Whitesburg KY

House members tab woman

Kentucky House members for the first time have elected a woman to serve in a leadership post.

Democratic representatives elected Sannie Overly of Paris as caucus chairwoman Tuesday, ousting Robert Damron of Nicholasville.

Other Democratic House leaders were re-elected: House Speaker Greg Stumbo of Prestonsburg, Majority Leader Rocky Adkins of Sandy Hook, Speaker Pro Tem Larry Clark of Louisville and Majority Whip Tommy Thompson of Owensboro.

Republican Rep. Jeff Hoover of Jamestown was re-elected minority floor leader, Rep. Bob DeWeese of Louisville was re-elected as Republican caucus chairman. (AP)

Leave a Reply