Whitesburg KY
Mostly sunny
Mostly sunny
62°F
 

Coming events




This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

In Whitesburg

THE BLACK LILLIES; Sat., Aug. 1 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

THE COAL MEN; Sat., Aug. 8 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

SONS OF ROSWELL; Sat., Aug. 15 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

TRAVELIN’ SNAKES; Thu., Aug. 29 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

WORRY BEADS; Sat., Oct. 3 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

DON DOKKEN; Sat., Oct. 17 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

Elsewhere

CANDLEBOX; Thu., Aug. 20 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (940 Blackstock Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

IN FLAMES; Tue., Sept. 29 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (940 Blackstock Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

CITIZEN COPE; Wed., Oct. 7 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (940 Blackstock Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

WEEN; Wed., Oct. 28 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (940 Blackstock Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

MARIANNE FAITHFULL; Fri., Oct. 16 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

ADRIAN BELEW POWER TRIO; Fri., Aug. 21 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865- 522-0832.

JESSE WINCHESTER; Fri., Sept. 11 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

MODESKI, MARTIN & WOOD; Wed., Sept. 16 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865- 522-0832.

INDIGO GIRLS; Fri., Sept. 25 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

ANDREW BIRD; Tue., Oct. 13 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

MARIANNE FAITHFULL; Thu., Oct. 15 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

SAVING ABEL; Sun., Aug. 2 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

XAVIER RUDD; Wed., Aug. 5 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

CANDLEBOX; Wed., Aug. 19 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

ADRIAN BELEW POWER TRIO; Mon., Aug. 24 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828- 299-9532.

INDIGO GIRLS; Thu., Sept. 17 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

DAN AUERBACH; Mon., Nov. 16 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

JOURNEY with NIGHT RANGER; Wed., Sept. 16 in Pikeville at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1- 606-444-5500.

THE GASLIGHT ANTHEM; Wed., Sept. 9 in Cincinnati at Bogart’s (2621 Vine St.). 1-513-281-8400.

COHEED AND CAMBRIA; Mon., Aug. 17 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Road). 1-502- 584-8088.

DINOSAUR JR.; Fri., Oct. 16 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Road). 1-502-584-8088.

PERPETUAL GROOVE; Thu., Aug. 6 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

KASEY CHAMBERS with SHANE NICHOLSON; Sat., Aug. 15 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

COLLECTIVE SOUL; Sat., Aug. 29 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-684-1200.

THE WALLFLOWERS; Sat., Aug. 29 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

THE WALLFLOWERS; Mon., Aug. 31 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

JOURNEY; Aug. 21 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800- 231-8085.

TOOL; Fri., Aug. 7 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

THE BIG SURPRISE TOUR featuring Old Crow Medicine Show, Dave Rawlings Machine (featuring Gillian Welch), The Felice Brothers and Justin Townes Earle; Wed., Aug. 12 in Louisville at Waterfront Park. www.etix.com

THE BIG SURPRISE TOUR featuring Old Crow Medicine Show, Dave Rawlings Machine (featuring Gillian Welch), The Felice Brothers and Justin Townes Earle; Thu., Aug. 14 in Knoxville, Tenn., at World’s Fair Park. 1- 877-995-9961.

THE TEMPTATIONS; Sat., Sept. 12 in Owenton, Ky., at Elk Creek Vinyards (150 Hwy. 330). 1-502-484-0005.

THE BLACK CROWES; Tue., Sept. 29 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-684-1200.

THE BLACK CROWES; Fri., Oct. 2 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828- 251-5505.

KINGS OF LEON; Sat., Oct. 10 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233- 3535.

ALICE COOPER; Fri., July 31 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1-888-766-2648.

MILEY CYRUS; Sun., Nov. 1 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233-3535.

MILEY CYRUS; Sat., Oct. 31 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

SON VOLT; Fri., Aug. 7 in Newport, Ky., at Southgate House (24 E. 3rd St.). 1-859-431-2201.

BAND OF HORSES; Wed., Aug. 5 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Road). 1-502-584-8088.

NEW RIDERS OF THE PURPLE SAGE; Sun., Aug. 9 in Asheville, N.C., at The Grey Eagle (185 Klingman Ave.). 1- 828-232-5800.

CHRIS SMITHER; Thu., Oct. 15 in Asheville, N.C., at The Grey Eagle (185 Klingman Ave.). 1-828-232-5800.

NANCI GRIFFITH; Sat., Nov. 14 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828- 251-5505.

X-FEST 2009 featuring Shinedown and 11 other bands on two stages; Sat, Sept. 12 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park. www.ticketmaster.com.

THE KILLERS; Sat., Aug. 8 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1- 888-766-2648.

ZAC BROWN BAND; Wed., Sept. 16 in Abingdon, Va., at Washington County Fairgrounds (U.S. Highway 11W). 1-276- 628-6222.

BLINK 182 with FALL OUT BOY; Thu., Aug. 13 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1- 513-232-6220.

CROSBY, STILLS & NASH; Fri., July 31 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232- 6220.

PAT BENATAR with BLONDIE and THE DONNAS; Sat., Aug. 15 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

HEAVEN AND HELL with COHEED AND CAMBRIA; Tue., Aug. 18 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

CHICAGO and EARTH, WIND & FIRE; Wed., Aug. 26 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232- 6220.

CREED; Fri., Aug. 28 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232- 6220.

THE MOODY BLUES; Sat., Aug. 29 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232- 6220.

BERT JANSCH; Wed., Aug 12 in Lexington at The Dame (367 East Main St.). 1-859-231-7263.

