Whitesburg KY

New area code

The number 364 has been selected as Kentucky’s newest area code. It will cover the western portion of the current area code 270, which includes the cities of Henderson, Hopkinsville, Madisonville, Murray and Paducah.

The Kentucky Public Commission recently received notice of the new number from the North American Numbering Plan Administrator, which is responsible for allocating phone numbers to telecommunication providers.

On May 31, the PSC decided to accommodate the rising demand for new telephone numbers in western Kentucky by splitting area code 270, with the eastern portion retaining the current area code. Cities remaining in area code 270 include Bowling Green, Columbia, Glasgow, Elizabethtown, and Owensboro.

Mandatory use of the new area code is scheduled to take effect on October 1, 2008. A transition period during which either the new area code or area code 270 may be used in the affected area is scheduled to begin April 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply