale at www.summitcitylounge.com THE LONDON SOULS (rock band from New York City); Tue., April 28 at Summit City in Whitesburg. Tickets, $12, on sale soon. STEVE WIK $ SOUL FUNK; Thu., June 4 in Whitesburg at Summit City. ERIC MARTIN (lead singer for Mr. Big); Sat., June 6 at Summit City in Whitesburg. Tickets, $12, on sale soon. THE LYNCH MOB (featuring George Lynch); Fri., August 7 at Summit City in Whitesburg. Tickets, $35, on sale at www.summitcitylounge.com (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Streetside Grill & Bar, 203 Main St., 633-2721; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

PIKEVILLE, KY. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ CASTING CROWNS; Thu., May 7 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500. THE MARSHALL TUCKER BAND; Sat., June 13 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444- 5500.

CLASSICAL, STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER RON WHITE; Sat., Sept. 12 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center. 1-606-444-5500.

ASHEVILLE, N.C. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ YELLOWCARD; Sat., April 25 at The Orange Peel. KEB MO; Thu., April 30 at The Orange Peel. PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT (Joy Division co-founder and former New Order member performs Joy Division’s “Unknown Pleasures” and “Closer”); Sat., May 2 at The Orange Peel. HOLLYWOOD UNDEAD; Sun., May 3 at The Orange Peel. YELAWOLF; Thu., May 7 at The Orange Peel. PANDA BEAR; Sat., May 9 at The Orange Peel. TV ON THE RADIO; Mon., May 11 at The Orange Peel. ANI DiFRANCO; Wed., May 13 at The Orange Peel. MARTIN SEXTON; Sat., May 16 at The Orange Peel. DEVON ALLMAN; Sun., May 17 at New Mountain Theatre. DR. JOHN; Fri., May 22 at New Mountain Theatre. HACKENSAW BOYS; Sat., May 23 at The Grey Eagle. GARY CLARK JR.; Sun., June 14 at The Orange Peel. JOSH ROUSE; Fri., June 19 at New Mountain Theatre. MICHAEL FRANTI; Fri., June 26 at New Mountain Theatre. DON McLEAN; Fri., July 3 at New Mountain Theatre. DEATH GRIPS; Sun., July 12 at The Orange Peel.

COL. BRUCE HAMPTON & THE AQUARIUM RESCUE UNIT; Sun., Aug. 9 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. BRANDY CLARK; Sun., April 26 at The Orange Peel. SHOOTER JENNINGS; Fri., May 15 at New Mountain Theatre. LONESTAR; Sat., Sept. 26 at U.S. Cellular Center.

STAGE & COMEDY JERRY SEINFELD; Sat., June 27 at U.S. Cellular Center. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Altamont Theatre, 18 Church St., 1-828-348-5327; Biltmore Estate, 1 Approach Road, www.biltmore.com; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232- 5800; New Mountain Theatre, 38 N. French Broad Ave., 828-728- 1701; Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232-5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; U.S. Cellular Center Asheville, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; )

ASHLAND, Ky./ HUNTINGTON, W.Va. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ JOHNPRINEwith LEO KOTTKE; Sat., April 25 at Keith Albee Theatre in Huntington, W.Va. BLACK STONE CHERRY; Tue., May 19 in Huntington, W.Va., at The V Club. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324-3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304-696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304- 696-6656; The V Club, 741 6th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-781-0680.)

ABINGDON, Va./ BRISTOL, Va.-Tenn. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ J.P. SOARS; Fri., May 8 at Wolf Hills Brewing Co. in Abingdon, Va. JASON ISBELL; Thu., May 28 at Paramount Center for the Arts in Bristol, Va. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Barter Theatre, 127 Main St., Abingdon, Va., 1-276- 628-3991; 620 State, 620 State St., 1-423-652-0314; Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188; Wolf Hills Brewing Co., 350 Park St. SE, Abington, Va., 276-451-5470.)

