Whitesburg KY

Local firm is honored

The Appalachian Citizens’ Law Center of Whitesburg was among the groups and individuals honored during the 31st annual East Kentucky Leadership Conference held last weekend at Hindman Settlement School in Hindman.

Appalachian Citizens’ Law Center received the 2018 Organization Award. The center was founded nearly 20 years ago and is “known throughout the region for fighting for the interests of the population they serve,” Leadership Conference organizers said.

The awards ceremony was held during the conference to recognize individuals and organizations providing exceptional leadership in the eastern Kentucky region. The awards are given yearly by the East Kentucky Leadership Foundation. The categories for awards include public individual, private individual, culture/arts, organization, media and technology, youth leadership, and the Tony Turner Award.

The Public Individual Award was received by Ron Daley. Daley is a founding member of the Troublesome Creek Times, a newspaper in Knott County, and was recently inducted into the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame.

The Private Individual Award was given to Dr. Joe Stepp, president of Alice Lloyd College at Pippa Passes in Knott County. Under Stepp’s leadership, Alice Lloyd has been recognized in two national publications. Alice Lloyd College students work while in college, which allows them to gain experience while earning their degrees.

Country musician Chris Stapleton was this year’s recipient of the Culture/ Arts Award. Stapleton, a native of Johnson County, has won numerous awards, including 2018 Academy of Country Music Male Vocalist of the year.

Belfry High School science classes were the winners of the Youth Leadership Award. This science class had the opportunity to conduct some field research to determine the quality of groundwater in eastern Kentucky. The group will be traveling to India in June to present their research.

The Tony Turner Award was given to Grady Stumbo. Stumbo is a lifelong political analyst, and a founding member of East Kentucky Leadership Foundation. The award is named for the late WYMTTV anchor.

Leave a Reply