Whitesburg KY
Mostly sunny
Mostly sunny

Moments and Memories of WHS



The honor of Mr. WHS was bestowed upon Forrest Brock. He is the son of J.R. and Rhonda Brock. Forrest has been an active member of the Environmental Club, Pep Club and Beta Club, where he served as president his senior year. He has played both football and basketball for all of his four years at WHS. He has been a PSI team leader for two years and was on the DARE Team his senior year. He was the recipient of the D.A.R. Good Citizenship Award this year. Forrest plans on attending Alice Lloyd College pursuing a career in biology with his sights set on a medical career.

The honor of Miss WHS was bestowed upon Jenna Shaffer. She is the daughter of Germaine and Lonnie Shaffer. Jenna has been an active member of the Beta Club, Spanish Club, and the DECA Club, where she has served as vice president for the past two years. Jenna has devoted four years to the academic team and four years to Student Government, where she served as vice president her senior year. She has played volleyball for three years and has been a member of the Flag Corp for two years. Jenna plans to attend Transylvania University where she will pursue a career in the FBI.

W.H.S. Honors Day: Top 10% Honor Students – Waylon Church, Travis Webb, Jenna Shaffer, Dana Collins, Robert Brown, Brandi Baker, Steffani Stone, Forrest Brock, Jessica Creech, Billy Stamper, Pam Dagnan, Shannon Hampton, Brice Hull, Laura Boggs, Stacy Fields, Rebecca Setzer, Mollie Stewart.

Perfect Attendance – Melissa Mullins (4 years), Myrtle Kincer (12 years). Kevin Everidge Scholarship – Melissa Jarus. Jeff B. Mayes Scholarship – Robert Brown. Lions Club Scholarship – Myrtle Kincer. First Security Bank Scholarship – Janie Adams. Woman’s Club Scholarship – Jessica Creech. John H. Schuster Scholarship – Travis Webb. Beta Kappa Scholarship – Stacy Brown, Rebecca Setzer, Billy Stamper, Joseph Campbell. Alice Lloyd College Scholarship – Heather Boggs, Forrest Brock, Joseph Campbell. Antioch College – Paul Johnson. Asbury College – Jessica Creech. Berea College – Robert Brown. Cumberland College – Laneia Collins. Eastern Kentucky University – Dana Collins. Hazard Community College – Travis Webb. Morehead State University – Elijah Garrett, Mickey McDougal, Kyle Hopkins, Kelly Watts. Pikeville College – Amanda Robinson, Myrtle Kincer, Stacy Fields. Clinch Valley College – Adrian Fields. Shawnee State University – Steffani Slone, Brandi Baker. Southeast Community College – Dana Collins, Mandy Lewis, Wendy Keel, Andrea Ison. Transylvania University – Jenna Shaffer. Union College – Travis Maggard. Kentucky Area Technical School – Billy Smith, Roger Eldridge.

Social Studies – Brice Hull. Science Award – Jenna Shaffer. Math Award – Travis Ward. English Award – Dana Collins. Writing Award – Amanda M. Lewis, Shannon Hampton. Journalism – Shannon Hampton, Laura Pence. Drama Award – Heather Boggs, Shade Blair, Tillie Adams. Art Award – Kyle Hopkins. Yearbook Editor Award – Dana Collins. Band Award – Charlie Pease. John Phillip Sousa Award – Laneia Collins. JROTC – Virgil Baker, Kevin Day, Patty Fields, Angel Johnson, James Kincer, Kimberly Miles, Rodney Miles, James Newman, Kenneth Sexton, Brandon Webb. Spanish Award – Jenna Shaffer. Dawahare Award – Adrian Fields, Billy Stamper. Dugan Award – Myrtle Kincer. Harris Award – Forrest Brock. Library Award – Andrea Ison. DARE Awards – Tammy Bolling, Forrest Brock, Robert Brown, Brandon Collins, Jessica Creech, Stacy Fields, Misty Hatton, Kyle Hopkins, Brandon Pennington, Amanda Robinson.

