Whitesburg KY
Sunny
Sunny
51°F
 

Coming events




This guide is published by The Mountain Eagle as a public service to help keep readers informed about entertainment events within driving distance of Letcher County. All dates are subject to change. Always check with the venues listed before traveling long distances.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

In Whitesburg

SONS OF ROSWELL; Sat., Aug. 15 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

TRAVELIN’ SNAKES; Thu., Aug. 29 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

WORRY BEADS; Sat., Oct. 3 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

DON DOKKEN; Sat., Oct. 17 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

Elsewhere

ROBIN TROWER; Sat., Oct. 10 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). Ticket sales begin Fri., Aug. 14. 1-828-299-9532.

ZAC BROWN BAND with special guests; Fri., Oct. 9 in Knoxville, Tenn., at World’s Fair Park. 1-865-656-4444.

ROBIN TROWER; Fri., Oct. 9 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). Ticket sales begin Fri., Oct. 14. 1-865-522-0832.

AC/DC; Tue., Oct. 6 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800- 231-8085.

ROGER DALTRY; Sat., Oct. 31 in Elizabeth, Ind., near Louisville, at Horseshoe Casino (11999 Casino Center Drive). 1-888-766-2648.

QUEENESRYCHE; Thu., Oct. 15 in Louisville at Coyotes at City Block (133 W. Liberty). Ticket sales begin Sat., Aug. 15 at 10 a.m. 1-502-589-3866.

BUCKETHEAD; Sun., Sept. 20 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater. 1- 859-491-2444.

QUEENESRYCHE; Tue., Oct. 27 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater. Ticket sales begin Sat., Aug. 15 at 10 a.m. 1-859-491-2444.

GUSTER; Wed., Nov. 4 in Covington, Ky., at Madison Theater. Ticket sales begin Sat., Aug. 15 at 10 a.m. 1-859-491- 2444.

QUEENESRYCHE; Sun., Oct. 18 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

YO LA TENGO; Tue., Sept. 22 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

CRACKER; Sun., Aug. 23 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Cider House. 1-877- 995-9961.

CANDLEBOX; Thu., Aug. 20 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (940 Blackstock Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

IN FLAMES; Tue., Sept. 29 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (940 Blackstock Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

CITIZEN COPE; Wed., Oct. 7 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (940 Blackstock Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

WEEN; Wed., Oct. 28 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (940 Blackstock Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

MARIANNE FAITHFULL; Fri., Oct. 16 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

ADRIAN BELEW POWER TRIO; Fri., Aug. 21 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865- 522-0832.

JESSE WINCHESTER; Fri., Sept. 11 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

MODESKI, MARTIN & WOOD; Wed., Sept. 16 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865- 522-0832.

INDIGO GIRLS; Fri., Sept. 25 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

ANDREW BIRD; Tue., Oct. 13 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

MARIANNE FAITHFULL; Thu., Oct. 15 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

CANDLEBOX; Wed., Aug. 19 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

ADRIAN BELEW POWER TRIO; Mon., Aug. 24 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828- 299-9532.

INDIGO GIRLS; Thu., Sept. 17 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

DAN AUERBACH; Mon., Nov. 16 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

JOURNEY with NIGHT RANGER; Wed., Sept. 16 in Pikeville at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1- 606-444-5500.

THE GASLIGHT ANTHEM; Wed., Sept. 9 in Cincinnati at Bogart’s (2621 Vine St.). 1-513-281-8400.

COHEED AND CAMBRIA; Mon., Aug. 17 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Road). 1-502- 584-8088.

DINOSAUR JR.; Fri., Oct. 16 in Louisville at Headliners Music Hall (1386 Lexington Road). 1-502-584-8088.

KASEY CHAMBERS with SHANE NICHOLSON; Sat., Aug. 15 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

COLLECTIVE SOUL; Sat., Aug. 29 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-684-1200.

THE WALLFLOWERS; Sat., Aug. 29 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

THE WALLFLOWERS; Mon., Aug. 31 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1- 828-299-9532.

JOURNEY; Aug. 21 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800- 231-8085.

THE BIG SURPRISE TOUR featuring Old Crow Medicine Show, Dave Rawlings Machine (featuring Gillian Welch), The Felice Brothers and Justin Townes Earle; Wed., Aug. 12 in Louisville at Waterfront Park. www.etix.com

THE BIG SURPRISE TOUR featuring Old Crow Medicine Show, Dave Rawlings Machine (featuring Gillian Welch), The Felice Brothers and Justin Townes Earle; Thu., Aug. 13 in Knoxville, Tenn., at World’s Fair Park. 1- 877-995-9961.

THE TEMPTATIONS; Sat., Sept. 12 in Owenton, Ky., at Elk Creek Vinyards (150 Hwy. 330). 1-502-484-0005.

THE BLACK CROWES; Tue., Sept. 29 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-684-1200.

THE BLACK CROWES; Fri., Oct. 2 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828- 251-5505.

KINGS OF LEON; Sat., Oct. 10 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233- 3535.

MILEY CYRUS; Sun., Nov. 1 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233-3535.

MILEY CYRUS; Sat., Oct. 31 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

CHRIS SMITHER; Thu., Oct. 15 in Asheville, N.C., at The Grey Eagle (185 Klingman Ave.). 1-828-232-5800.

NANCI GRIFFITH; Sat., Nov. 14 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828- 251-5505.

X-FEST 2009 featuring Shinedown and 11 other bands on two stages; Sat, Sept. 12 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park. www.ticketmaster.com.