CHARLESTON, W.VA. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ BLUES TRAVELER; Fri., May 15 at Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences. ARETHA FRANKLIN; Sun., May 17 at Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences. HEART; Wed., July 1 at Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. FLORIDA GEORGIA LINE with THOMASRETTand FRANKIE BALLARD; Fri., May 1 at Charleston Civic Center. JASON ALDEAN; Thu., May 28

STAGE & COMEDY KATHY GRIFFIN; Thu., June 4 at Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Cultural Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1-304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/ NORTHERN KY. AREA ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ SEETHER; Thu., April 30 at Bogart’s. TESTAMENT; Sat., May 2 at Bogart’s. WILCO; Tue., May 5 at Taft Theatre. SOUTHERN CULTURE ON THE SKIDS; Sat., May 9 in Newport, Ky., at Southgate House Revival. INTERPOL; Fri., May 15 at Bogart’s. THE PIXIES; Sat., May 16 at Horseshoe Casino-Cincinnati. JUDAS PRIEST with SAXON; Sun., May 17 at Horseshoe Casino- Cincinnati. DR. JOHN; Wed., May 20 at Taft Theatre. DAVID LINDLEY; Tue., May 28 in Newport, Ky., at Southgate House Revival. NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK with TLC and NELLY; Tue., May 26 at U.S. Bank Arena. BUTCH WALKER; Sat., May 30 at Bogart’s. THIRD EYE BLIND & DASHBOARD CONFESSIONAL; Sun., May 31 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. DAVE MATTHEWS BAND; Fri., June 5 at Riverbend Music Center. ROB ZOMBIE; Tue., June 9 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. THE WAR ON DRUGS; Wed., June 10 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theatre. SPOON; Sat., June 13 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theatre. FLOGGING MOLLY; Sat., June 13 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. HOZIER with DAWES; Sun., June 14 at Horseshoe Casino- Cincinnati. BARENAKED LADIES; Fri., June 19 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. JIMMY BUFFET; Tue., June 23 at Riverbend Music Center. TEDESCHI TRUCKS BAND; Fri., June 26 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. FALL OUT BOY with WIZ KHALIFA; Tue., June 30 at Riverbend Music Center. TRAIN; Thu., July 2 at Riverbend Music Center. WYNTON MARSALIS; Sat., July 11 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. NEIL YOUNG with LUKAS NELSON & PROMISE OF THE

REAL ; Mon., July 13 at Riverbend Music Center. VANS WARPED TOUR; Thu., July 16 at Riverbend Music Center. JAMES TAYLOR; Fri., July 17 at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin April 24. THE EAGLES; Wed., July 22 in Dayton, Ohio at Wright State University’s Nutter Center. www.ticketmaster.com INCUBUS with DEFTONES; Sat., July 25 at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin April 24. NICKELBACK; Fri., July 31 at Riverbend Music Center. KID ROCK with FOREIGNER; Sun., Aug. 2 at Riverbend Music Center. THE BEACH BOYS & THE TEMPTATIONS; Tue., Aug. 4 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. ALICE IN CHAINS; Thu., Aug. 6 at Horseshoe Casino-Cincinnati. SMASHING PUMPKINS with MARILYN MANSON; Sat., Aug. 8 at Riverbend Music Center. DEF LEPPARD with STYX and TESLA; Mon., Aug. 17 at Riverbend Music Center. MOTLEY CRUE with ALICE COOPER; Wed., Aug. 19 at U.S. Bank Arena. CHICAGO & EARTH, WIND & FIRE; Tue., Aug. 25 at Riverbend Music Center. LAKE STREET DIVE; Tue., Aug. 25 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky. VAN HALEN with KENNY WAYNE SHEPHERD; Mon., Aug. 31 at Riverbend Music Center. JACKSON BROWNE; Wed., Sept. 9 at PNC Pavilion. O.A.R.; Thu., Sept. 10 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. ED SHEERAN; Thu., Sept. 17 at Riverbend Music Center. DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE; Fri., Sept. 18 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. JOHN KAY & STEPPENWOLF; Sat., Sept. 19 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. LYLE LOVETT with JOHN HIATT; Sat., April 25 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind. KENNY ROGERS; Sat., May 9 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind. LADY ANTEBELLUM with HUNTER HAYES and SAM HUNT; Sun., May 17 at Riverbend Music Center. DWIGHT YOAKAM with JASON ISBELL; Thu., June 4 at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. DARIUS RUCKER with BRETT ELDREDGE, BROTHERS OSBORNE and A THOUSAND HORSES; Sun., June 28 at Riverbend Music Center. TIM McGRAW with BILLY CURRINGTON and CHASE BRYANT; Sat., July 11 at PNC Pavilion. LUKE BRYAN; Sat., July 18 at Paul Brown Stadium. www.ticketmaster.com. KELLY CLARKSON; Tue., July 28 at Riverbend Music Center.

