Whitesburg KY
Clear
Clear
60°F
 

Coming events



This guide is published by The
Mountain Eagle as a public service

to help keep readers informed
about entertainment events within
driving distance of Letcher County.
All dates are subject to change. Always

check with the venues listed
before traveling long distances.

LETCHER CO.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

BENT SENSES;
Sat., July 31 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

KEVIN ABERNATHY BAND;
Sat., Aug. 7 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

EDGEHILL AVENUE;
Sat., Aug. 14 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

AUTOMATA;
Sat., Aug. 21 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

VELVET TRUCKSTOP;
Sat., Aug. 28 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

CHRIS JANSON;
Sat., Sept. 24 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

DALLAS ALICE;
Sat., Oct. 16 in Whitesburg at Summit City (214 Main St.). 633-2715.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

DARYLE SINGLETARY;
Sat., Aug. 21 in Whitesburg at River Park for River Days.

EARL THOMAS CONLEY;
Sat., Aug. 28 in Jenkins at Jenkins City Park for Homecoming Days.

CONFEDERATE RAILROAD;
Mon., Sept. 6 in Whitesburg at River Park for City of Whitesburg Labor Day Celebration.

BLUE HIGHWAY;
Thu., Sept. 9 in Whitesburg at Appalshop Theater for WMMT’s Bluegrass Express Live. 633-0108.

ASHEVILLE, N.C.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

HANSON;
Fri., July 30 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

OF MONTREAL;
Mon., Aug. 2 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

BUILT TO SPILL;
Sun., Aug. 8 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

EDWIN McCAIN;
Fri., Aug. 20 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

COHEED & CAMBRIA;
Sat., Aug. 21 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800-745-3000.

TEGAN AND SARA;
Mon., Aug. 30 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828- 299-9532.

BROKEN SOCIAL SCENE;
Thu., Sept. 9 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

TORTOISE;
Fri., Sept. 10 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

DARK STAR ORCHESTRA;
Fri., Sept. 10 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800-745-3000.

THE PIXIES;
Tue., Sept. 14 in Asheville, N.C., at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium (87 Haywood St.). 1-800- 745-3000.

THE BLACK KEYS
with THE
WHIGS;
Tue., Sept. 14 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532. BILLY
BRAGG;
Fri., Sept. 17 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

JIMMY EAT WORLD;
Wed., Sept. 22 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828- 299-9532.

AIMEE MANN;
Fri., Sept. 24 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

THE HOLD STEADY;
Tue., Sept. 28 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828- 299-9532.

ROGUE WAVE
with MIDLAKE;
Mon., Oct. 4 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

PRIMUS;
Wed., Oct. 6 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800-745-3000.

MATT & KIM;
Tue., Oct. 19 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

JJ GREY & MOFRO;
Sat., Oct. 23 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828- 299-9532.

BAND OF HORSES;
Thu., Oct. 28 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

RA RA RIOT;
Wed., Nov. 3 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

SOCIAL DISTORTION;
Mon., Nov. 8 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

THE DANDY WARHOLS;
Wed., Nov. 10 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

THIRD DAY;
Fri., Dec. 3 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800-745-3000.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

JUSTIN MOORE;
Tue., Aug. 10 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

SUGARLAND;
Thu., Aug. 12 in Asheville, N.C., at Asheville Civic Center (87 Haywood St.). 1-800- 745-3000.

SHOOTER JENNINGS & HEIROPHANT;

Sat., Sept. 18 in Asheville, N.C., at The Orange Peel (101 Biltmore Ave.). 1-828-299-9532.

ASHLAND, Ky.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

MERCYME;
Tue., Aug. 24 at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606- 324-3175. .

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

PAM TILLIS & LORRIE MORGAN;

Sat., Aug. 28 at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606-324-3175.

WYNONNA;
Fri., Sept. 24 at Paramount Arts Center (1300 Winchester Ave.) in Ashland, Ky. 1-606- 324-3175.

CHARLESTON, W.VA.

JAZZ, CLASSICAL, ETC.

MOWCOW BALLET;
Thu., Dec. 2 in Charleston, W.Va., at Charleston Municipal Auditorium (200 Civic Center Drive). 1-304-345-7469.

