Whitesburg KY

Moments and Memories of WHS



DECA students win trip to
Salt Lake City, Utah (1988)

Three members of the Whitesburg High School Chapter of the Distributive Education Clubs of America have qualified to attend the National DECA Career Development Conference to be held April 27-May 1, 1988 in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Wendy Hatton is a senior and the daughter of Larry and Linda Hatton of Whitesburg. She has been a member of the DECA Club for two years. Wendy won first place in the regional competition at Pikeville College in the General Merchandise Retailing Competency based event. She also place first in the event at the State Conference in Louisville.

Dwana Caudill is a junior and the daughter of James and Geraldine Adams of Whitesburg. She is a second year member of DECA. Dwana won first place in the Region 6 Conference and placed third at the State Conference in the Apparel and Accessories Written Event.

Holly Fields is a sophomore and the daughter of Jerry and Nell Fields of Cowan. She is a first year member of DECA. Holly’s entry in the Pepsi Learn and Earn Project placed first in the Region 6 Conference and won first place at the State Conference.

(The above article from the March 30, 1988 Community


WHS Awards Day,

May 26, 1988

Valedictorian – Michelle Johnson. Salutatorians – Will Buntin, Kristi Sexton. National Merit Scholarship – Will Buntin. U.S. Air Force Math and Science Award – Michelle Johnson. Dugan Award – Deana Baker. Harris Award – Mark Wampler. Scholar Athlete Award – Suzette Sturgill and Chris Bentley. Superior Cadet Award – Michelle Hall. JROTC Scholarship Award – David Adams. D.A.R. Good Citizenship Award – Aimee Imperial. Math Award – Ben Miller, Kristi Sexton and Will Buntin. Jeff B. Mayes Scholarship Award – Will Buntin, Kristi Sexton and Michelle Johnson. Edgar Banks Science Award – Deana Baker. Biological Science Award – Amy Collier and Codell Gibson. Social Studies Award – Amy Collier. Band Award – Michelle Johnson. John Phillips Sousa Award – Kristi Sexton and Will Buntin. WYMT Mountain Basketball Class Scholarship Award – Will Buntin. Christian Appalachian Scholarship – Kristi Sexton.

Women’s Club Scholarship – Will Buntin, Steven Combs, Kristi Sexton. Kentucky River Valley Academic League Championship – Whitesburg High School. Delta Alpha Scholarship – William Collins. Mountain Heritage Scholarship – Becky Baker. Beta Sigma Phi Scholarship – Whitney Craft. Retailing Senior Awards – Peggy King, David Adams, Daisy Roark, Jimmy Smith, Marty Holbrook, Kevin Day, Mark Whitaker, Deana Brown Lewis, Wendy Hatton. Yearbook Editor – Aimee Imperial. English Award – Michelle Johnson. Writing Award – Amy Collier. Drama Award – Missy Amburgey. Boys’ Track Award – Chuck Wagner. Girls’ Track Award – Amy Collier. Cross Country Award – Dean Craft. Baseball Award – Chris Bentley. Boys’ Basketball Award – Brian Frazier. Dawahare Aware (Boys) Larry Maggard. Dawahare Award (Girls) Beth Banks. Softball Award – Beth Banks. Black Kat Editor – Amy Collier. Journalism Award – Becky Baker, Stephanie Sexton, Lawana Stidham. Art Award – Chuck Garrett. Honorable Mention Academic All – State – Mike Jacobs, Jamie Stidham, Dean Craft, Mike Mullins, Shaun Campbell, Will Bledsoe, Mike Frazier, Travis Day, Charles Matthews, Codell Gibson, John R. Sexton, Suzette Sturgill, Kim Caudill. Annual Staff – Aimee Imperial, Whitney Craft, Deana Brown, Missy Bledsoe, Missy Childers, Jennifer Collins, Mike Mullins. Vocational School Awards – John Snell, Carpentry; Ronnie Sturgill, Diesel Mechanics; Shannon Boggs, Business and Office; Greg Smith, Drafting; Greg Adams, Mining Mechanics; Jenny Sturgill, F.B.L.A. Business Award. Mock Trial – Keith Sparks, Steven Combs, Rhonda Polly, Vicki Hubbard, Lawana Stidham, Candace Toler, Bruce Brown, Karen Wooten, Missy Fields. Senior Office Workers – Kristi Hatton, Jennifer Lawson, Lawana Stidham, Celesta Richardson, Kim Fultz, Melissa Collier, Lorine Adams, Shannon Boggs, Becky Maggard, Jennifer Sturgill, Patsy Caudill, Aimee Imperial, Will Buntin, Candace Toler, Karen Wooten.

