Whitesburg KY

Turner, Smith win

Clinton easily defeats Obama in presidential race

Hillary Clinton, Bruce Lunsford, Johnny Ray Turner, and Ancel “Hardrock” Smith were the big winners in Letcher County’s primary election Tuesday.

Clinton received nearly 13 times as many votes as Barack Obama here, carrying Letcher by a margin of 4,016 to 320 (88.8 percent to 7.1 percent) in the Democratic Primary for U.S. President. Obama, however, remained the favorite to capture the party’s nomination.

In the Democratic primary for the U.S. Senate seat now held by Republican Mitch McConnell, Louisville businessman Bruce Lunsford deafeated Greg Fischer, another Louisville businessman, 1,805 to 980. Lunsford also won the statewide primary and will run in the general election against McConnell, who defeated challenger Daniel Essek in Letcher County, 524 to 86.

The attention of most Letcher week’s election centered on the race for the 29th District state senate seat now held by Johnny Ray Turner. Turner, of Floyd County, defeated challenger Eric Shane Hamilton easily here, 2,513 to 1,704. Turner, who captured 59.6 percent of the vote here, went on to defeat Hamilton across the district and does not face challenge from a Republican candidate in the fall.

At presstime, Smith, the incumbent 92nd District representative, appeared to have held off Democratic challengers John Sizemore and Greg Stacy.

Smith, of Leburn, got 52.7 percent of the vote (873) in the precincts he represents here on his way to collecting 3,504 votes in Letcher, Knott and Magoffin counties. Sizemore collected 3,235 votes across the three counties, while Stacy got 2,879. Election returns appear on Page 13.

Leave a Reply