Whitesburg KY

Updating teams from mountains

The only undefeated football teams in eastern Kentucky at the halfway point of the 2007 season are Class A Hazard; Class AAA Belfry, Breathitt County, Russell, Sheldon Clark; Class AAAA Bell County; and Class AAAAA Pulaski County.

• Letcher County Central may be the hottest team in the mountains at the halfway point. Since being dominated by Hazard 43-22 in their season opener, the Cougars have reeled off five straight wins and rest at 3-0 in their district. A win this week at Whitley County will lock up the # 1 seed.

• Bell County’s veteran coach Dudley Hilton and Belfry’s veteran coach Philip Heywood are on a collision course with their 300th wins in their storied careers. Hilton is a couple wins in front of Heywood but both should get to the coveted milestone before the playoffs begin.

• Perry County Central pulled off a mild surprise last week when they righted the Commodores’ sinking ship with a big district win at home 56-42 against Whitley County, giving Bert Browne something to build on with his young skilled players and some key winnable games coming up at the Paul Alexander football field in the next two weeks.

• Monte Merrick, Bell County’s fine place kicker, is no longer going under the radar. Merrick is now being compared to several kickers on the NCAA Division 1 A level in only his junior year. He recently kicked a 53-yard field goal in game competition and reports out of Log Mountain say that he will beat that before his high school career is over and has already done so in practice.

• Plans for Eastern Kentucky 1st Mountain vs. Coaches Cancer Classic have been finalized. The inaugural event will be co-hosted by Buckhorn High School and Tri State Sports Services Inc. on Feb. 9. It will be held at the Whitaker Athletic Center adjacent to old Dilce Combs High School five miles south of Hazard on Hwy. 15 in the Jeff community of Perry County. A portion of the gate receipts will be donated to the Jimmy V. Foundation for cancer research. Buckhorn, Knott County Central, Estill County, Cordia, Breathitt County and Cumberland will be participating in this year’s games.

Leave a Reply