1995-96 Basketball

Homecoming Queen and King

On the night of Feb. 23, 1996, a crowd gathered at the Whitesburg gymnasium to witness the crowning of our new basketball homecoming queen. As the candidates and their escorts marched onto the floor, everyone watched anxiously awaiting who would wear the crown. As a hush fell upon the crown, they heard the announcer speak the name of Adrian Fields as queen and Matthew Smith as our king. Congratulations to both of you, we all wish you luck in the future.

“It was a great pleasure to be voted as your 1996 basketball homecoming queen. Thanks to all of my classmates and friends. You have all been great!” – Adrian Nicole. “Thanks to all the people who picked me as the king. It was a big surprise! I wish you all the best of luck in the future.” – Matthew Smith.

Senior Favorites: Movie – Forrest Gump: Talk Show – Sally: Actor – Tom Cruise: Actress – Julia Roberts: TV Series – Friends: TV Reruns – Andy Griffith: Soap Opera – Days of Our Lives: Commercial – Budweiser: Music Group – Hootie and The Blowfish: Female Vocalist – Shania Twain: Male Vocalist – Garth Brooks: Album – Lynard Skynard: Song – One Sweet Day: Pro Athlete – Steve Young: Sport – Football: Cartoon – Scooby Doo: Cartoon Character – Winnie The Pooh: Magazine – Cosmo: Book – Gone With The Wind: Car – Mustang: Hang Out – Strip Job: Food – Pizza: Color – Blue: Drink – Mountain Dew.

Teacher’ s Choice Awards: Most Studious – Robert Brown, Jessica Creech. Most Courteous – Billy Stamper, Tammy Bowling. Citizenship – Waylon Church, Jenna Shaffer. Best All Around – Forrest Brock, Myrtle Kince. Most Mischievous – Matt Smith, Angel Johnson.

Senior Superlatives: Jacket Joker – Donnie Roark, Elizabeth Wright. Most Popular – Andy Morrell, Caressa Napier. Most Talented – Kyle Hopkins, Jessica Creech. Most Outstanding – Matthew Smith, Jennifer Holbrook. Class Brown Noser – Brice Hull, Myrtle Kincer. Most Loveable – Joseph Campbell, Mandy Lewis. Class Bigmouth – Brandon Pennington, Jessica Hensley. Most Athletic – Billy Stamper, Adrian Fields. Trendsetters – Jamie Niece, Heather Boggs. Most School Spirited – Phillip Hampton, Steffani Slone. Biggest Flirt – Charlie Wright, Rebecca Setzer. Most Likely to Succeed – Forrest Brock, Dana Collins.

Senior Class Officers: President – Heather Boggs. Vice President – Forrest Brock. Sec. – Dana Collins. Treasurer – Billy Stamper.

Miss Yellow Jacket: The honor of Miss Yellow Jacket was bestowed upon Myrtle Kincer. She is the daughter of Ben and Iona Kincer. Myrtle has been an active member of the Pep Club, W-Club, Young Christian Athletes, and Environmental Club. She has been on the WHS cheerleading varsity squad for four years and has run track for two years. She has had perfect attendance for 12 years and was the recipient of the Ann Dugan Award this year. Myrtle plans to attend Alice Lloyd College where she will pursue a teaching career in chemistry and physics. Myrtle was chosen as Miss Yellow Jacket on character, leadership ability, and scholastic standing.

On the evening of Sept. 15, 1995, Whitesburg High School held its annual football homecoming. W.H.S. battled Morgan County to a victorious win. The crowd was very excited to see who would be crowned as the new homecoming queen, as well as the entire homecoming court and candidates. Caressa Napier was crowned as this year’s new queen. Her escort was Travis Maggard. I congratulate Caressa and all of the other homecoming court members. – K. Sergent (WHS faculty member).

From the Queen: “My years at W. H. S. will be memories that I will always cherish. I will most definitely remember my friends and all the fun things we did together, especially cheerleading. We have defi- nitely had some fun times throughout all the four years I have cheered. Each individual on the squad is special to me in which I can always count on when I need them. I love them all. I would also like to thank all the people who made me homecoming queen. I was greatly honored. My years at WHS will be the four years I will remember always.”

Leave a Reply