TIM McGRAW; Sat., Aug. 1 at Riverbend Music Center. JASON ALDEAN; Sun., Aug. 23 at Riverbend Music Center. Ticket sales begin April 24. BRAD PAISLEY with JUSTIN MOORE and MICKEY GUYTON; Fri., Aug. 28 at Riverbend Music Center. DIERKS BENTLEY with KIP MOORE, MADDLE & TAE, and CANAAN SMITH; Fri., Sept. 18 at Riverbend Music Center. RASCAL FLATTS; Sat., Sept. 19 at Riverbend Music Center. TOBY KEITH; Fri., Sept. 25 at Riverbend Music Center. RONNIE MILSAP; Sat., Sept. 26 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind.

CLASSICAL, STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER JAY LENO; Fri., April 24 at Taft Theatre. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513-731- 8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621-2787; Bank of Kentucky Center, Highland Heights, 1-859- 442-2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., Florence, Ind., 1-812-427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872-8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744-3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937-296-3300; Horseshoe Casino-Cincinnati, 1000 Broadway Street, 1-855-234-7469; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491- 2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; The Southgate House Revival, 111 E. Sixth St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431- 2201; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111)

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ BLACK STONE CHERRY; Sun., May 27 at Capone’s. STARSHIP featuring Mickey Thomas; Sat., May 30 at Freedom Hall Civic Center. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Capone’s, 227 E. Main St., 1-423-928-2295; Casbah, 807 W. Walnut St.; The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423-282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, Tenn., AREA (includes Pigeon Forge) ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ JASON BONHAM’S LED ZEPPELIN EXPERIENCE; Tue., May 5 at Bijou Theatre. SLIPKNOT with HATEBREED; Tue., May 5 at Knoxville Coliseum. RICK SPRINGFIELD; Tue., May 5 at Tennessee Theatre. THE DOOBIE BROTHERS; Wed., May 6 at Tennessee Theatre. SOLD OUT. NEEDTOBREATHE with BEN

RECTOR, DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS with COLONY HOUSE; Thu., May 7 at Knoxville Civic Coliseum. JENNY LEWIS; Tue., May 12 at Bijou Theatre. MY MORNING JACKET; Sat., May 16 at Tennessee Theatre. SOLD OUT. SHERYL CROW; Sat., May 23 at Tennessee Theatre. ST. VINCENT; Sun., May 31 at Tennessee Theatre. DIANA KRALL; Mon., July 27 at Tennessee Theatre. ‘WEIRD AL’ YANKOVIC; Fri., Aug. 7 at Tennessee Theatre. YOUNG THE GIANT; Sun., Nov. 1 at Tennessee Theatre.

STAGE & COMEDY LEWIS BLACK; Sun., May 30 at Tennessee Theatre. KATHY GRIFFIN; Wed., June 17 at Tennessee Theatre. GARRISON KEILLOR’S A PRARIE HOME COMPANION; Thu., Aug. 13 at Tennessee Theatre. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865- 522-0832; The Bowery, 125 E. Jackson St., 1-865-414-6050; Cider House, 121 Ramsey Street, 1-865-544-4300; Cotton Eyed Joe, 11220 Outlet Drive, 1-865-675-3563; Country Tonite Theatre, 129 Showplace Blvd., Pigeon Forge, 1-800-792-4308; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656-4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544-4199; Thompson- Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865-522-2820)

LEXINGTON AREA ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ DR. JOHN & THE NITE TRIPPERS; Sun., May 17 at Lexington Opera House. MICHAEL MCDONALD (formerly of Doobie Bros.

and Steely Dan); Tue., June 16 at Lexington Opera House. THE EAGLES; Sat., July 25 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. TAYLOR SWIFT; Tue., Oct. 20, 2015 at Rupp Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. ROSANNE CASH; Sat., April 25 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond. ERIC CHURCH; Thu., May 7 at Rupp Arena. HOT RIZE; Fri., May 29 at Lyric Theatre & Cultural Arts Center. 1-859-280-2218.

