Whitesburg KY
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

HCTC presents student awards

Hazard Community and Technical College honored outstanding graduates during commencement on Saturday, May 11.

The President’s Award was presented to Jennifer Couch of Hazard and Kristina L. Mullins of Carrie.

Distinguished Scholar awards were presented to those who had a 4.0 grade point average. Those receiving the awards in Associate in Arts are Brandon Jay Hudson of Booneville, Tiffany Megan Lewis of Essie, Kevin Wesley Slone of Carrie, and Aleshia Ann Whitaker of Cornettsville. Associate in Science recipients are Kathryn Ann Morgan of Hazard and Kevin Wesley Slone of Carrie. Associate in Applied Science recipients are Penny Herald of Van Cleve, Medical Information Technology; Tabitha Faye Jones of Jackson, Human Services; and Sharon Morris of Hazard,- Professional Studio Artist/ Bluegrass & Traditional Music Program.

Academic Achievement Awards were presented including Associate in Arts, Brandon Jay Hudson of Booneville; Associate in Science, Kevin Wesley Slone of Carrie; Business Administration Systems, Teresa Gail Combs of Hazard; Computer & Information Technologies, Daniel Rothenbusch of Lexington; Cosmetology, Shawna M. Walls of Happy; Health Information Technology, Tammy Ann Davis of Manchester; Heavy Equipment Operations, Joshua H. Roberts of Beattyville; Human Services, Tabitha Faye Jones of Jackson; Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education, Sheila L. Hatmaker of Raven; Medical Information Technology, Penny Herald of Van Cleve; Nursing (Integrated Program), Amber Holliday Bryant of Hazard; Physical Therapist Assistant, Christina Ann Baldwin of Staffordsville; Professional Studio Artist – Bluegrass & Traditional Music, Sharon Morris of Hazard; Radiography, Shavon E. Campbell of Jackson; and Surgical Technology, Nicole Marie Buchanan of Prestonsburg.

Students were honored with Departmental Awards are Air Conditioning Technology, Clinton Chase Revis of Hindman; Biology, Lucas R. Dixon of Cornettsville; Chemistry, Robert Lee Walker of Van Cleve; Communications, Theresa Jean Combs of Lost Creek; Computer Aided Drafting & Design/Surveying, Michael James Williams of Hazard; Cosmetology, Beretta Hershella Roberts of Lost Creek; English, Cody Douglas Franklin of Emmalena; Heavy Equipment Operations, Michael Arnold Blair of Mallie; History, Randall Scott Turner of Lost Creek; Mathematics, Robert Lee Walker of Van Cleve; Physical Therapist Assistant Regional Program ( Outstanding Clinical Performance), Darren Dale Fisher of Lost Creek; Physics, William B. Gayhart of Hazard; and Spanish, Michael G. White of Hindman.

A total of 677 students received 1,413 credentials this Spring. Associate in arts, associate in science, and associate in applied science degrees were awarded along with diplomas and certificates. These numbers represent all graduates for the 2012- 13 academic year — those who graduated in August and December and those who graduated May 11.

Leave a Reply