Whitesburg KY

Highlights of Fleming-Neon H.S.




F-N High School

Graduation Exercises

The Fleming-Neon High School Graduation Exercises will begin with the Baccalaureate Sermon on Sunday, May 15. The Rev. Harry T. Barnett, Pastor of the Neon-Fleming and Seco Methodists Churches, will deliver the baccalaureate sermon.

Commencement will be held on Friday, May 20. Mr. Lyman V. Ginger, Dean of Extension, University of Kentucky, will address the graduates. Oliver C. James, will give the Valedictory. Patricia A. Sturgill is Salutatorian.

School paper editor

Fleming-Neon Hi

Peggy Burkich is the new editor of the Fleming-Neon Hi Times. Peggy is well liked and popular in all of the school activities. In her junior year she was voted the most popular girl and served as president of the class in her freshman and sophomore years. Peggy plans a teaching career following her graduation.

Senior class of 1955

President – Oliver C. James; Vice-President – Harold D. Browning; Secretary and Treasurer – Patricia A. Sturgill. Class flower – white rose; Class colors – purple and white; Class motto – “Find a Way or Make One”.

Members of the class were

James R. Ables, Betty Faye Adams, Julia Ambrifi; Evelyn C. Amburgey, Huey F. Anderson, Barbara Jenette Bentley, Otho Bentley, Jr., Joyce Ann Broome, Harold Dean Browning, Peggy D. Burkich, Billie Faye Collins, Jeanetta Cook, Lillus Cook, Ida Lee Cureton, Joyce Yvonne Davis, Anna Katherine Dishman, Billly Joe Dunn, Mable Lee Fleming, Howard J.Foster, Willa Jean Hall, Nannie Belle Hampton, Bobby R. Hansel, Cleais Holbrook, Paul Holbrook, Ralph Dan Holbrook, Dorothy Marie Hughes, Daisy Hush, Earl Douglas Ison, Oliver C. James, Eulis D. Johnson, Neviain William Johnson, Frances Emma Jones.

Betty Jane Kincer, Henry Dan Kincer, Joseph M. Kincer, William H. Kincer, Bernease King, Betty Lou King, Thomas Harold King, Arvle Kiser, Jr., Roy L. Kiser, Richard Eugene Lewis, Robert Crane McKinney, Alberta Faye Meade, Gordon Ray Murphy, Ruby Janelle Nelson, David Bryan Paxton, Ronald Edward Potter, Carrie Joan Quillen, Patricia Alene Reed, Nettie Sergent, John Roger Spicer, Shirley Ann Stevens, Paul Eugene Stewart, Patricia Ann Sturgill, Cleo Taylor, Helen Taylor, Dewana Lee Vance, James K. Webb, Nancy Carol Webb, Nancy Virginia White, Sadie Wise, Clyde Cecil Wright, Dwight Arthur Yonts, and Gary Dean Yonts.

Fleming-Neon School represented at U.K.

Nine students from Fleming-Neon High were in Lexington Saturday to see the U.K. game. A majorette and a cheerleader clinic was sponsored by the YMCA of Lexington. Several majorettes, cheerleaders, and YMCA members from all over Kentucky were there.

The purpose of the Majorette Clinic was to discuss the subject, “What makes a good majorette.” Mr. Don Wilson, the well-known twirler from UK, instructed all the majorettes in their part of the program before the game. The majorettes from Fleming-Neon were Drum Majorette Angela Holbrook and Ida Lee Curton.

The purpose of the Cheerleader Clinc was to “encourage better sportsmanship in High School athletes through cheering.” The College cheerleaders instructed all the cheerleaders in the cheers they were given on the field. The cheerleaders from F-N were Betty Faye Adams and Patricia Collier.

Five students were there to represent the Hi-Y and the Tri-Hi-Y from the F-N school. They were Alma Sue Holbrook, Jim Burchwell, Julia Ambrifi, Ernest Hunter, and Charles Bentley.

Before the game all of the cheerleaders and the majorettes paraded on the field in uniform. While the UK band played, the majorettes twirled, then the cheerleaders gave their cheer. Both cheerleaders and major- ettes were escorted to their reserved seats to see the game.

The teachers who accompanied the students were Coach and Mrs. Hurst, Coach Wright, Reda Reasor, Connie McAuley, Barbara Belcher, Rev. Calvin Fields and daughter, Rebecca.

(The above articles from the 1954-55 Mountain Eagle and the Fleming Neon High Facebook page.)

Leave a Reply