Whitesburg KY

Jenkins students named to Senior Honor Band


The Kentucky Music Educators Association District Nine has released the names of students who made this year’s Senior Honor Band. KMEA District Nine extends from Letcher County west to Leslie and Breathitt counties and north to Floyd, Pike, and Johnson counties. Band students from area schools submitted recordings of scales and an audition solo anonymously and were selected based on their technique and musicianship.

Students from the Jenkins Independent “Cavalier Winds” Band Program selected to the KMEA District Nine Senior Honor Band are:

Kenneth Sexton, Percussion, 1st Chair, Senior

Hannah Robbins, Alto Saxophone, 2nd Chair, Senior Kaleigh Cook, Clarinet, 2nd Chair, Freshman Arissa Mullins, Flute, 3rd Chair, Freshman Jacob Kelly, Percussion, 4th Chair, Sophomore Baleigh Roberts, Trumpet, 6th Chair, Sophomore

Kenneth Sexton and Hannah Robbins have been accepted to Morehead State University and plan to pursue Bachelors of Music Education there this fall. Sexton currently studies percussion privately with James Cannon of Charleston, SC. Robbins studies saxophone with Jenkins Director of Bands, Jenny Collins.

The All-District Band concert will be held at the Mountain Arts Center in Paintsville and will include virtual masterclasses for students provided by music professors from University of Virginia at Wise, Morehead State University, Eastern Kentucky University, and the University of Kentucky on each of their instruments. The final concert will be in the MAC on Jan. 16 at 4 p.m.

Leave a Reply