Whitesburg KY
Partly cloudy
Partly cloudy

Write-in votes totaled for city councils

Five of six Whitesburg City Council members were returned to office in Tuesday’s elections, and one seat on the Fleming-Neon City Council was left unfilled.
After only one Whitesburg council member, Derek Barto, met the deadline to file for relection, the rest had to filed as write-in candidates, and were joined by three challengers. Retired physician John Pellegrini lost his seat on the council. The new council will be Shelia Page Short, Earlene Williams, Debbie Bates Eldridge, Larry Everidge, and Mike Jackson.
Unofficial results were as follows:
Derek Barto (i) – 386
John Pellegrini (i) – 90
Shelia Page Short (i) – 105
Earlene Williams (i) – 162
Debbie Bates Eldridge – 101
Larry Everidge (i) – 109
Mike Jackson (i) – 158
Roger Clay Collins – 24
Oakley Fugate – 9
In Fleming-Neon, no one me the deadline to file and only five people filed as write-in candidates. The five members and their vote totals are:
Linda Cantrell (i) – 32
Kenneth Holbrook II (i) – 26
Susie Fleming (i)– 22
Ricky Fleming (i) – 17
James D. Collins (i) – 21
A ballot position for “Not Assigned,” essentially a none-of-the-above vote, received 51 votes.

Leave a Reply