Whitesburg KY

Hatton takes race for county attorney; other races now set

Letcher County is assured of having a new county attorney and at least one new magistrate in 2011.

Voters on Tuesday replaced longtime Letcher County Attorney Harold D. Bolling with political newcomer Billy Jamie Hatton. Hatton won the Democratic nomination by 278 votes (2,911 to 2,633), and will face no Republican opposition in November. Bolling had been county attorney since the early 1980s.

Letcher County voters also elected to give every present magistrate the chance to seek re-election to their office in November except District One Magistrate Bobby D. Lewis, who was defeated by Richard Glenn Brown in the Republican primary. Brown will face Democrat nominee Bobby Ray Howard in the fall.

In other contested county races, County Judge/Executive Jim Ward, Sheriff Danny Webb, County Clerk Winston Meade, Jailer Don Mc- Call and Coroner Wallace ‘Spanky’ Bolling Jr., all Democrats, also won nomination on Tuesday.

Meade, who defeated Jack L. Cornett, 5,139 votes to 417, will not face Republican opposition in November.

Also nominated Tuesday were incumbent magistrates Archie Banks (District Two), Codell Gibson (District Three), Keith W. Adams (District Four) and Wayne Fleming (District Five), all Democrats. Adams is the only one of the four who will not face Republican opposition in the fall.

Here is how the vote went in Letcher County:

• In the race for Letcher County Judge/Executive, Ward, who will face Republican Robert Gerald Baker in the fall, received 4,436 votes. Lisa Tackett Johnson got 818 votes and Ellis Keyes 239.

• In the race for Letcher County Sheriff, Webb defeated Bennett David Combs, like Webb a former Kentucky State Police officer, and Sunset Breeding. Webb got 3,974 votes. Combs received 1,377 votes and Breeding got 259.

• In the race for Letcher County Jailer, McCall, who will not face any opposition in the fall, received 3,470 votes. Sandy Hammock got 1,455 votes, Charles ‘Chuck’ Blair got 257 votes, Scott Kiser received 136 votes and Dellis Johnson got 71 votes.

• In the Democratic race for Letcher County Coroner, Wallace Bolling defeated Perry M. Fowler, 2,778 votes to 2,330 votes. Bolling will face Republican Marty Baker in the fall. Baker received 731 votes. Marvin R. Boggs got 427 votes and Teresa A. Osborne received 217 votes.

• In the race for magistrate in District One, Brown will face Democrat Bobby Ray Howard and Independent Andy Cates in the fall. On the Republican ticket, Brown got 216 votes, Lewis received 173 votes, Hager H. Trent got 123 votes and Charles E. Hall received 83 votes. Howard got the most votes on the Democratic ticket, with 440. Ken Sexton Jr. received 223 votes, Jerry Nantz got 202 votes, and Kenny Wayne Spangler received 172 votes. Ann Parsons Sayers got 100 votes. Monte Martin Mullins received 78 votes and Brenda G. Williamson got 67 votes.

• In the race for magistrate in District Two, Archie Banks defeated Kenneth “Kenny” Anderson by 76 votes (532 to 456). Banks will face former District Two Magistrate Terry Adams, a Republican, in the November election.

• In the race for magistrate in District Three, Codell Gibson will face former District Three Magistrate Durward “Trey” Narramore in the fall. Gibson received 559 votes, to 435 votes for Regina Holbrook. Billy Ray Cornett received 157 votes, and Patrick Wright got 84 votes.

• In the race for magistrate in District Four, Keith Adams, who will not have opposition in the fall, defeated Delisa Cornett 800 votes to 392.

• In the race for magistrate in District Five, Democrat Wayne Fleming will face Republican Kenneth Holbrook in the November election. Fleming defeated Jack Barker, 604 votes to 277. Holbrook defeated Randy “Lil Deb Man” Johnson by 34 votes (90 to 56).

• In the race for constable in District Two, Democratic incumbent Gary L. Cook will face Republican William “Cigar” Breeding, who ran unopposed, in the fall. Cook received 347 votes. Randy ‘Slim’ Hammonds got 221 votes. Mike Sexton received 129 votes. Wayne Hall got 123 votes and Ancil W. Trivette got 117 votes.

• In the race for constable in District Three, incumbent Roland Craft, a Democrat, defeated Rickey J. Pease 738 votes to 323. Craft will face Republican Hatler Kiser in the fall.

• In the race for constable in District Four, Democratic incumbent Harvey B. Campbell won with 668 votes. John Arnold Amburgey got 182 votes. Terry Perkins received 172 votes. James Earl Noble got 108 votes. Campbell doesn’t have any opposition in the November election.

• In the nonpartisan race for Letcher District Judge (47th Judicial District), Kevin R. Mullins received 3,636 votes, James A. Hubbard got 2,190 votes and Frank Riley received 778. As the top two vote getters, Mullins and Hubbard will face each other in the fall.

• In the Republican race for U.S. Senator, Rand Paul, a Bowling Green eye surgeon, got 681 votes in Letcher County to 587 votes for Secretary of State C.M. ‘Trey’ Grayson. Bill Johnson got 57 votes, John Stephenson received 41 votes, John J. Scribner got 25 votes and Gurley L. Martin got 21.

Although Lt. Gov. Daniel Mongiardo did not win the Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate in Kentucky, he easily outdistanced Attorney General Jack Conway, 3,772 votes to 892 votes. Third-place finisher Darlene F. Price got 272 votes. James Buckmaster received 124 votes and Maurice Sweeney got 113 votes.

• In the race for U.S. Representative in Congress 5th Congressional District on the Democratic ticket, James E. ‘Jim’ Hobert got the most votes with 1,641. Kenneth Stepp received 1,309 and David Prince got 720.

• In the race for State Representative 92nd District, incumbent Ancel “Hard Rock” Smith and John W. Short tied in Letcher County with 1,108 votes, but Short won the district, getting 52 percent of the vote to Smith’s 48 percent.

Smith, a state representative since 2003, could not be reached for comment Tuesday night.

“I campaigned real hard, went to a lot of people’s houses,” said Short, a Knott County magistrate who owns a gun shop in Hindman. “I stood on good moral values.”

• In the race for State Representative 94th Representative District, incumbent Leslie A. Combs defeated Ralph E. “Kojak” Mullins, 2,369 votes to 621.

Incumbent Randy Hall, a Democrat, and Republican Randy Blair will vie for Property Valuation Administrator (PVA) in the November election.

Neither incumbent County Surveyor Richard Hall nor incumbent District Five Constable Roger “Hunky” Hall have opposition in the fall.

Democrat Ben Fields and Republican Joey Ison will seek election for the office of constable in District One in the November election.

Leave a Reply