CINCINNATI AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

VANS WARPED TOUR;
Wed., July 28 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

KISS;
Fri., July 30 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220. JONAS
BROTHERS; Tue., Aug. 10
in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

CREED;
Fri., Aug. 13 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

REO SPEEDWAGON
with PAT
BENATAR;
Thu., Aug. 19 in Cincinnati in PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

STONE TEMPLE PILOTS;
Wed., Aug. 25 in Cincinnati in PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

THE BEACH BOYS;
Sat., July 31 in Rising Sun, Ind., at Grand Victoria Casino (600 Grand Victoria Dr.). 1-800-GRAND-11. FOREIGNER;
Sat., Aug. 21 in Florence, Ind., at Belterra Casino Resort and Spa (777 Belterra Dr.). www.ticketmaster.com

CHEAP TRICK & BLONDIE;
Sat., Aug. 28 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

BACKSTREET BOYS;
Sat., Aug. 28 in Cincinnati in PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

AEROSMITH
with SAMMY
HAGAR & THE WABOS;
Thu., Sept. 2 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

AMERICAN IDOL LIVE; Fri.,
Sept. 3
in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

BILLY IDOL;
Fri., Sept. 3 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

KINGS OF LEON;
Sat., Sept. 4 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220.

WIDESPREAD PANIC;
Tue., Sept. 21 in Cincinnati in PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513-232-6220.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RASCAL FLATTS; Fri., Aug. 6
in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220.

SUGARLAND;
Sat., Aug. 14 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). 1-513- 232-6220.

BLAKE SHELTON;
Thu., Aug. 19 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300.

TOBY KEITH
with TRACE ADKINS;

Fri., Aug. 27 in Cincinnati at Riverbend Music Center (6295 Kellogg Ave.). Ticket sales begin Sat., July 31. 1-513-232-6220.

STAGE & COMEDY

SINBAD;
Thu., Aug. 5 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296-3300. GARRISON KEILLOR;

Thu., Aug. 12 at Fraze Pavilion (695 Lincoln Park Blvd.) in Kettering, Oh., near Cincinnati. 1-937-296- 3300.

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

DARK STAR ORCHESTRA;
Tue., Aug. 3 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park on the Ohio River. 1-304-696-5990.

THE SPINNERS;
Fri., Aug. 13 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park on the Ohio River. 1-304-696-5990.

AVETT BROTHERS;
Sat., Oct. 23 in Huntington, W.Va., at Big Sandy Superstore Arena (1 Civic Center Plaza). 1-304-696-4400.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

COLT FORD;
Sat., July 31 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park on the Ohio River. 1-304-696- 5990.

TRAVIS TRITT;
Thu., Aug. 12 in Huntington, W.Va., at Harris Riverfront Park on the Ohio River. 1-304-696-5990.

SUGARLAND;
Thu., Sept. 16 in Huntington, W.Va., at Big Sandy Superstore Arena (1 Civic Center Plaza). 1-304-696-4400.

KNOXVILLE, TENN.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

SHERYL CROW;
Wed., Aug. 18 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865- 656-4444.

HINDER;
Sat., Aug. 21 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

NATALIE MERCHANT;
Tue., Aug. 31 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-656-4444.

DEFTONES;
Tue., Sept. 7 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-522- 2820.

DARK STAR ORCHESTRA;
Thu., Sept. 9 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

BLACK CROWES;
Wed., Sept. 15 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865- 656-4444.

BILLY BRAGG;
Thu., Sept. 16 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

CROSBY, STILLS & NASH;
Mon., Sept. 20 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865-656-4444.

UMPHREY’S MCGEE;
Thu., Sept. 23 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-522-2820.

AIMEE MANN;
Sun., Sept. 26 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

SLAYER
and MEGADETH
with ANTHRAX;
Thu., Sept. 30 in Knoxville, Tenn., at Knoxville Civic Coliseum. 1-877-995-9961.

ROGUE WAVE and MIDLAKE;
Tue., Oct. 5 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Bijou Theatre (803 S. Gay St.). 1-865-522-0832.

TOMMY EMMANUEL;
Fri., Oct. 8 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865- 656-4444.

BAND OF HORSES;
Sat., Oct. 16 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Tennessee Theatre (604 S. Gay). 1-865- 656-4444.

