Whitesburg KY

Moments and Memories of WHS



The 1993- 94 Junior- Senior Prom was held on May 14 at 8:00 p.m. at the Whitesburg High School gymnasium. The theme “We’ve Got Tonight” was enjoyed by all who attended. The night was filled with magic and excitement as couples posed for pictures and danced the night away. This year’s prom will be remembered as one of the highlights of the school year at WHS. The prom King and Queen were Jason Combs and Jessica Yonts.

Senior favorites

Movie, 8 Seconds; actor, Tom Cruise; actress, Julia Roberts; television series, Home Improvement; television rerun, Andy Griffith; music group, Aerosmith/ Little Texas; commercial, Little Caesar’s; pro athlete, Michael Jordan; song, Indian Outlaw; female vocalist, Mariah Carey; male vocalist, John Michael Montgomery; album, Common Thread/The Eagles; sport, basketball; cartoon, Flintstones; magazine, Seventeen; cartoon character, Mickey Mouse; school activity, lunch; color, blue/ black; book, White Fang; car, Mustang; hangout, Mc- Donald’s; food, pizza; drink, Dr. Pepper; soap opera, Days of Our Lives.



Senior superlatives

Most Likely to Succeed: Phillip Little and Melissa McIntosh. Chatterbox: Jonathan Pike and Livy Sexton. Super Fans: Joey Seals and Amber Caudill. Most Dependable: Shane Gibson and Jessica Yonts. Most Respectable: Ernie Scott and Melissa Veneracion. Personality Plus: Jason Combs and Mary Ann Soto. Most Attractive: Stacy Day and Chassity Collins. Jacket Jokers: Teddy Martin and Rhianna Sumpter. Trend Setters: Shiloh Campbell and Beth Bowling. Biggest Flirt: Robert Johnson and Beth Sexton.

Senior class officers

President Mary Ann Soto; Vice-President Jessica Yonts; Secretary Melissa McIntosh; Treasurer Melissa Veneracion; Class Colors, Orange and Black; Class Flower, Carnation; Class Motto: “The value of life lies not in the length of days, but in the use we make of them.”

W.H.S Honors Day

Valedictorians: Rebecca Bates and Mary Ann Soto. Salutatorian: Phillip Little. Honor Students: Leslie Anderson, Candida Bates, Jason Bates, Rebecca Bates, Beth Bowling, Benjamin Campbell, Charlie Collins, Mica Collins, Steven Fields, Ryan Frazier, Brandon Gibson, Margaret Howard, Phillip Little, Melissa McIntosh, Brian Napier, John Perry, Shannon Polly, Mary Ann Soto, Leslie Tyler, Melissa Veneracion. D.A.R. Citizenship Award: Tami Roark. Dugan Award: Mary Ann Soto. Harris Award: Ryan Frazier. Christian Appalachian Scholarship: Phillip Little. John H. Schuster Scholarship: Melissa Veneracion. Kevin Everidge Memorial Scholarship: Shannon Polly. First Security Bank Scholarship: Melissa McIntosh. Alice Lloyd Memorial Scholarship: Shane Gibson, Shiloh Campbell, Dustin Fields, Jerome Napier. Campbellsville College: Charlie Collins. Cumberland College: Charlie Collins. E. K. U.: Rebecca Bates. Hazard Community College: Melissa McIntosh, Mary Ann Soto, Rebecca Bates. Midway College: Misti Benge. M.S.U.: Leslie Tyler, Jason Bates, Ryan Frazier, Amanda Banks. U.K.: Rebecca Bates. Union College: Jessica Yonts. Transylvania College: Jennifer Adams. Academic Excellence Award: Mary Ann Soto, Rebecca Bates, Melissa McIntosh. Health Services Award: Tonya Peace. Letcher County Technical Awards: Marty Bates, Randy Crawford, Kelly Hogg, Sammy Frazier, Tami Roark. Army Scholar Athlete Award: Jessica Yonts, Shiloh Campbell.

Dawahare Award: Jessica Yonts, Jason Combs. Art Award: Melissa McIntosh, Sarah McElroy. Biological Science: Mary Ann Soto. Drama: Blake Anderson, Jason Decker, Rebecca Bates. English – Rebecca Bates. French: Mary Ann Soto. John Phillip Sousa: Stephanie Collins. Journalism: Ernie Scott. Leadership Award: Amanda Banks. Library Award: Ryan Frazier, Jerome Napier. Math: Mary Ann Soto. Media: Jason Crase, Shane Gibson, Jim Lewis, Rebecca Bates, Candi Bates, Jason Back, Mica Collins, Steven Fields, Jerome Napier, Clay Barber, Teddy Martin, Tami Roark, Amada Banks, John Perry. MSU Award: Ryan Frazier. Physical Science: Mary Ann Soto.

Regional Honors 1: Leslie Taylor. Regional Honors 11: Jason Bates. Retailing Award: Melody Griffie, Rebecca Halcomb, Chris Kincer, Ann Mullins, Merenda Nickels, Terri Rayburn, Amy Collins, Belinda Sturgill, Lori Sumpter. Social Studies: Mica Collins. Writing Award: Beth Bowling. Yearbook Editor: Rebecca Halcomb. ROTC: Stephanie Hodges. Office Awards: Tammy Short, Mark Smith, LeShay Hall, Diana Caudill, Brian Eversole, Robert Johnson, Ruby Hughes, Stacy Hall, Misty Adams, Mary Caudill, Cecillia Wampler, Joanie Taylor.

Football queen

On the evening of October 1st Whitesburg High School held their annual football homecoming. As each young lady was announced and escorted on the field, the band played and the excitement rose. Everyone sat in awe, wondering who would be crowned the 1993 queen. As the minutes counted down they finally announced Miss Joanna Dixon escorted by Jonathan Pike will be crowned by Coach Doug Chandler as the 1993 WHS football homecoming queen.

Basketball queen and king

On the night of February 7, 1994 at 7:00 p.m., Jessica Yonts, escorted by king candidate Jason Combs, was crowned the new 1994 Whitesburg High School basketball homecoming queen. Teddy Dean Martin, escorted by queen candidate Mary Ann Soto, was crowned the new WHS basketball king. Teddy is the first WHS homecoming king in our history. Congratulations to Teddy and Jessica. 1994 yearbook dedication

The 1994 Yellowjacket pays tribute to an outstanding teacher and special friend. As a devoted teacher, she puts both heart and soul into her work and motivates her students with her abundant supply of enthusiasm. As our friend, she is always ready with a kind word and a helping hand. She brightens each day with her priceless sense of humor, bringing smiles and laughter to all those around her.

After graduating from Whitesburg High School in 1966, she received her B.S. and M.A. degrees from Morehead State University. She is sponsor of the Future Homemakers of America and has served as president of the Region 12 Home Economics Association. In her spare time she enjoys traveling as well as sewing, cross stitching, and collecting thimbles. She has served the students of Whitesburg High School with endless dedication for the past 23 years. In return for her gracious contributions to education and to all the lives that she has touched throughout the years, we extend our warm thanks and best wishes as we dedicate the 1994 Yellowjacket to Mrs. Kathy Napier.

Four teachers retire from WHS

This year, four teachers who have contributed over 125 years to educating students at Whitesburg High School are retiring. Jackson Banks, Jimmie Arthur, and Loretta Arthur are retiring from teaching math, and Joye Cassidy is retiring from her position as special education teacher. In addition to their teaching duties these four individuals sponsored such diverse activities as the Math Club, Youth Help Others, Tri-Hi-Y, and the Calligraphy Club. These teachers and their contributions will be missed by the students and staff of Whitesburg High School.

Leave a Reply