Whitesburg KY
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Students named Green Scholars

Seven students from Letcher County have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA) for their outstanding academic performance in high school. Students earn this designation by achieving a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and scoring at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

The students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. Their awards may be renewed each year of college, making the total value of their KEES worth $10,000.

The title honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

The students are:

· Jessica Mullins, Jenkins High School.

· Matthew Boggs, Kaitlyn Collier, Kevin Collier, Briana Dotson, Andi Fields, and Samantha Mullins, Letcher County Central High School.

For more information, go to www.gotocollege.ky.gov. For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit www.kheaa.com; write KHEAA, P.O. Box 798, Frankfort, KY 40602; or call (800) 928-8926, ext. 6-7372.

Leave a Reply