SOCIAL DISTORTION;
Tue., Nov. 9 in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Valarium (1213 Western Ave.). 1-865-522- 2820.

STAGE & COMEDY

GARRISON KEILLOR’S A PRARIE

HOME COMPANION ‘SUMMER

LOVE’ TOUR;
Wed., Sept. 8 Thu., Sept. 30 in Knoxville, Tenn., at Knoxville Civic Coliseum. 1-877- 995-9961.

LEXINGTON AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

LITTLE FEAT;
Thu., Sept. 23 in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859-233- 3535.

CHUBBY CHECKER; Tue., Sept.
28
in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859-233- 3535.

NICKELBACK
with THREE

DAYS GRACE
and BUCKCHERRY;
Fri., Oct. 8 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233-3535.

AL GREEN;
Sat., Oct. 30 in Danville, Ky., at Centre College’s Norton Center for the Arts. 1-859-236-4692.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

GEORGE STRAIT
with REBA
McENTIRE
and LEE ANN
WOMACK;
Fri., Sept. 10 in Lexington at Rupp Arena. 1-859-233-3535.

KENNY ROGERS; Thu., Oct. 7
in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859-233-3535.

CHARLIE DANIELS BAND;
Fri., Oct. 8 in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859- 233-3535.

STAGE & COMEDY

JOHN LITHGOW;
Tue., Oct. 5 in Lexington at Lexington Opera House (401 Short St.). 1-859-233- 3535.

LOUISVILLE AREA

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

PETER FRAMPTON;
Fri., Aug. 6 in Louisville at Brown Theatre. 1-502-584-7777.

CROSBY, STILL & NASH;
Sat., Sept. 11 in Louisville at Louisville Palace (625 Fourth St.). 1-502-583- 4555, ext. 221.

BUDDY GUY
with JONNY LANG;
Sat., Oct. 9 at Horseshoe Casino (across Ohio River from Louisville) in Elizabeth, Ind. 1-888-ROMAN- 4-U.

SLAYER
and MEGADETH
with ANTHRAX;
Tue., Oct. 12 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane).

THE EAGLES;
Sat., Oct. 16 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745-3000. JOHN
PRINE;
Fri., Oct. 22 in Louisville at Louisville Palace (625 Fourth St.). Ticket sales begin Fri., July 30. 1-502- 583-4555, ext. 221.

JUSTIN BIEBER;
Wed., Nov. 10 in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). 1-800-745-3000.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

SUGARLAND;
Thu., Aug. 19 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

TIM McGRAW;
Sat., Aug. 21 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

RASCAL FLATTS;
Sun., Aug. 29 in Louisville at Freedom Hall (937 Phillips Lane). 1-800-231-8085.

LADY ANTEBELLUM;
Fri., Oct. 8 in Louisville at Louisville Palace (625 Fourth St.). 1-502-583-4555, ext. 221.

STAGE & COMEDY

SO YOU THINK YOU CAN
DANCE — LIVE TOUR; Sat., Oct.
23
in Louisville at KFC Yum Center (1 Arena Plaza). Ticket sales begin Fri., July 30. 1-800-745-3000.

JERSEY BOYS;
Wed., July 28 thru Sun., Aug. 15 in Louisville at Kentucky Center for the Arts (Whitney Hall). 1-502-584-7777.

PIKEVILLE, Ky.

ROCK, POP, BLUES

RAP, CHRISTIAN

SHINEDOWN;
Mon., Aug. 9 in Pikeville at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center (126 Main St.). 1-606-444- 5500

ELSEWHERE

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS,

TRADITIONAL, ETC.

RALPH STANLEY & THE
CLINCH MTN. BOYS;
Sat., Aug. 14 in Wise, Fa., at Wise County Fairgrounds for Nathan Stanley’s Bluegrass Festival.

RICKY SKAGGS;
Sat., Sept. 11 in downtown Louisa, Ky., for Louisa Septemberfest.

JAKE OWEN;
Sat., Sept. 18 in downtown Hazard for Black Gold Festival.

KENTUCKY HEADHUNTERS
with CONFEDERATE RAILROAD;
Sat., Oct. 2 in Jackson, Ky., at Breathitt Heritage Fairgrounds for Breathitt Heritage Fair.


Leave a Reply