THE DECEMBERISTS with BLIND PILOT; Mon., Aug. 10 in Louisville at W.L. Lyons Brown Theatre (315 W. Broadway). 1-502-562-0100.

BONNIE RAITT with TAJ MAHAL; Wed., Aug. 19 in Louisville at Louisville Palace Theatre (625 Fourth Street). 1- 877-598-8698.

THE MOODY BLUES; Fri., Aug. 28 in Louisville at Louisville Palace Theatre (625 Fourth Street). 1-877-598-8698.

TAYLOR SWIFT; Sun., Aug. 30 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND with WIDESPREAD PANIC; Tue., Oct. 13 in Knoxville, Tenn., at World’s Fair Park. 1- 865-656-4444.

ELVIS COSTELLO & THE SUGARCANES; Thu., Aug. 27 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

IRIS DEMENT; Thu., Aug. 13 in Newport, Ky., at Southgate House (24 E. 3rd St.). 1-859-431-2201.

METALLICA; Tue., Sept. 15 in Cincinnati at U.S. Bank Arena (100 Broadway). 1-513-421-4111.

JONAS BROTHERS; Sun., Aug. 23 at 7 p.m. in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1- 859-233-3535.

BILLY SQUIER with BLUE OYSTER CULT; Fri., July 31 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1- 937-296-3300.

‘HEROES OF WOODSTOCK’ featuring Jefferson Starship, John Sabastian, Canned Heat, Big Brother & The Holding Co., Country Joe McDonald and others; Sun., Aug. 2 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

JOAN BAEZ; Tue., Aug. 4 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

GEORGE THOROGOOD & THE DESTROYERS with JOHNNY LANG; Thu., Aug. 6 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937- 296-3300.

EDGAR WINTER BAND with THE IDES OF MARCH; Thu., Aug. 13 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

LOGGINS & MESSINA; Fri., Sept. 4 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

STEVE MILLER BAND; Fri., Aug. 7 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1-888-766-2648.

CRUE FEST 2 featuring Motley Crue, Buckcherry, Papa Road, Sixx:A.M. and Trapt; Fri., Aug. 14 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

NICKELBACK; Wed., Aug. 19 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

THE JIMMIE VAN ZANT BAND; Fri., Sept. 4 in Prestonsburg, Ky., at Mountain Arts Center (50 Hal Rogers Drive). 1-606-889-9125.

JIMMY BUFFET; Thu., Aug. 6 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

BONNIE RAITT; Tue., Oct. 13 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828- 251-5505.

BONNIE RAITT; Wed., Oct. 14 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-684-1200.

KATHLEEN EDWARDS; Fri., Oct. 14 in Knoxville, Tenn., at The Square Room (4 Market Square). 1-865-544-4199 or www.ticketweb.com

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

In Whitesburg

KENTUCKY HEADHUNTERS; Mon., Sept. 7 at River Park in Whitesburg for “Whitesburg Labor Day Celebration.”

BLUE HIGHWAY; Thu., Sept. 17 in Whitesburg at Appalshop Theater for WMMT-FM’s Bluegrass Express Live. 633-0108.

THE GRASCALS; Thu., Oct. 15 in Whitesburg at Appalshop Theater for WMMT-FM’s Bluegrass Express Live. 633-0108.

Elsewhere

SARA EVANS; Fri., Aug. 7 in Ashland, Ky., at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.). 1-606-324- 3175.

WILLIE NELSON; Tue., Sept. 22 in Ashland, Ky., at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.). 1-606-324-3175.

RICKY SKAGGS; Thu., Oct. 8 in Ashland, Ky., at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.). 1-606-324-3175.

HEIDI NEWFIELD; Thu., Sept. 17 in Abingdon, Va., at Washington County Fairgrounds (U.S. Highway 11W). Ticket sales begin Mon., July 27. 1-276-628-6222.

JAKE OWEN; Sat., Sept. 19 in Abingdon, Va., at Washington County Fairgrounds (U.S. Highway 11W). Ticket sales begin Mon., July 27. 1-276-628- 6222.

HALFWAY TO HAZARD; Sat., Sept. 26 in Whitesburg for the Mountain Heritage Festival.

TOBY KEITH with TRACE ADKINS; Thu., Sept. 10 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232- 6220.

RASCAL FLATTS with DARIUS RUCKER; Sat., Aug. 8 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513- 232-6220.

TAYLOR SWIFT; Sun., Aug. 30 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

RANDY TRAVIS; Fri., Aug. 14 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

KELLY CLARKSON; Thu., Aug. 20 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

STAGE & COMEDY

ROBIN WILLIAMS; Tue., Oct. 6 in Louisville at Louisville Palace Theatre (625 Fourth Street). 1-877-598-8698.

DOUG STANHOPE; Sat., Aug. 15 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC.

RADIO CITY CHRISTMAS SPECTACULAR/ THE ROCKETTES; Wed., Dec. 9 at 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. in Cincinnati at U.S. Bank Arena (100 Broadway). Ticket sales begin Mon., Sept. 21. 1-513-421-4111.

RADIO CITY CHRISTMAS SPECTACULAR/ THE ROCKETTES; Mon., Dec. 7 in Charleston, W.Va., at Charleston Civic Center (200 Civic Center Drive). Ticket sales begin Mon., Sept. 21. 1-304-345-7469.

OTHER

GLADIATOR FIGHTING; Sat., Aug. 1 in Pikeville at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1-606-444-5500.


Leave a Reply