Whitesburg KY

More file for local offices

Whitesburg Mayor James W. Craft and five incumbents of the Whitesburg City Council have filed papers in the Letcher County Court Clerk’s office that will permit them to seek another term.

Jimmy Bates, Larry Everidge, Shelia Shortt, Robin Watko and Earlene Williams are running for re-election as council members. Earlene Williams was appointed to the council to finish the term of her husband, the late John Williams. Incumbent council member Tom Sexton hasn’t filed papers. Cody Sexton and Derek Barto are also candidates for Whitesburg City Council.

In Jenkins, former city council member Terry Braddock has filed papers to run for the office of mayor of Jenkins. Filing to run earlier were incumbent Mayor G.C. Kincer and Joe DePriest.

Incumbent Rebecca Terrell Amburgey and Kyle Walker are candidates for Jenkins City Council.

In other races, Fleming- Neon Mayor Susie Polis has joined the current mayors of Jenkins and Whitesburg in seeking reelection.

In a down-ballot race, incumbent Tom Dollarhide has filed to run for Letcher County Soil Conservation District Board.

The November General Election filing deadline is 4 p.m. on August 12.

Leave a Reply