Whitesburg KY
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Local election results mirror state’s; Matt Bevin wins here

Letcher County followed the statewide voting trend in helping elect Matt Bevin as governor.

With a voter turnout of 28 percent in Letcher County, Republican Bevin defeated Democrat Jack Conway here by 585 votes. Of the 4,481 voters in Letcher County, 2,360 voted Bevin for governor. Conway received 1,775 votes and Drew Curtis received 183 votes.

Letcher Circuit Judge Sam Wright, who won the race for 7th District Supreme Court Justice, carried his home county with 3,593 votes compared to 698 votes for his challenger, Court of Appeals Judge Janet L. Stumbo of Floyd County.

Alison Lundergan Grimes, the incumbent candidate for Secretary of State, received 2,109 votes in the county, and Republican Stephen L. Knipper got 2,057 votes. Grimes also won the statewide race.

In the Attorney General’s race, Democrat candidate Andy Beshear received 2,102 Letcher County votes, while Republican candidate Whitney H. Westerfield got 1,992 votes. Beshear also narrowly won the statewide race.

Adam H. Edelen, the incumbent candidate for Auditor of Public Accounts, received 2,021 votes in the county compared to 1,898 votes for Republican Mike Harmon, who narrowly held elsewhere in Kentucky to unseat Edelen.

In the State Treasurer’s race in Letcher County, Democrat candidate Rick Nelson received 1,956 votes. The eventual statewide winner, Republican Allison Ball, got 2,107 votes here.

In the race for Commissioner of Agriculture, Republican Ryan F. Quarles, another statewide winner, received 2,251 votes here while Democrat Jean-Marie Lawson Spann got 1,649 votes in the county.

Leave a Reply