Whitesburg KY
Mostly clear
Mostly clear

Highlights of Fleming-Neon High




Hope June Blackburn: Member of the Pep Club, Conservation Club, Future Homemakers of America, Tri-Hi-Y Club, Band and Rifle.

Sharon Elaine Craft : Member of the Future Teachers of America, Future Nurses, Girls’ Rifle Club, Chorus, and Band.

James Milich: Member of the Conservation Club, Science Club, Letterman Club, Basketball Team, Baseball Team, Track Team, Future Teachers Club.

Irene Potter: Member of the Future Homemakers of America, Girls’ Rifle and the Pep Club.

Harlan Seals: Member of the Football Team, Basketball Team-Captain, Track Team-Captain, Baseball Team, Conservation Club, Letterman Club, Pep Club.

Harry Lee Phillips : Member of the Letterman Club, Hi-Y Club, Conservation Club, Football Team.

Fleming-Neon ranks second in E.K.M.C.

Jack Hall’s Fleming Pirates moved up into second place in the Eastern Kentucky Mountain Conference by trouncing Elkhorn City 41 to 13 and by virtue of Pikeville’s 14 to 13 loss to Prestonsburg.



Hazard had more trouble than expected with Belfry, but finally won out 26 to 7 after holding only a seven to nothing halftime margin.

M.C. Napier dropped Wheelwright 19 to 14 for their third win. Jenkins dropped a seven-to-nothing decision to Clintwood, and Whitesburg was beaten by the undefeated Lynch Bulldogs 3-0.

(The above article from the Oct. 6, 1960 Mountain Eagle.)

The Fleming-Neon P.T.A. met Monday night. Guest speaker was Miss Cleo Stamper. She talked on the revision of the State Constitution. The banner and treat for the room was won by Mrs. Mattie Lou Anderson’s third grade. Jack Hall’s homeroom won in the high school.

(The above article from the Oct. 13, 1960 Mountain Eagle.)

Fleming P.T.A. plans talent show The Fleming-Neon Par- ent-Teacher Association will sponsor a talent show at 7:30 p.m. Dec. 19 at the school.

Plans for the show were made at a meeting of the organization Nov. 21.

The show will feature talent from the school. Parents will have homemade candy and other items for sale at the show.

Louie Martin was appointed chairman to work with representatives of the high school and grade school. Members of the committee are Mrs. Lillian Webb and Mr. Roy Reasor, representing the high school, and Miss Betty Collins, Mrs. Mattie Anderson, Mrs. Norma Nelson, representing the grade school.

Coffee and cake were served to those attending the PTA meeting. Mrs. Powell Walker’s first grade won the banner and treat for the grade school, and Mrs. Russ Walker’s room won a treat for the high school.

Leave a Reply