Seniors take trip

to Florida

April 9, 1988 the seniors, Mr. Treece, and a few other chaperones departed from Whitesburg High for Florida. On April 10, the seniors visited Sea World where they saw “Baby Shamu” the killer whale and other tropical fish. April 11, they visited the latest attractions at Disney World, Epcot Center. Epcot is the Experimental Prototype Community of Tomorrow. April 13, the group visited Cape Canaveral and Ormond Beach.

At the Cape, the seniors saw where the space shuttle takes off . April 14, they headed back to Whitesburg. Everyone had a great time; they will have enough memories to last a lifetime.

New faces at WHS

Mrs. Brenda Adams: Mrs. Adams is one of the new counselors at Whitesburg this year. She attended Alice Lloyd College for two years, then graduating from Morehead State University with a bachelor’s degree in sociology and health and a master’s degree in recreation and counseling. Mrs. Gail Roark: She is the new art teacher. Gail is married to Warren Roark, and they live at Carcassonne. They have two children. Adam is seven and Tami is eleven. Mr. Doug Chandler: WHS welcomes back teacher/coach Doug Chandler, for the 1987-88 school year. Mr. Chandler returns after a year of absence in 1986. He attended Morehead State University and majored in health and physical education and will be teaching the Alternative Education Program. Mr. Darrell Treece: Mr. Treece is our new principal. He is a former principal of Henry High School, New Castle, and Powell High School. Mr. Treece tells us that he really enjoys the friendly cooperation that he has received from the faculty and the student body. Mr. Larry Jones: Mr. Jones is our new vice-principal. He was the principal at Beckham Bates Elementary School prior to this year. He was previously employed at Hemphill Elementary School. He attended Morehead State University. Mrs. Dana Richardson: Whitesburg High welcomes back Mrs. Dana Richardson. She attended Pikeville College and Morehead State University. She has been teaching for 23 years. She is married and has one daughter, Beth. She enjoys reading and sewing in her spare time. Mr. Martin Joe Adams: Mr. Adams is the new math teacher. He graduated from Letcher High School and attended Morehead State University and Eastern Kentucky University. Before coming to Whitesburg, he taught at M.C. Napier. Ms. Judy Mason: Ms. Mason is a graduate of WHS and enjoys teaching here. She feels that the student body is very easy to get along with. Ms. Mason is a graduate of Milligan University in Tennessee. Mrs. Clayshan Black: Is one of our new counselors this year. She graduated from Morehead State University with a B.A. in home economics, a master’s in guidance and counseling and a Rank I in guidance counseling. She has held several positions such as a home economics teacher, a guidance counselor at the Letcher County Area Vocational School, and a nutritionist at MCHC. Mr. Terry Cornett: Another delightful new addition to Whitesburg’s teaching staff is English teacher, Terry Cornett. He was born in Hazard and attended WHS. He attended three colleges, including the University of Kentucky and Vanderbilt. He has taught college at Alice Lloyd College and Hazard Community College. He taught high school at Letcher and summer school at Whitesburg High for five years. He lives in Whitesburg with his wife, Judy and his daughter, Rebekah. He enjoys reading, writhing, white water rafting and cave exploring.

Leave a Reply