Whitesburg KY
Mostly sunny
Mostly sunny

More candidates file as deadline date nears

With a week left until the filing deadline, candidates are slowly adding their names to the list for the May Primary Ballot.

All county offices are up for election this year. The deadline for filing for races in the primary is January 30. The primary will be held May 22.

At least three county officials have announced retirement or have already retired, leaving the offices of sheriff, jailer and circuit clerk up for grabs. At least two magistrates have said they don’t plan to run. District 2 Magistrate Terry Adams is challenging Judge/Executive Jim Ward for that office, and District 5 Magistrate Wayne Fleming has said he plans to retire. District 4 Magistrate Keith Adams has indicated he will not seek reelection, and has not filed.

Several candidates who have run in the past will be on the ballot again, and others have picked up papers signaling they are interested in running, but have not filed their petition and paid their fees.

Offices and candidates who have filed are as follows (the lower case letter “i” signifies incumbent),:

County Judge/Executive: Jim Ward (D), (i), Terry Adams (R)

County Clerk: Winston Meade (D), (i), Patty Wood (D)

County Attorney: Jamie Hatton (D), (i)

Jailer: Luther Tackett (D), Kenny Anderson (D), Bert Slone (D), Jeffery L. Mullins (D), William Gibson (D)

Sheriff: Shawn “Mickey” Stines (D), Carlus Eugene Slone (D), D.L. Hammonds (R)

Circuit Clerk: Larry Adams (D), (i, appointed for unfinished term), Mike Watts (D), Janet Ratliff (R)

Property Valuation Administrator:

Rick Rose (D), Richard G. Brown (R), (i, appointed for unfinished term)

Commonwealth’s Attorney: Edison G. Banks II (R), (i)

Coroner: Renee Campbell (D), (i)

Magistrate District 1: Bobby Howard (D), (i), Jack Banks (R), Benjamin Fields (D)

Magistrate District 2: Michael Hall (D), Sherry Sexton (D), Roger Nease (R), Brad Collie (R), Therman Begley Jr. (D)

Magistrate District 3: Emory “Fudge” Mullins (D), Codell Gibson (D), Woody Holbrook (D), (i), Maverick Cook (R), Dallas Adams (R)

Magistrate District 4: William “Cheddy” Smith (D), Robert Howard (R), Roger Back (D), Kenny Whitehead (R), Melody Coots (D), Junior Banks (D)

Magistrate District 5: Bennie McCall (D), Steve Addington (D)

Constable District 1: Roger Eldridge (D)

Constable District 2: Robert Collins (R), Austin Blaine Johnson (R)

Constable District 3: Jesse Bates (D)

Constable District 4: Harvey B. Campbell (D), (i), Terry Perkins (D)

Persons who have picked up papers, but have not returned them to the court clerk’s office are:

Judge/Executive: Mica Johnson (R); Sheriff: Roland Craft (D); Property Valuation Administrator: Randy Blair (D); Surveyor: Richard Hall (D), (i); Coroner: Clifford Wade Fields (D); Commonwealth’s Attorney: Ellis Keyes (D); Magistrate District 1: Joey Ison (D), Sheila Cornett (D), Ernie Scott (D); Magistrate District 2: Robin Taylor (D), Curtis King (D), Don McCall (D), Gwen Johnson (D); (D); Magistrate District 3: Heidi Martin (D), Chris Collier (D), Leonard Tackett (R), Robert Hatch (D), Dallas Adams (R); Magistrate District 4: Junior Banks (D), Larry Jones (D), (Withdrawn); Magistrate District 5: Scott Collins (R); Jonathan Belcher (D); Constable District 1: James Bowman; Constable District 2: John Amburgey (D), (i); Constable District 3: Derek Mc- Call (D).

Leave a Reply