STAGE & COMEDY WWE LIVE; Sun., May 10 at Rupp Arena. KATHY GRIFFIN; Fri., May 15 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond. RON WHITE; Thu., Nov. 5 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859- 368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859- 309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Frankfort Convention Center, 405 Mero Street, 1-502- 564-5334; Grand Theatre, 312 W. Main St., Frankfort, 1-502-352-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231-7924; Lyric Theatre, 300 E. Third St., 1-859- 280-2218; Natasha’s, 112 Esplanade, 1-888-259-6873; Norton Center for the Arts, 600 W. Walnut St., Danville, 1-877-448-7469; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535; UK Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose Street, 1-859- 257-4929)

LOUISVILLE AREA ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ NEUTRAL MILK HOTEL; Sat., April 25 at Iroquois Amphitheater. RYAN ADAMS with JENNY LEWIS; Thu., April 30 at Iroquois Amphitheater. NEEDTOBREATHE with BEN RECTOR, DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS with COLONY HOUSE; Wed., May 6 at Iroquois Amphitheater. GEORGE CLINTON AND PARLIAMENT FUNKADELIC; Thu., May 7 at Mercury Ballroom. SIX ORGANS OF ADMITTANCE; Fri., May 8 at Zanzabar. SOUTHERN CULTURE ON THE SKIDS; Fri., May 8 at Headliners Music Hall. THE WHO with JOAN JETT & THE BLACKHEARTS; Sat., May 9 at KFC Yum! Center. PARAMORE; Tue., May 12 at Louisville Palace. DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE; Tue., May 12 at Iroquois Amphitheater. PIXIES; Fri., May 15 at Louisville Palace. EARTH, WIND & FIRE; Fri., May 29 at Louisville Palace. TAYLOR SWIFT; Tue., June 2 at KFC Yum! Center. BARRY MANILOW; Fri., June 5 at KFC Yum! Center. NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK with TLC and NELLY; Sun., June 7 at KFC Yum! Center. IMAGINE DRAGONS; Tue., June 16 at KFC Yum! Center. BOSTON; Tue., June 30 at Freedom Hall. FORECASTLE 2015; Fri.-Sun., July 17-19 at Waterfront Park (129 East River Road) in Louisville. www.forecastlefest.com DEF LEPPARD with STYX and TESLA; Thu., Sept. 3 at KFC Yum! Center. FATHER JOHN MISTY; Thu., Oct. 8 at Louisville Palace. JOSH GROBAN; Tue., Oct. 13 at Louisville Palace.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, JASON ALDEAN with COLE SWINDELL and TYLER FARR; Wed., May 8 at KFC Yum! Center. SHANIA TWAIN; Mon., Aug. 3 at KFC Yum! Center. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Brown Theater, 315 W. Broadway, 1-800-775-7777; Expo Five, 2900 South 7th St. Rd., 1-502-645-1820; Freedom Hall, 937 Phillips Lane, 1-800-231-8085; Headliners Music Hall, 1386 Lexington Rd., 1-502-484-8088; Horseshoe Casino-Southern Indiana, 11999 Casino Center Dr. SE, 1-888-ROMAN- 4-U; Iroquois Amphitheater, 1080 Amphitheater Road; KFC Yum Center, 1 Arena Plaza, 1-800-745- 3000; Louisville Palace, 625 Fourth St., 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221; Mercury Ballroom, 611 S. 4th St., 1-502-583- 4555; Uncle Slayton’s, 1017 E. Broadway, 1-502-657- 9555; Whitney Hall, 501 W. Main St., 1-800-775-7777; Zanzabar, 2100 S. Preston St., 1-502-635-9227)


Leave a Reply