ZAC BROWN BAND; Wed., Sept. 16 in Abingdon, Va., at Washington County Fairgrounds (U.S. Highway 11W). 1-276- 628-6222.

BLINK 182 with FALL OUT BOY; Thu., Aug. 13 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1- 513-232-6220.

PAT BENATAR with BLONDIE and THE DONNAS; Sat., Aug. 15 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

HEAVEN AND HELL with COHEED AND CAMBRIA; Tue., Aug. 18 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

CHICAGO and EARTH, WIND & FIRE; Wed., Aug. 26 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232- 6220.

CREED; Fri., Aug. 28 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232- 6220.

THE MOODY BLUES; Sat., Aug. 29 in Cincinnati at PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232- 6220.

BERT JANSCH; Wed., Aug 12 in Lexington at The Dame (367 East Main St.). 1-859-231-7263.

BONNIE RAITT with TAJ MAHAL; Wed., Aug. 19 in Louisville at Louisville Palace Theatre (625 Fourth Street). 1- 877-598-8698.

THE MOODY BLUES; Fri., Aug. 28 in Louisville at Louisville Palace Theatre (625 Fourth Street). 1-877-598-8698.

TAYLOR SWIFT; Sun., Aug. 30 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND with WIDESPREAD PANIC; Tue., Oct. 13 in Knoxville, Tenn., at World’s Fair Park. 1- 865-656-4444.

ELVIS COSTELLO & THE SUGARCANES; Thu., Aug. 27 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

IRIS DEMENT; Thu., Aug. 13 in Newport, Ky., at Southgate House (24 E. 3rd St.). 1-859-431-2201.

METALLICA; Tue., Sept. 15 in Cincinnati at U.S. Bank Arena (100 Broadway). 1-513-421-4111.

JONAS BROTHERS; Sun., Aug. 23 at 7 p.m. in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1- 859-233-3535.

EDGAR WINTER BAND with THE IDES OF MARCH; Thu., Aug. 13 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

LOGGINS & MESSINA; Fri., Sept. 4 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

CRUE FEST 2 featuring Motley Crue, Buckcherry, Papa Road, Sixx:A.M. and Trapt; Fri., Aug. 14 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

NICKELBACK; Wed., Aug. 19 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

THE JIMMIE VAN ZANT BAND; Fri., Sept. 4 in Prestonsburg, Ky., at Mountain Arts Center (50 Hal Rogers Drive). 1-606-889-9125.

BONNIE RAITT; Tue., Oct. 13 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (87 Haywood Street). 1-828- 251-5505.

BONNIE RAITT; Wed., Oct. 14 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-684-1200.

KATHLEEN EDWARDS; Fri., Oct. 14 in Knoxville, Tenn., at The Square Room (4 Market Square). 1-865-544-4199 or www.ticketweb.com

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

In Whitesburg

KENTUCKY HEADHUNTERS; Mon., Sept. 7 at River Park in Whitesburg for “Whitesburg Labor Day Celebration.”

BLUE HIGHWAY; Thu., Sept. 17 in Whitesburg at Appalshop Theater for WMMT-FM’s Bluegrass Express Live. 633-0108.

THE GRASCALS; Thu., Oct. 15 in Whitesburg at Appalshop Theater for WMMT-FM’s Bluegrass Express Live. 633-0108.

Elsewhere

WILLIE NELSON; Tue., Sept. 22 in Ashland, Ky., at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.). 1-606-324-3175.

RICKY SKAGGS; Thu., Oct. 8 in Ashland, Ky., at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.). 1-606-324-3175.

HEIDI NEWFIELD; Thu., Sept. 17 in Abingdon, Va., at Washington County Fairgrounds (U.S. Highway 11W). 1-276- 628-6222.

JAKE OWEN; Sat., Sept. 19 in Abingdon, Va., at Washington County Fairgrounds (U.S. Highway 11W). 1-276- 628-6222.

HALFWAY TO HAZARD; Sat., Sept. 26 in Whitesburg for the Mountain Heritage Festival.

TOBY KEITH with TRACE ADKINS; Thu., Sept. 10 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center. 1-513-232-6220.

TAYLOR SWIFT; Sun., Aug. 30 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

RANDY TRAVIS; Fri., Aug. 14 in Kettering, Ohio, near Cincinnati, at Fraze Pavilion. 1-937-296-3300.

KELLY CLARKSON; Thu., Aug. 20 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

STAGE & COMEDY

RON WHITE; Sat., Oct. 10 in Huntington, W.Va., at Big Sandy Superstore Arena. 1-304-696-4400.

ROBIN WILLIAMS; Tue., Oct. 6 in Louisville at Louisville Palace Theatre (625 Fourth Street). 1-877-598-8698.

DOUG STANHOPE; Sat., Aug. 15 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC.

RADIO CITY CHRISTMAS SPECTACULAR/THE ROCKETTES; Wed., Dec. 9 at 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. in Cincinnati at U.S. Bank Arena (100 Broadway). Ticket sales begin Mon., Sept. 21. 1-513-421-4111.

RADIO CITY CHRISTMAS SPECTACULAR/ THE ROCKETTES; Mon., Dec. 7 in Charleston, W.Va., at Charleston Civic Center (200 Civic Center Drive). Ticket sales begin Mon., Sept. 21. 1-304-345-7469.

OTHER

WWE SACKDOWN; Mon., Oct. 12 in Pikeville at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1-606-444-5500.

WWE SMACKDOWN; Tue., Oct. 13 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233- 3535.


Leave a Reply