Whitesburg KY
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Moments and Memories of WHS




“The Famous Final Scene,” Graduation 2003.

On June 6, the 2003 graduation class of WHS filed into the gymnasium for the last time. As the service began, anxious faces of the future graduates respectfully and attentively listened and watched as the final chapter of their high school career came to a close. Now as a new chapter begins, a blank page faces each graduate, waiting to be filled with their hopes, dreams and successes. The guest speaker for the evening was Dr. Van Breeding from MCHC. The Valedictorian was Zach Sumpter and the Salutatorian was Jamala Pelfrey.

Commonwealth Diploma recipients are William Banks, Afton Blair, Christie Blair, Karen Boggs, Shanna Bradshaw, Brian Breeding, Noel Davis, Amber Finn, Winston Lee, Jamala Pelfrey, Tia Smith, Thomas Sexton, Zach Sumpter. A.J. Ison gave the Invocation. Special music was provided by Mallorie Caudill.

Senior superlatives

Most Popular, Winston Lee and Afton Blair; Personality Plus, A.J. Ison and Christie Blair; Most Athletic, Winston Lee and Chastity Fox; Most Dependable, Brian Breeding and Pearly Stidham; Most Likely to Succeed, Winston Lee and Jamala Pelfrey; Class Clown, Chad Kilgore and Chastity Fox; Chatterbox, A.J. Ison and Mallorie Caudill; Citizenship, Winston Lee and Noel Davis; Class Brown Noser, Trevor Buttrey and Mallorie Caudill; Most School Spirited, B.J. Bates and Chastity Fox; Eye Catcher, Winston Lee and Pamela Sturgill; Trendsetter, Winston Lee and Chastity Fox; Biggest Flirt, Trevor Buttrey and Sierra Webb; Jacket Joker, A.J. Ison and Chastity Fox; Best All, Around, Winston Lee and Afton Blair; Most Gullible, Sierra Webb and A.J. Ison; Most Creative, Chastity Fox and Chris Williams; Most Likely to Get Lost, Christie Blair and A.J. Ison; Biggest Fudger, Christie Blair and Zach Sumpter; Most Outgoing, Chastity Fox and Winston Lee; Most Cheerful, Christie Blair and Winston Lee; Hall Roamer, Sierra Webb and Trevor Buttrey; Always Tardy, Sierra Webb and Trevor Buttrey; Craziest Laugh, Shanna Bradshaw and Courtney Sumpter.

2003 Favorites

Movie, The Lord of the Rings; Cartoon, Sponge Bob Square Pants; Male Vocalist, Garth Brooks; Album, Eminem Show; Car, Mustang; Beverage, Dr. Pepper; Clothing, American Eagle; Actor, Tom Hanks; Television, C.S.I.; Actress, Julia Roberts; Song, Simple Man; Commercial, Celica Commercial; Website, Yahoo!; Saying, Can You Sign for This?; Television Rerun, Fresh Prince of Bel Air; Book, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring; Music Group, AC/DC; Sport, Football; Pro Athlete, Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

Yearbook dedication

Mr. Rick Adams has been an integral part of our community and school. Since graduating from Morehead State University in 1975, he immediately began working and serving students by teaching fifth grade history and science. While teaching full-time, he also held down jobs with the A&P Tea Company and Beth-Elkhorn Corporation.

Coming from a long line of educators, both his father, Richard, and mother, Pauline, taught in the Letcher County School System for a combined total of nearly 80 years. It would seem as if education and helping students has always been an important role in his life.

Mr. Adams has served Letcher County well over the past 28 years. Athletic director, coach, teacher, mentor and friend — these are just a few of the accolades that he has worked to earn during his career.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued service and dedication toward the betterment of all those lives you enrich and enlighten.

The Harris Award is named in honor of Professor H.H. Harris, who served as Principal of Whitesburg High School from 1919 until 1927. It is awarded by the faculty to a senior boy on the basis of leadership, character, and scholastic standing. This year’s recipient is Winston Lee.

The Dugan Award is an award named in honor of Miss Ann Dugan, who served as the Home Economics teacher for 27 years at WHS. The award was first presented in 1966 and is awarded by the faculty to a senior girl on the basis of character, scholastic standing and leadership ability. This year’s recipient is Shanna Bradshaw.

Whitesburg senior awards

Per fect Attendance Awards: Samantha Back, Brittany Cook, Donovon Niece, Emily Sergent, Morgan Waddles, Kerrie Banks, David Brown, Jordan Collier, Ralph Sexton, Chandler Slone, Candice Addington, Matthew Bentley, Ashley Stidham, Chris Back, Jason Banks and Jamala Pelfrey. Governor’s Scholars: Elizabeth Day and Allison Day. Governor’s School for the Arts: Crystal Ward. Roger’s Scholars Program: Jarrod Bentley. Kentucky Ambassadors of Music: Shanna Bradshaw. State History Day Championship Team: William Banks, Karen Boggs and Brian Breeding. Art Award: Natasha Day. Spanish Award: Zach Sumpter. Band Director’s Award: Shanna Bradshaw. English Award: Cretia Absher. N.M. Webb Writing Award: William Banks. Yearbook Award: William Banks and Karen Boggs. Distinguished Portfolio Recipients: William Banks, Brian Breeding, Kelli Caudill, Jenna Hughes, and Casey Miles. Family and Consumer Science Award: Vanessa Hammonds and Ashley Sexton. JROTC Presidential

Physical Fitness Awards: Winston Lee, Chris Kilgore. Marketing Awards: Stephen Amburgey, Harold Brock, Pam Sturgill, Tearston Sturgill, Josh Webb. Math Award: Zach Sumpter. Science Award: Zach Sumpter. Social Studies: William Banks.

Miss Yellowjacket

Noel Davis has been selected as Miss Yellowjacket for the 2002-2003 year. Noel is the daughter of Mr. Weldon Davis and Ms. Ann Davis. During her four years at WHS, she has been an outstanding member of the student body. She has participated in many clubs, organizations, and athletic programs available to students.

Individual club memberships include: Bible Club for four years, Bible Club leader for one year, Beta Club for three years, Interact Club for two years, Student Government four years, Steering Committee for one year, 21st Century Student Representative for one year, and FBLA District President for one year.

Noel was also a member of the girls’ varsity cheerleading squad for one year and participated in class tournaments for four years.

Her honors and awards include: Who’s Who Among American High School Students for two years, Governor’s Scholar in 2002, Principal’s Distinguished List for one year, National Honor Society for one year, National High School Achievement Academy for Citizenship and Social Studies. In addition, she was in the football homecoming honor court for two years and basketball homecoming honor court for one year.

Leave a Reply