Whitesburg KY
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

More candidates file to run for local offices

More candidates have filed to run for office in county elections next year, and a handful more have picked up papers to run.

All county offices are up for election next year. At least three county officials have announced retirement or have already retired, leaving the offices of sheriff, jailer and circuit clerk up for grabs. At least two magistrates have said they don’t plan to run. District 2 Magistrate Terry Adams is challenging Judge/Executive Jim Ward for that office, and District 5 Magistrate Wayne Fleming has said he plans to retire.

Several candidates who have run in the past are on the ballot again.

The deadline for filing is January 30.

Offices and candidates who have filed are (the letter “i” signifies incumbent): County Judge/Executive

Jim Ward (D) (i)

Terry Adams (R)

County Clerk

Winston Meade (D) (i)

County Attorney

Jamie Hatton (D) (i)

Jailer Luther Tackett (D)

Kenny Anderson (D)

Bert Slone (D)

Jeffery L. Mullins (D)


Shawn “Mickey” Stines (D)

D.L. Hammonds (R) Magistrate District 1 Bobby Howard (D) Magistrate District 2 Michael Hall (D) Sherry Sexton (D)

Magistrate District 3

Emory “Fudge” Mullins (D)

Codell Gibson (D)

Woody Holbrook (D) (i)

Magistrate District 4

William “Cheddy” Smith (D)

Robert Howard (R)

Roger Back (D)

Kenny Whitehead (R) Magistrate District 5 Bennie McCall (D) Steve Addington (D) Constable District 1 Roger Eldridge (D) Constable District 3 Jesse Bates (D) Constable District 4 Harvey Campbell (D) (i)

Terry Perkins (D)

Persons who have picked up papers, but have not returned them to the court clerk’s office are:

Circuit Clerk: Janet Ratliff (R); Sheriff: Eugene Slone (D).

Property Valuation Administrator: Randy Blair (D), Rick Rose (D).

Surveyor: Richard Hall (D) (i).

Coroner: Clifford Wade Fields (D), Renee Campbell (D).

Magistrate District 1: Jack Banks (R), Joey Ison (D).

Magistrate District 2: Roger Nease (R), Robin Taylor (D), Brad Collie (R), Curtis King (D), Don Mc- Call (D).

Magistrate District 3: Heidi Martin (D), Chris Collier (D), Emory Leonard Tackett (R), Robert Hatch (D), Dallas Adams (R).

Magistrate District 4: Melody Coots (D).

Magistrate District 5: Scott Collins (R).

Constable District 1: James Bowman.

One other candidate, Mike Watts, has announced his candidacy for circuit clerk in advertisements in The Mountain Eagle, but has not yet picked up papers.

Leave a Reply