Whitesburg KY
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Six to be honored

Six individuals and organizations will be honored at the 23rd annual East Kentucky Leadership Conference April 23-24 in Hazard.

Those to be honored are:

Paul Dole of Barbourville — Public Individual Award. Dole has served the Kentucky Communities Economic Opportunity Council (KCEOC) over the past 34 years as business director, Head Start director, and deputy director, and has been President and CEO for the past 28 years. He is a member of the East Kentucky Leadership Foundation (EKLF) board of directors.

Ron Eller of Lexington — Private Individual Award. Eller is a nationally known authority on the history of the Appalachian region. He served as director of the University of Kentucky Appalachian Center from 1985-2000. His most recent book is “Uneven Ground: Appalachia Since 1945”.

United Way of Southeastern Kentucky — Organization Award with special recognition to Gaylan Good of Hazard. United Way serves eight counties: Breathitt, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Owsley, Perry and Wolfe. Good is the first executive director of the UWSEKY and is conducting his 10th United Way campaign.

Halfway2Hazard — Cultural/ Arts Award. Chad Warrix of Breathitt County and David Tolliver of Knott County are making a name for themselves in country music. Hazard is halfway between their homes in Knott and Breathitt counties.

Institute for Rural Journalism & Community Issues — Media Award with special recognition of Al Cross, institute director. The institute began at the University of Kentucky in 2004. Al

Cross, a former Louisville

Courier-Journal rep or ter and columnist, was hired as interim director and in 2005 he was hired as permanent director and assistant professor in the School of Journalism and Telecommunications at UK.

Willie Blevins of Louisa — Tony Turner Award. Blevins is being honored for his many years of service on the East Kentucky Leadership Foundation board and for his work on behalf union workers in the steel industry.

For more information or to register for the conference, contact Ron Daley at (606) 487-3158 or email ron.daley@kctcs.edu. Early registration, which includes three meals, is $30. The conference registration will held in the First Federal Center on the Hazard Campus of Hazard Community & Technical College on April 23 from 1 to 5 p.m.

Leave a Reply