Whitesburg KY

SKCTC recognized by Aspen Institute

The Aspen Institute College Excellence Program has recognized two Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) colleges among the 10 top community colleges in the nation — chosen from an original pool of nearly 1,200.

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College and West Kentucky Community and Technical College have both been named 2013 Aspen Top 10 finalists for Community College Excellence. Kentucky is one of only two states to have more than one college recognized as a finalist.

KCTCS faculty, staff and students statewide listened to a live web broadcast from Washington D.C. recently as officials named Santa Barbara City College in California and Walla Walla Community College in Washington State as co-winners in the 2013 Aspen Prize; each receiving $400,000. Two other top colleges, Kingsborough Community College in Brooklyn, N.Y., and Lake Area Technical Institute in Watertown, S.D., will each receive $100,000 as finalists-with-distinction.

Leave a Reply